Ben Rowe Breaks Through to Win His
First PASS North Race of 2010 Season
Johnny Clark's Streak Stops at Three in a Row
Series PR Report

Ben Rowe has run up front in all four Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North races to date and Saturday night the four time series champ took Scott Mulkern’s Community Pharmacies 48 to victory lane, a first in the win column for the new team led by journeyman crew chief Seth Holbrook.

Rowe took the lead for good on lap 84 of Saturday night’s 150 lap Fourth of July Spectacular at Canaan (NH) Fair Speedway, battling with Johnny Clark over the final sixty six laps  to claim the victory and foil Clark’s shot at four straight PASS North super late model wins.

Richie Dearborn had a strong run, racing up from the back half of the grid to finish third. Trevor Sanborn led a bunch but had to settle for fourth when the checkers dropped. Adam Bates gained eight spots for a fine top five.

Clark looked like he had a great shot at the four-peat, charging up from  eleventh spot to take the point on one of the night’s few restarts right before the half-way mark. Clark captured the lead from Rowe at the green and for a while it looked like the reigning champ might claim the win streak record, but Rowe came back at Clark in a big way to regain the lead and cross the finish line first.

Ten cars completed all 150 laps in a fast paced race that was only slowed by three quick caution periods. Heat race wins went to Nick Ribbe and Johnny Clark.

Andy Shaw was sidelined by ignition issues in his heat race, but when feature time for the PASS Mods rolled around his ride was repaired and ready to rumble. Shaw claimed his first PASS Mod feature of the season, beating Jon Brill and Scott McDaniel to the stripe. Shaw raced up from eighth on the Grid and took the from Sumner Sessions with thirteen to go. Bill Dixon and Rich Ferreira won the Mod heats.

The Pro All Stars season heats up in July with a string of races that will test the mettle of all of the series’ competitors. The super late models are back on track next Saturday night July 10 at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, and then they get right back at it Tuesday July 13th for 200 laps at Lee (NH) USA Speedway.  Then, it’s off to Thompson International Speedway on July 22nd. for round three of the PASS National Championship series.

The PASS Mods have 40 lap features on tap at Beech Ridge and Lee USA, plus a standalone appearance at Canaan Fair Speedway July 24. The PASS Sportsman tour will join the PASS super late models and Mods at Lee USA on Tuesday July 13th.

Unofficial Results
PASS North Fourth of July Spectacular – Canaan Fair Speedway – Canaan NH - July 3, 2010

Super Late Models:1) 48 Ben Rowe, Turner ME 2) 54 Johnny Clark, Farmingdale ME 3) 33 Richie Dearborn, Hollis ME 4) 44 Trevor Sanborn, E. Parsonsfield ME 5) 98 Adam Bates, Warner NH 6) 7 Donnie Whitten, Wells ME 7) 85 Nick Ribbe, Kingston MA 8) 77 Scott Chubbuck, Dresden ME 9) 71 Gary Drew, Gorham  ME 10) 75 Gary Smith, Bangor ME 11) 17 Travis Benjamin, Morrill ME 12) 17A, Scott Alexander, Orrington ME 13) 15  Chris Wilk, Mendon VT 14) 8 Cassius Clark, Farmington ME 15 73 Joey Doiron, Berwick ME 16) ) 12 Bill Penfold, Yarmouth ME 17) 35 Derek Ramstrom,  Worcester MA 18)  1 Randy Turner, Unity ME 

PASS Mods: 1) Andy Shaw NH 2) 77 Jon Brill 3) 14 Scott McDaniel 4) 50 Sumner Sessions 5) 20 Charlie Small 6) 53W Alan Wilson 7) 33 Bill Dixon 8) 85 Mitch Miller 9) 53 Leo Oliveira 10) 2x Wayne Whitten Jr. 11) 56x Rich Ferreira

Ben Rowe's winning ride at Canaan.  (Norm Marx Photo)