Dixon Charges From Rear to Win PASS Mod Race at Canaan
From a Spin to a Win in One Event
Series PR Report
The PASS Mods took to the banks at the Awesome Asphalt at Canaan Speedway Saturday for their second visit of the season in 2010 with Waterboro Maine’s Billy Dixon charging from the rear to take the victory.

Starting from the pole position Richard Ferreira of Raynham, MA took the command at the front of the field over Sumner Sessions.

On lap three caution was displayed for the 33 of Billy Dixon after contact coming off turn 4 causing the driver to spin into the infield dropping him to the rear of the field. On the ensuing restart Ferreira once again took the lead with Hebron Maine’s Alan Wilson in pursuit until lap 6 with Wilson making the bid on the inside to pace the field with Livermore Maine’s Scott Mcdaniel closely behind.

Wilson and Mcdaniel set a quick pace and opened up a 15 car length lead over the hotly contested battle for third with Bridgeton Maine’s Jon Brill, North Conway New Hampshire’s Andy Shaw as well as Arundel Maine’s Wayne Whitten Jr. until lap 27 when contact between Kevin Douglas and Wanderson Oliveira sent Douglas spinning bringing out the events second caution.

On the restart the second place starter of McDaniel failed to come up to speed which triggered a multi car altercation at the start involving McDaniel, Shaw, Whitten and Sessions ending the day for Whitten.

Once back underway Wilson assumed command until lap 31 when Dixon charged by Wilson off turn 2 to pace the field the final laps to pick up his first victory of the season. Wilson held on for second recording his best finish of 2010 in his first season with the series and Brill placing third. Rounding out the top 5 were Ferreira 4th and Shaw 5th.

Dixon’s Victory makes him the 5th different winner in 6 events in 2010.

The PASS Mods next event will be on Saturday July 31 at Groveton New Hampshire’s Riverside Speedway with the PASS North Super Late model Series.

Finishing Order:

1. #33 Billy Dixon 2. #53w Alan Wilson 3. #77 Jon Brill 4. #56 Richard Ferreira 5.#66 Andy Shaw 6. #18 Mike Mayberry 7. #50 Sumner Sessions 8. #6 Kevin Douglas 9. #53 Wanderson Oliveira 10. #14 Scott McDaniel 11. #2 Wayne Whitten Jr.  DNS #85 Mitch Miller

Billy Dixon in victory lane at Canaan.  (PASS Photo)