51's Weekend Update
Who Has Been Winning This Weekend
Compiled From Various Series and Track PR Reports
Updated - Sunday, August 1st, 10:15am ET

ACT Late Models - Newport, NH’s Mark Hayward earned his first career ACT Late Model Tour win at Twin State Speedway in Claremont, NH on Friday, July 30. Hayward took the lead from Twin State regular Aaron Fellows, who led the first 52 laps of the 100 lap event. Hayward held off the likes of Ben Rowe, current ACT Tour point leader Brian Hoar and Randy Potter over the remaining 48 laps to take the win.

Rowe took second while Fellows finished third. Potter and Jeff Zuidema rounded out the top five. TJ Watson worked his way from his 20th starting position to take sixth followed by John Donahue, Hoar, last week’s Beech Ridge winner Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. and rookie Austin Theriault completing the top ten.

ARCA Racing Series - Robb Brent added his name to the long list of first-time winners in the 2010 ARCA Racing Series presented by RE/MAX and Menards season, driving away from the field to win the Weis Markets 125 at Pocono Raceway by 2.844 seconds over Dakoda Armstrong.

Goess finished third after leading three laps late in the race.  Tom Hesert and Justin Marks rounded out the top five finishers.

Carquest Maritimes Pro Stock Tour - In front of a capacity crowd, the “Oval Outlaw” Wayne Smith (Timberlea, NS) piloted his Jetco Contracting/ICI Paints/Color Your World Bayers Lake Chevrolet Impala to a hard fought victory at the Lucas Oil 100 at Oyster Bed Speedway on Saturday night. Following him across the line after a late caution resulted in a green, white, checkered situation for the second week in a row were Island natives Jonathan Hicken and Kent Vincent. Hicken in his Chapman Brothers sponsored Impala and the Vector Aerospace/H&P Glover Dodge Charger of Vincent challenged him through the last half of the race with Vincent taking the lead for 11 laps at one point. Donald Chisholm of Antigonish, NS in his Nova Construction Ford Fusion and Fredericton’s Shawn Tucker in his Rockico Truck & Trailer Impala rounded out the top five.

Late Models - Joey Pole won Saturday night's 75-lap open show for Late Models at Seekonk Speedway (MA).

Lucas Oil Dirt Late Model Series - Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, WI grabbed the lead on lap 16 and never looked back as he went on to win his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event since 2008 on Saturday Night at Hagerstown Speedway.  Schlieper earned $10,000 for an emotional win. He crossed the finish line ahead of Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN; Dan Stone of Thompson, PA; Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN, and John Blankenship of Williamson, WV.

Modifieds - Todd Annarummo won Wednesday night's Modified Madness event at Seekonk Speedway (MA).  Click Here to Read The Full Story.

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series - Scott Steckly played the patience game and won the Cruisin’ The Dub 300 presented by A&W in NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 action Saturday night at Motoplex Speedway.

DJ Kennington dominated much of the race and led a race high 196 laps, but Steckly, out of Milverton, Ont., had the better car over the final 50 laps and earned his first win of the 2010 season and the eighth of his series career. It was also his first win at Motoplex Speedway where he had three times finished as the race runner-up.

Jason Hathaway finished a season-best second while Kennington settled for third place. Don Thomson Jr. and Mark Dilley crossed the line in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Anthony Simone, JR Fitzpatrick, John Gaunt, rookie Nathan Weenk and Ron Beauchamp Jr. rounded out the top 10.

NASCAR K&N Pro Series East - Darrell Wallace, Jr. won a wild NASCAR K&N Pro Series East race on Friday night at Lee USA Speedway (NH) over Ryan Truex and Brett Moffit.


NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour -  Rowan Pennink held off Ryan Preece in a late-race duel to claim the checkered flag in the Riverhead 200 and his first NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory Saturday night.

The 24-year-old Huntingdon Valley, Pa., driver was making his 51st career start. He took the lead from Riverhead resident Kevin Goodale with 40 laps to go and weathered restarts on two ensuing cautions to bring home the win.

Preece, who suffered a mid-race spin, came back through the field to finish second. He was followed in the top five by Ron Silk, Mike Stefanik and George Brunnhoelzl III. Brunnhoelzl, another Long Island native and the 2009 NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour champion, earned his first Coors Light Pole Award in the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour earlier in the day.

Eric Beers, Eric Goodale, Jamie Tomaino, points leader Bobby Santos and Erick Rudolph rounded out the top 10.

PASS Modifieds - Andy Shaw won Saturday's PASS Modified race at Riverside Speedway (NH) over Scott McDaniel and Wayne Whitten.

PASS North - Trevor Sanborn won Saturday's PASS North race at Riverside Speedway (NH) over teammate Travis Benjamin and Richie Dearborn.

USARacing Pro Cup - Clay Rogers, driver of the No. 16 USG Sheetrock Ford Fusion, nabbed his 29th USARacing Pro Cup Series win on Lap 121 in a fog-shortened Blue Ox 150 at Iowa Speedway Friday night.

Rogers, a Mooresville, N.C. native, led all but 28 of 121 laps at the 0.875-mile track after earning the pole position as qualifying efforts were a wash out.

1) Clay Rogers  2) A.J. Frank  3) Logan Ruffin  4) Ryan Heavner  5) Chase Elliott

WoO Sprints - Jason Sides really isn't sure what makes him so good at Ohsweken Speedway in Canada, but every single time he has been to the track he has been in contention for a win with the World of Outlaws. He added to his stellar record at the 3/8-mile on Friday night, as he dominated the 30-lap contest score his third win in four starts at the track located in Glenn Styres backyard.

For Sides, the $10,000 triumph was his fourth World of Outlaws A-Feature win of the season which is a career-high.

WoO Sprints - Persistent rain has forced the postponement of the finale of the Six Nation Showdown at Ohsweken Speedway in Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada originally scheduled for tonight for the World of Outlaws to Sunday (August 1). A full racing program will take place on Sunday beginning with hot laps at 6:45 p.m. Eastern, followed by time trials, heats race, a dash, The Last Chance Showdown and a 30-lap, $10,000 to-win main event.