Vercauteren Memorial Set For Road America This Weekend
Race Honors a Family Who Meant So
Much to the Mid-American Stock Car Series
Series PR Report

The Vercauteren Memorial for the Mid-American Stock Car Series will be held at Road America (WI) this Sunday, June 20.  Road America will be the third different venue in the past three seasons to host the event.

“We are extremely excited to bring the Vercauteren Memorial to Road America,” said Doug Strasburg, MASCS co-owner.  “This race weekend is already the biggest on our schedule, and to add this extra incentive, puts the icing on the cake of a great racing weekend for Mid-American and Road America.”

The Vercauteren Memorial honors Harold and Regina Vercauteren, parents of the late Gary Vercauteren, who founded Mid-American.  After Gary’s passing in 2005, he has also been honored as part of the event.

A five-foot tall traveling trophy is awarded to the winner each season.  This season will mark the 20th time the trophy has changed hands from one winner to the next.

The trophy was awarded at Calumet County Raceway in Chilton, Wis., from 1990 to 1992.  It was awarded to the Mid-American Stock Car Series winner at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna, Wis. from 1993 to 2006 and in 2008.  Last season and in 2007 it was awarded at 141 Speedway in Francis Creek, Wis.

With Vercauteren at the helm, Mid-American made its first appearance at Road America in 1993.  It was the first stock car race at the four-mile road course since 1956.  The race was won by eventual series champion Eddie Hoffman, who claimed the Vercauteren Memorial that season, as well.

Since the 1993 season, Mid-American has been a regular visitor to Road America.  Under the ownership of Strasburg and his wife Julie, the series made late-fall trips to the venue in 2007 and 2008.

James Swan, the 2006 Vercauteren Memorial winner, capped off a championship season with a win at Road America in 2007.  Bill Prietzel, the 1997 and 2005 Vercauteren Memorial winner, was victorious in Mid-American’s last appearance at Road America in 2008.  Both drivers are scheduled to compete in 2010.

Mid-American is slated to run a 40-mile (ten lap) race to cap off the weekend of racing at Road America.  The weekend, which spans from Thursday, June 17 to Sunday, June 20 features the NASCAR Nationwide Series, SCCA, Trans Am and more.

The Vercauteren Memorial is scheduled for 3:30 p.m. on Sunday and is to be preceded by qualifying at 10:15 a.m.  Mid-American also has practices slated for 5 p.m. Saturday (after the NASCAR Nationwide race) and 8:40 a.m. Sunday.

Road America is located on Highway 67 just outside Elkhart Lake, Wis.  For more information on Road America or the weekend’s events visit or call 1-800-365-RACE (7223).

For more information about the Mid-American Stock Car Series, including the full 2010 schedule, results, standings and driver information visit

Past Vercauteren Memorial Winners:

2009 – Gregg Haese, Two Rivers, Wis.
2008 – Jacob Finney, Sycamore, Ill.
2007 – Kevin Damrow, Manitowoc, Wis.
2006 – James Swan, Lake Geneva, Wis.
2005 – Brett Piontek, Green Bay, Wis.
2004 – Bill Prietzel, Richfield, Wis.
2003 – Jeremy Spoonmore, Somonauk, Ill.
2002 – Peter Hernandez, Mokena, Ill.
2001– Hernandez
2000 – Mark Pluer, Brookfield, Wis.
1999 – Haese
1998 – Pat Kelly, Seneca, Ill.
1997 – Prietzel
1996 – Kelly
1995 – Eddie Hoffman, Wheaton, Ill.
1994 – Brian Lambie, Black Creek, Wis.
1993 – Hoffman
1992 – Jerry Wenzel, Two Rivers, Wis.
1991 – Larry Richards, Montello, Wis.
1990 – Wayne Strand, Chilton, Wis.