26 Different Winners Make Up 40 years of Oktoberfest
Race is Set for October 7th-10th at LaCrosse Speedway
Series PR Report
The Oktoberfest Race Weekend has become one of the more popular racing events not only in the Midwest but across the United States.  One of the reasons is the list of champions they have had in the 40 year history.

Oktoberfest is very well known for the variety of divisions that will be competing over the four days on October 7-10.  That variety has changed over the 40 years, but one mainstay has been it's super late model division. 

In the early part, the Oktoberfest main event were raced under the Central Wisconsin Racing Association (CWRA) rules from 1970 to 1986.  Winners during that period included: Tom Reffner (1970, 1975, 1983), Dick Trickle (1971), Joe Shear (1972), Marv Marzofka (1973), Jerry Makara (1974), Larry Detjens (1976, 1977), Mark Martin (1980), Junior Hanley (1981), Jim Back (1984), Bryan Reffner (1984), John Ziegler (1985), and Rich Bickle, Jr. (1986).

In 1987, the famous ARTGO Challenge Series took over running the main event.  Known for its famous "Stars and Cars," the list of ARTGO winners is a who's who in auto racing.  Those champions included: Dick Trickle (1987), Ted Musgrave (1988), Joe Shear (1989, 1994, 1995, 1996), Scott Hansen (1990), Tom Carlson (1991, 1992), Matt Kenseth (1993), and Terry Baldry (1997).

It was in 1998, when ARTGO became a NASCAR sanctioned Midwest Series.  Their main events were longer than the traditional 100-lap features that became a staple at Oktoberfest.  These also included live pit stops.  Champions during this era included: Eddie Hoffman (1998, 1999, 2001), Steve Carlson (2000), Brian Hoppe (2002, 2004), and Tim Schendel (2003, 2005).

It was in 2006 where the super late model event ran under a Wisconsin Late Model set of rules and it went back to it's traditional 100-lap feature.  Steve Holzhausen won that event and etched his name into the history of Oktoberfest.

The American Speed Association Midwest Tour came on board in 2007 and made Oktoberfest their traditional season finale.  Dan Fredrickson won in 2007 and 2008.  Travis Sauter put the famous racing family's name in the record books with his win in 2009.  This year, they will be back to crown another champion and will be bringing their closest championship battle in its short history to Oktoberfest.  Steve Carlson currently holds a two-point lead over Chris Wimmer in their 2010 standings.

"We are very proud of our list of champions at Oktoberfest," Chuck Deery, Oktoberfest Race Weekend promoter said.  "It shows the great history that this event has along with the drivers who have competed here.  If you go to the Oktoberfest website and look at the finishing orders from these events, you will be amazed by the drivers who simply competed at Oktoberfest.  One of those names you will find is this year's Daytona 500 champion Jamie McMurray."

You can visit the complete finishes of all 40 previous Oktoberfest main events by logging on to www.oktoberfestraceweekend.com and clicking on the "History" link.  Just click on the year you are interested to see the full results.

You can also visit the Oktoberfest website for the latest news, schedule, lodging information, history and much more.

Make your plans now to be a part of the 41st Annual event.

Oktoberfest is "Racing's Family Reunion!"