Entries Surpass Thirty Mark for Rockford
National Short Track Championships
Super Late Model Show is Set For October 1st-3rd
Track PR Report

Entries for the 200 lap Super Late Model National Short Track Championship continue to roll into the Rockford Speedway offices.  To date over thirty Super Late Model teams have filed entries for this prestigious event that was first contested in 1966.  The event tagged as ‘One Great Racing Weekend’ will feature twelve total divisions October 1, 2 and 3 at the quarter mile paved high banked oval, featuring the region’s only four barrel Super Late Model Event.

2009 National Short Track victor Josh Nelms has filed his entry to defend his title, however he will have his work cut out for him.  Two time NSTC winner Jeremy Lepak, State Park Speedway Champion Chris Weinkauf, 2002 NSTC winner Steve Rubeck, former Midwest Tour Champion Nathan Haseleu, Slinger Champion Lowell Bennett, Chicagoland Champion Eddie Hoffman and Rich Bickle, Jr, the 1990 NSTC Champion will all look to knock Nelms from the helm.

Three local top guns have thrown their name in the mix as well, two time NASCAR Late Model Champion Jerry Gille as well as Driver X Jon Reynolds, Jr. and All-Star 100 winner Ryan Carlson will attempt to add their name to the history books, while young Michael Bilderback will try to bounce back after his late race exit in 2009 while contending for the win.  Meanwhile, Dalton Zehr will make the trek from his Daytona Beach, FL shop to compete in his first NSTC.  Zehr will chauffer the Circle Track Magazine Project G.R.E.E.N. Late Model in his quest for the checkers.

The first forty Super Late Model entries will be able to take advantage of the Racer’s Economic Stimulus Program.  Each of these teams will receive 4 Hoosier tires, a $125 Sunoco Race Fuel credit and a reserved pit stall.  Tickets to all 3 days of racing action are now available by calling the Speedway Box Office at 815-633-1500.  For a complete list of divisions competing as well as for pricing and times, please visit www.rockfordspeedway.com.

Super Late Model Entries
45th annual National Short Track Championships
October 2-3, 2010
Rockford Speedway

Car # Driver Name

0 Josh Nelms
2 Eddie May
2 Lowell Bennett
2 Michael Bilderback
8 Eddie Hoffman
9 Tommy Pecaro
14 Randy Rodgers
16 Steve Apel
18 Robert Maynor
19 Brian Johnson, Jr
21 Dave Tomczak
22 Jeremy Spoonmore
40 Jeremy Lepak
40 Tom Gille
44 Wayne Freimund
45 Rich Bickle
52 Steve Dobbratz
54 Erik Pierce
55 Ryan Carlson
61 Steve Rubeck
87 Nathan Haseleu
89 Brad Mueller
93 Dave Feiler
94 Steve Campbell
95 Billy Knippenberg, Jr
99 Chris Weinkauf
99 Jack Kalwasinski
99 Jerry Gille
119 Dalton Zehr
140 Curt Tillman
X Jon Reynolds, Jr

31 As of 9/22/10