Robert Barker Blasts to TSRS Late
Model Win at Thunderhill Raceway
Seven Drivers Start Race, Which is Cut to 30 Laps
Series PR Report

Veteran Texas Super Racing Series (TSRS) driver Robert Barker made it look easy Saturday night at Thunderhill Raceway (THR). Barker had the fastest car in qualifying, started from the pole position after the draw and led all 30 laps of the shortened event that was originally set for 75 laps.

“We had a really good combination of handling and power,” Barker said after the race. “The car stayed under me all night. Bobby (Teer) had a good car too and he stayed close, but our Ford was just hooked up all night.”

The race, which was scheduled for last Saturday but was postponed due to adverse weather conditions, was shortened due to the low car count after a vote by the seven drivers who actually made the show.

“A lot of the TSRS teams that were originally scheduled to be here last weekend had already made plans for this weekend,” explained Mary Ann Naumann, TSRS founder and THR owner and promoter. “Racing is such a family sport and since we don't race every weekend, families make plans for the off weekends which are hard to reschedule. And, of course, the postponement had us running on the same night as Houston Motorsports Park and I-37 Raceway so that played a part too.”

Barker's only real competition was Bobby Teer, another veteran driver who was ready to pounce if the winner had slowed even a little.

“We had a great car,” Teer said, “but we picked up a little push going into the turns which made us a little free on the exits. We were able to stay with Robert anyway, but couldn't quite get close enough to make a run on him. We hate to finish second, but we're real happy with the car and Greg (Spreen) has given us a really strong engine. I think we'll have something for Robert this season.”

Another veteran campaigner, Larry Bendele finished third, the only other car on the lead lap at the checkered.

Except for a yellow on the first lap which called for a complete restart, the race was caution free.

Official Feature Race Results

1.17 Robert Barker Boerne, TX 30 laps QT 15.267
2.2 Bobby Teer Jr. Comfort, TX 30 laps QT 15.301
3.23 Larry Bendele Adkins, TX 30 laps QT 15.708
4.04 Cory Roper Baytown, TX 29 laps DNQ
5.11 Cody IItis 29 laps QT 16.271
6.3 Mike Reininger San Antonio, TX 29 laps QT 15.963
7.28 Jeff O'Neill Round Rock, TX 28 laps QT 15.964

#17 received 5 bonus points for Fast Time
#2 received 5 bonus points for Hard Charger

DNQ - Did Not Qualify
QT - Qualifying Time

Barker's winning #17.