Chase Elliott Captures Monolith 100
At Gresham Motorsports Park
14-Year-Old Enjoys Up to a Half Lap
Lead in Dominating Performance
Track PR Report

Chase Elliott scored one of the biggest wins of his young career capturing the Monolith Companies 100 Pro Late Model race Saturday at Gresham Motorsports Park.

The 14-year-old Dawsonville, GA saw his strongest challengers self destruct in the 100-lap event. In the end, Elliott still had the best car and roared away to a half-lap lead over Johnny Henderson, Nick Potts, Gene Kirila and Kevin Stephens.

“We just had a really good car start to finish,” said Elliott. “We were a little loose at the beginning of the race, but as the tires came in, it tightened up and this thing was awesome.”

Elliott was awesome all day at or near the top of the leader board in practice before just losing the pole to his teammate, Casey Roderick, but a scant three one-thousandths of a second (16.485-16.488).

At the drop of the green, Elliott jumped to the lead only to have Dwayne Buggay take over the top spot for the next 15 laps. Elliott then roared back into the top spot with a nifty outside pass and built a half straightaway lead before a series of yellows slowed the action.

Elliott saw his competition fall by the wayside as Buggay slammed the Turn 4 wall on Lap 58 and Roderick tangled with T.J. Reaid on Lap 65. That left Beau Slocumb as Elliott’s main challenger and he fell out of contention when he jumped the green flag on a Lap 68 restart.

That left Elliott to cruise away from the field and score his first-ever Gresham Motorsports Park victory.

“You never know,” said Elliott. “You just can’t be out front and know you are going to win the race. That’s just how racing is. You just have to try as hard as you can every lap.”

In the Outlaw Late Model division, Mike Davidson ended Jason Bates’ two-race win streak winning in a three-wide battle with David Murphy at the checkered flag. Brian Hardman, Tina Stephens, Terry Martin, Hoyt Stephens and Chad Richardson completed the list of cars running at the finish.

Brian Huff made his first GMP appearance of the season a profitable one beating Brittany Finley, Bill Hoose Joel Townsend and Branden Frankin in the 35-lap Truck Series finale.

Steve Hill from Jefferson scored his first Mini Stock win besting Ken Candiotti, Tim Greer, Bill George and Spanky Hicks while Brian Huff took the checkered flag first in the Truck Series event.

Next up at Gresham Motorsports Park will be the CARQUEST 100 Pro Late Model event on Saturday, May 15. Also on the action-packed racing card will be the Outlaw Late Models, Renegade Street Stocks and Mini-Stocks.

CARQUEST will be handing out hats and can coolers to 200 lucky fans at the main gate. Additionally, the Jefferson CARQUEST store – which will be hosting a Grand Re-Opening on Wednesday, May 12 – will also be providing several door prizes lucky fans attending the May 15 speedtacular.

Also on tap at GMP on Saturday, May 15 will be Georgia Racing Hall of Fame Night. Some of the greatest drivers – including the 2009 HOF inductees - and legendary cars in the history of racing will be on hand to bench race, sign autographs and pose for pictures. Several of the cars will also take to the GMP oval for some vintage pace laps at intermission.

Round-two of the Funopolis FanTastic Challenge will top off the May 15 racing program at Gresham Motorsports Park. 

Adult Grandstand and Trackside General Admission Tickets for the thrill-a-minute May 15 GMP show are just $20, Seniors and Active Military Personnel are $18 while Children 6-12 are $10. Children 5 and under will be admitted free and, as always, parking is free.

Tickets are available now online at and at the Gresham Motorsports Park track ticket office Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

A limited number of Trackside Car, Pick-Up Truck and Van Parking Spaces (no oversize vehicles) are available on a first-come, first-served basis on Saturday, April 17 for $25 per vehicle.

Spectator and Trackside Gates open at 2 p.m.

Monolith Companies 100
1. Chase Elliott
2. Johnny Henderson
3. Nick Potts
4. Gene Kirila
5. Kevin Stephens
6. David Odell
7. James Nealis
8. Shawn Simpson
9. Beau Slocumb
10. Joel Anderson
11. Daniel Bolden
12. Clay Alexander
13. Will Prance
14. T.J. Reaid
15. Casey Roderick
16. Dwayne Buggay
17. Hunter Robbins
18. Rodney Benefield

Mini-Stock Final
1. Steve Hill
2. Ken Candiotti, Jr.
3. Tim Greer
4. Bill George
5. Spanky Hicks

Outlaw Finish
1. Mike Davidson
2. Jason Bates
3. David Murphy
4. Brian Hardman
5. Tina Stephens
6. Terry Martin
7. Hoyt Stephens
8. Chad Richardson

Truck Finish
1. Brian Huff
2. Britney Finley
3. Bill Hoose
4. Joel Townsend
5. Branden Franklin
6. Jeremy Parris
7. Kristen Wallace
8. Kevin Vasser
9. Aaron Calvert
10. Cecil Flowe
11. Matt Vassar

Renegade Finish
1. Mike Childers
2. Brian Beckner
3. Doug Sexton
4. Vernon Hicks
5. Jeremy Dills
6. Brian Sosebee