51's Weekend Update
Who Has Been Winning This Weekend
Compiled From Various Series and Track PR Reports
Updated - Monday, July 26th, 9:30am ET

ACT Late Models - Hudson, NH’s Joey “Pole” Polewarczyk, Jr. earned Ford its first ACT Late Model Tour win at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in Scarborough, ME on Saturday, July 24. Pole moved from his fourth starting position to take the lead on lap 14. He held the lead and lapped the majority of the field until lap 83.

On the lap 83 restart Pole lost the lead to Farmington, ME’s Jeff Taylor, who also competes with a Ford crate engine. Taylor held onto the lead for 13 laps before Pole took back over for good. Taylor remained in second until he blew a tire with just under 20 laps remaining.

Pole held off rookie, and fellow Ford crate motor competitor, Austin Theriault who picked up his best career ACT finish with a second. Tim Brackett took third, Corey Morgan fourth and John Donahue with another Ford earned fifth.

Current point leader Brian Hoar took sixth, Eric Williams seventh, Brent Dragon eighth, Dave Paya ninth and Brad Babb rounded out the top ten.

The top ten were the only cars to complete all 150 laps. The race was completed in one hour and fourteen minutes with six cautions.

ASA Late Models North- Ryan Carlson grabbed the lead on the first lap of the ASA Late Model Series All Star 100 and never looked back en route to his second career ASA Late Model Series victory. This was Carlson’s first career touring series victory at his home track, Rockford Speedway (IL).

1) Carlson  2) Eddie Hoffman  3) Jesse Saunders  4) Erik Jones  5) Anthony Danta

Bounty Series - Norm Taylor won the series first trip to Midvale Speedway (OH). Brian Short, Billy Roberts, Mike Mazzagatti and Bobby Fihe made up the top five.

Carquest Maritimes Pro Stock Tour - Lonnie Sommerville came out on top after a last-lap battle for the
victory in Saturday night's Carquest Maritimes Pro Stock Tour event at Speedway 660 (NB). 1) Sommerville 2) Shawn Tucker 3) Craig Slaunwhite

Modified Racing Series - Starting third in a 24 car field, Eric Goodale of Wading River, NY, took the lead on lap 13 and went on to win the Modified Racing Series, sponsored by BobValentiAutoMall.Com, 112 lap, Ricky Miller Memorial Race, Saturday night, at the Canaan Fair Speedway, Canaan, NH. It was Goodale's first win with the series. He also became the ninth different winner in ten races this season.

1) Eric Goodale  2) Dwight Jarvis  3) Jon McKennedy  4) Mike Holdridge  5) Rowan Pennink

Modifieds - Wednesday night's Modified Madness event at Seekonk Speedway (MA) was rain-delayed one week to next Wednesday, July 29th.

PLM - Dwayne Buggay scored the Super Six Pro Late Model win at Lanier National Speedway in Georgia on Friday night.  Point leader Russell Fleeman, Michael Pilla, Jacob Wallace and Shawn Simpson rounded out the top five.

PASS North - Ben Rowe found a way to get around Preston Peltier with four laps to go in Thursday night’s Thompson (CT) International Speedway Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North super late model feature to capture the victory in race number three of the 2010 PASS National Championship Series.  PASS South and National point leader Peltier settled for second after leading most of the seventy five lap sprint and PASS North point leader Johnny Clark claimed third.  Jay Fogleman and Lonnie Sommerville raced home fourth and fifth.

The win was Rowe’s second of 2010 and first National Championship win of the season. With both PASS North and National points on the line, Rowe edged a few markers closer to Johnny Clark in their battle for an unprecedented fifth PASS North title.

Alan Tardiff and Peltier led the field to the green and Peltier quickly established himself at the front of the field. Early on it was Peltier, defending race winner Derek Ramstrom, Fogleman, Kelly Moore and Tardiff battling for position at the front. Ben Rowe and Johnny Clark have both earned PASS North feature wins in 2010 and series rules require that they start outside the top ten.The pair had to work their way through the field if they were going to contend and  It didn’t take the two long to crack the top five. Rowe made his move past Clark on a lap 32 restart and the pair took the battle to the two southern invaders.

That restart was Fogleman’s cue to challenge Peltier for the lead and the pair battled tooth and nail lap after lap.Fogleman managed to get the nose out front on several occasions before settling back into second. The front four were racing nose to tail, putting on the kind of show that only super late models can. Rowe made his move on Fogleman with thirteen remaining when Fogleman kissed the backstretch wall trying to keep the 48 behind him. Rowe set his sights on Peltier and looked high and low for ten laps before he was able to make his move   Behind the front two Peltier and Clark were having a torrid battle for third,. Clark prevailed on lap seventy to capture the final spot on the podium.

Several potential contenders succumbed to mechanical issues. Derek Ramstrom lost his brakes and slapped the turn two wall, ending his bid for two straight PASS wins at Thompson. Ted Christopher, early front runner Kelly Moore, pole sitter  Alan Tardiff  and Steve Legendre were all behind the wall before the half-way mark.

Eleven cars completed all seventy-five laps in a race slowed by two cautions. Tardiff and Peltier won their respective qualifying races.

SLM - David Rogers scored the 50 lap Super Late Model win at New Smyrna Speedway (FL) on Saturday night. Wayne Anderson, Rich Clouser, Alan Bruns, and Zack Donatti made up the top five cars.

Sprint Cars - Kolt Walker prevailed in a last-lap, three-wide scramble for the lead to win Saturday night’s 25-lap American Sprint Car Series Gulf South vs. Lone Star main event atop the storied ½-mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway (TX) clay oval.

WoO Sprints - Greg Hodnett fondly recalled on Saturday night how the late Jim Nace used to the say the bottom of the track was the "Money Lane." That proved to be true in the finale of the Summer Nationals at the famed Williams Grove Speedway, as Hodnett worked the low side of the half-mile to perfection, to score the $20,000 win as the "Month of Money" continues for the World of Outlaws.

Hodnett dove under Paul McMahan in turn two on the 26th lap to take the top spot and would lead the final five circuits of the 30-lapper to pick up his 10th career World of Outlaws A-Feature win and his fourth in the last six races for the series at Williams Grove Speedway.

1) Greg Hodnett  2) Paul McMahan  3) Jason Sides  4) Sammy Swindell  5) Chad Layton

WoO Sprints - Doug Esh had never seen Lebanon Valley Speedway until Sunday afternoon when he rolled through the pit gate, but that didn't really matter as he quickly got up to speed and put himself in the right spots to win in his debut at the blazing fast half-mile to score his first World of Outlaws A-Feature win of the season and the second of his career.

Esh started on the pole and beat Jason Sides into turn one at the drop of the green and would use strong restarts a couple of times en route to the $10,000 triumph, as he continues to fill in for the injured Jac Haudenschild in the Owens-Corning Fiberglass XXX.

1) Doug Esh  2) Steve Kinser  3) Donny Schatz  4) Jason Meyers  5) Craig Dollansky