Tucker is Honored as 2010 Carquest Pro Stock Tour Champion
Over 250 People Take Part in Banquet
Series PR Report
Teams, sponsors, staff and fans gathered at the Delta Prince Edward Hotel in Charlottetown, PE to celebrate the 2010 CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour season on Saturday evening. Over 250 people were on-hand at the event as the CARQUEST Bonus Fund honoured the top seventeen teams in the summer long points series. The night consisted of a reception, dinner, and formal presentations, followed by a dance.

R&D Performancenter’s Steve Henderson presented on behalf of AFCO Shocks and Five Star Racing Bodies to Jonathan Hicken (Brudenell, PE) and Leonard Boutilier (Halifax, NS) respectively. The award winners were determined by a draw at the banquet.

Gary Jamieson of Linde made the presentation of an electric welder, which was also won by Leonard Boutilier. The welder is used by the Tour throughout the summer and is graciously donated by Linde as a prize at the year end banquet to one driver. The award winner was determined by a draw.

Greg Proude (Springvale, PE) won the Atlantic Tiltload Time Trial Award, setting the most “fast times” during qualifying throughout the 2010 season. Ernie Ledwidge made the presentation on behalf of Atlantic Tiltload.

The Parts for Trucks Challenge is a four race series within the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour’s 11-race season. Rudi Foster presented third place trophies to Hicken and Shawn Tucker (Fredericton, NB) who tied for the position. Donald Chisholm (Antigonish, NS) accepted the second place award. The 2010 Parts for Trucks Challenge winner was Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS)

EIT Race Radios sponsors the rookie of the year award and Brent Rowley was on hand to make the presentations. Boutilier was rookie of the year runner-up. Jerome Kehoe (Sydney, NS) was crowned rookie of the year.

The Cathy Ledwidge Memorial is given to the most sportsman driver, as voted on by the drivers themselves. Cathy Ledwidge was a well-known and respected race official in the Maritimes who lost her life to cancer much too soon. The fact that the award is named after Ledwidge and the drivers’ votes determine the winner makes this a very prestigious award to win. Kent Vincent (Crapaud, PE) was chosen as most Sportsman driver.

Kevin Stuart and Marc Cloutier of CARQUEST presented the trophies and $50,000 in prize money to the drivers. Fifty-eight race teams competed during the 2010 CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour, trying to be among the top 17 drivers at the end of the season and earn a spot on the banquet stage. Shawn Tucker was crowned the 2010 champion, earning his third Championship on the prestigious tour. Tucker thanked the Tour owners, Tour sponsors, his car sponsors, family and his great crew during his acceptance speech.