Thorn Wins SRL Opener at All-American Speedway
Victory Comes in His Only Second Series Start
Series PR Report
In just his second career SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series start, Bakersfield’s Derek Thorn out-distanced an impressive field to win Saturday’s Mo’sGold 125 presented by AmeriPride at All-American Speedway.  Thorn in his first outing driving the #2 Bob Strandwold Racing Chevrolet bested the thirty-one-car field in qualifying with a time of 13.125 seconds.  (Eight drivers eclipsed the previous SRL track record in qualifying.) 

“We didn’t have the best car of the race, but the race came to us and it feels awesome to get this win with this great field of cars here tonight.” said Thorn.  “I want to thank Bob (Strandwold) for giving me this opportunity to drive his car.”

With a four-car invert, Ryan Foster started from the pole in his brand new Three Amigo’s Racing Chevrolet.   On lap nine, Foster set the fastest lap of the race at 13.281 seconds.  On lap 11, defending SRL champion M.K. Kanke blew an engine to bring out the red flag.  Kyle Cattanach, John Wood, Kevin Callahan and David Mantooth all spun due to oil on the track. After the re-start Foster continued to lead the field until lap 37 when a left front flat tire sent him to pit road for service.

On the lap 38 lap re-start the top ten was Thorn, Greg Voigt, Jonathon Gomez, Thomas Martin, Auggie Vidovich, Jim Pettit, Josh Combs, Joe Farre’, Justin Westmoreland and Carlos Vieira.

The top ten remained the same until lap 70, when Martin moved past Gomez for third and Brennan Newberry moved into the top 10, running in the sixth position.

On lap 78, Westmoreland spun in turn three bringing out the caution.  At the same time Pettit, the 2008 series champion, suffered a broken trailing arm while in fifth.

On the lap 82, Thorn continued to pace the field, followed by Voigt, Martin, Gomez and Combs.  Newberry, Farre’, Vieira, Jared Vorse and qualifying race winner, Eric Richardson rounded out the top ten.

On the final restart of the night, it was Thorn leading Martin, Combs third, followed by Vieira, Vorse, Gomes
and Westmoreland. Voigt was now struggling in eighth with alternator trouble, Gomez in ninth and Jason Gilbert tenth.

At the checkered it was Thorn, Martin, Combs, a rebounding Foster and Vieira in the top five.  Gomes, Vorse, Gomez, Cattanach and Westmoreland rounded out the top ten.

The SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series will be back in action on Saturday, April 17th at Orange Show Speedway in San Bernardino, CA.