Harold Fair, Jr. Sails to Toledo Gold Cup Victory
Track Beats Weather And Gets Through Show in Two Hours
Track PR Report
Harold Fair Jr. sailed to a very decisive victory in the 75 lap ARCA Allegiant Air Late Model Gold Cup race Friday evening at Toledo Speedway.  Miller Lite and Marco's Pizza served as the race night sponsors.  Landon Schuster won the ARCA Factory Stock feature and David Price claimed the ARCA 4 Cylinder main event.  The program was pushed along as another storm was on the horizon.  A great effort by the race teams and track staff saw the entire show completed in 2 hours, just before the weather set in.

A large group of children were on hand for Kid's Night.  Each child received free admission and a free hot dog, chips and a drink, courtesy of Sherwood Foods, Seyfert's Snacks and the Dr. Pepper/Snapple Group.

Just 2 yellow flags slowed the 75 lap ARCA Late Model feature, which was leg number 2 of the Allegiant Air Gold Cup Series.  Paul Pelletier shot into the lead on the green, only to have Ron Allen zip by on lap 6.  Allen was quick out front, but Harold Fair Jr. was on the move from his 8th starting spot.  Scott Hantz got off to a slow start but began his trek to the front by lap 20.  Fair Jr. was to 2nd by lap 10 and tracked Allen down.  In lapped traffic, Harold dove under Allen for the lead.  The first yellow flag on lap 33 was displayed when Bill Litogot spun in turn 3.  On the restart, Chad Guinn got crossed up in the back chute, bunching the field again.  That was to be the last yellow of the race as Fair Jr. took off, with Hantz on his back bumper.  By lap 44, the lead duo checked out, battling for the point.  Fair Jr. was able to stretch his lead to almost a straight-away as he sailed to the well-earned win.  Hantz came home second, Allen held off a late charge by Mike Root to take third, with Root fourth and Pelletier fifth.  Steve Cronenwett Jr., Brent Jack, Justin Schroeder, Nick Grodi and Jack Varney Jr. completed the top ten in the 24 car starting field.  Fair also set fast time with a lap of 15:311.  Heat race winners were Steve Peters, Chad Guinn and Derrick Griffin.

Landon Schuster took the lead when race leader Mike Hammer got crossed up in lapped traffic on his way to victory in the 20 lap ARCA Factory Stock feature event.  Hammer was in solid command until a yellow flag erased his lead.  At lap 14, the traffic played a part in the race as Schuster grabbed the lead on his way to the popular win.  Hammer held on to second, TJ Miller was third, Eric Huston fourth and Cory McCaughey fifth, followed by Rick Cousino Sr., Tim Shine, Craig Osenbaugh, Randy Padgett and Jesse Carillo.  Heat wins went to Osenbaugh, Carillo and Miller.  Huston set fast time at 11:844 for the 20 car field.

David Price took the number 1 spot on lap 5 to grab the win in the 20 lap ARCA 4 Cylinder main event.  Rookie David Katfiaz led the first 4 laps until Price motored by on the outside lane on his way to the checkered flag.  Michael Marlow took second, Brad Turner third, Perry Marlow fourth and Katafiaz fifth.  Price won the heat race, while Turner set fast time at 12:849.

Friday, June 25 Toledo Speedway will play host to Teamsters Local 20 Night.  The ARCA Sportsman, Factory Stocks and the wild Figure 8 Train race will provide the great family fun and entertainment.  The gates open at 5 and racing starts at 7:30 p.m.