Jason Dietsch Wins Superpro Gold 100
Takes Lead Late at Baer Field
Series PR Report
Jason Dietsch took the lead on lap 77 and went on to win the International Trucks Gold Cup 100 for the SUPERPRO Series on Friday night at Baer Field Speedway.

The start was marred by a multi-car accident that involved Mike Kugler, Kevin Todd, Colin Toland and Reagan May with Toland and May unable to continue. The restart had the front row of Derek Bischak and veteran Dave Bice leading the field to the green. Bice and Bischak swapped the lead for the first ten laps of the race with Bice finally taking command.

2008 Gold Cup winner Tommy Cook was making his way through the field moving into third on lap 5 and getting by Bischak for second on lap 11. Cook got by Bice for the lead on lap 21 but Bice collected Cook the following lap bringing out the caution and sending Bice to the rear.

With Cook maintaining a four second lead, the best battle of the race became for second with Bischak and 2009 Rookie of the Year Matt Hall racing side by side for ten laps with Hall finally grabbing the runner up spot on lap 47. Dietsch moved around Bischak for third the following lap.

At the midway point of the race, it was Cook, Hall, Dietsch , Bischak and Rick Everidge. Hall and Dietsch battled side by side for second with Dietsch finally getting the position on lap 56. Cook was leading by four and one half seconds until a lap 75 caution wiped out his lead and put Dietsch on his back bumper.

It took two laps for Dietsch to get around Cook and assume the lead. Cook made a couple of runs at the top spot during the final twenty laps but at the checkers it was Dietsch, Tommy Cook, Everidge, Claude Plante, and Al Cook, Jr. Todd rebounded for the accident at the start to finish sixth followed by Bice, Royce Mason II, Ryan Inman, and Kugler.

Dietsch won his second consecutive Aluminum Racing Products Fast Qualifier Award with a lap of 18.001 seconds around the half mile paved oval. Toland received the ARP Hard Luck certificate with Everidge getting the Penske Racing Shocks “Shocking Move of the Race” Award. May was the Turbo Blue - Corrigan Oil Rookie of the Race and Plante was the All Star Performance - Lane Automotove Hard Charger.

The SUPERPRO Series moves to the Angola Motor Speedway next Saturday, August 14 for the running of the Shively High Performance 100. Modifieds, Mini Stocks, Front Wheel Drives and Trailer Figure 8’s will also be in action. Admission is only $20 per car load and beer and hot dogs are only a dollar. For more info, go to www.angolamotorspeedway.com or www.superproracing.com.