Ordway, Cabral and Wrenn Score Carquest Extreme
Tuesday Victories at Stafford Motor Speedway
Open-Wheeled Machines Invade
Connecticut Track for Mid-Week Show
Track PR Report

Tuesday night, July 6th, was the 7th annual CARQUEST Extreme Tuesday program at Stafford Motor Speedway.  Mike Ordway, Sr. won the 50-lap ISMA Supermodified feature, Randy Cabral won the 30-lap
NEMA Midget feature event, and Norm Wrenn made it three in a row at Stafford by taking the 25-lap Pro-4 Modified feature event.

In the 50-lap ISMA Supermodified feature event, Bobby Magner took the early lead with Danny Lane, Eddie Witkum, Jr., and Jeff Locke behind him.  Rob Summers spun and found the turn 1 wall to bring the caution out with 1 lap complete, sending him to an early exit.

Back under green, Magner charged to the lead with Lane, Locke, Witkum, and the side by side duo of Lou Cicconi and Mike Ordway, Sr. behind him.  On lap-4, both Cicconi and Ordway moved by Witkum, with Mike Lichty also getting by Witkum on lap-5.  The caution came back out with 7 laps complete for Larry Lenhert, who dropped off the pace and was leaking fluid.

Magner again took the lead on the restart with Cicconi charging into second.  Lane, Ordway, and Lichty were now the top-5 cars when the caution came back out with 10 laps complete for a spin by Dave Duggan.  Magner kept himself at the front of the pack on the restart while Ordway sent his car deep into the corner and came out with second place.  Ordway then rode behind Magner until lap-23 when he moved to the front of the field.

Once Ordway was out front, he was never seriously challenged until the caution came back out with 37 laps complete.  After several more caution periods, the race restarted for the final time on lap-41 and Ordway drove away from the field to take the victory.  Lichty came home in second, with Russ Wood, Chris Perley, and Locke rounding out the top-5.

In the 30-lap NEMA Midget feature event, polesitter John Zych, Jr. dropped off the pace and brought out the caution.  Zych was able to get his car restarted and he rejoined at the end of the field.  Jim Miller took the lead on the restart  and held the early lead ahead of Greg Stoehr, Chris Deritis, Erica Santos, and Cole Carter.

Randy Cabral started the race in 9th position and he was picking off nearly a posititon a lap and was in the top-5 at lap-5.  On lap-8, Cabral moved by Santos for fourth place and he took third from Deritis on lap-11.  Cabral quickly ran down Stoehr for second and was all over Stoehr’s bumper by lap-14.  Cabral took the spot from Stoehr on lap-16 and then set his sights on Miller for the lead.

Cabral caught Miller on lap-18 and tried several times to get a run to the inside of Miller, but Miller was hanging tough and maintained the race lead. As the two leaders encountered lapped traffic, Miller took the low line while Cabral took the high line and the high line paid off on lap-27 as Cabral went to the front.  From there Cabral pulled away and nailed down the victory.  Miller came home second, with Carter, Deritis, and Santos rounding out the top-5.

In the 25-lap Pro-4 Modified feature took the green with Rob Richardi, Jr. powering to the outside of Phil Lausier to take the early race lead.  Adam Norton was quickly on the move and he took third place behind Richardi and Lausier on lap-3.  Norton continued his charge to the front, moving by Lausier for second before the caution came out with 6 laps complete for a spin by Dave Richardi.

Richardi continued to hold the lead on the lap-7 restart, but it was a short stay at the front as Norton moved to the front of the pack on lap-8.  Norton ’s pass left the door open for both Brian Vincent and Norm Wrenn to follow Norton by Richardi, dropping him from the lead back to fourth place.  Wrenn ran behind Vincent until lap-12 when he made the pass to take over second place.  With the 12th lap complete, the caution came back out for a spin by Lausier.

Wrenn moved ahead of Norton for the lead on the restart, but Norton was able to move back by Wrenn before they came back to the stripe to maintain the race lead.  Richardi went around for a second time to bring the caution out with 14 laps complete.

Wrenn powered past Norton on the restart to take over the race lead.  Norton kept Wrenn in his sights over the final laps and he was able to mount one final challenge on the last lap, but he came up just short at the checkered flag as Wrenn made it three CARQUEST Extreme Tuesday Pro-4 Modified victories in a row.  Norton finished second, with Tyler Anderson, Vincent, and George Sherman rounding out the top-5.

1) Mike Ordway, Sr., Fremont, NH
2) Mike Lichty, Innerkip, Ontario
3) Russ Wood, Pelham, NH
4) Chris Perley, Rowley, MA
5) Jeff Locke, Raymond, NH
6) Ben Seitz, Bourne, MA
7) Mark Sammut, London, Ontario
8) Eric Lewis, Solvay, NY
9) Bobby Bond, Mexico, NY
10) Joey Scanlon, Salem, NH
11) Dan Lane, Essex, MA
12) Bobby Magner, Oswego, NY
13) Dave Duggan, Milford, NH
14) Vern Romanoski, Strong, ME
15) Otto Sitterly, Canajoharie, NY
16) Eddie Witkum, Jr., Westford, MA
17) Brandon Bellinger, Las Vegas, NV
18) Lou Cicconi, Aston, PA
19) Larry Lenhert, New London, ON
20) Jamie Timmons, No. Andover, MA
21) Rob Summers, Vernon
22) Craig Rayvals, Brockville, ON
23) Tommy Tombarello

1) Randy Cabral, Plymouth, MA
2) Jim Miller, Weymouth, MA
3) Cole Carter, Indianapolis, IN
4) Chris Deritis, Philadelphia, PA
5) Erica Santos, Franklin, MA
6) Russ Stoehr, Lakeville, MA
7) Jeff Abold, Penniville, NY
8) Jeff Horn, Ashland, MA
9) Michael Barnes, Mexico, NY
10) John Zych, Jr., Liverpool, NY
11) Mike Roselli, Broadsheadville, PA
12) Lee Bundy, Kennebunkport, ME
13) Greg Stoehr, Bridgewater, MA
14) Adam Cantor, Dix Hills, NY
15) Paul Scally, Raynham, MA
16) Mike Horn, Ashland, MA

1) Norm Wrenn, Nashua, NH
2) Adam Norton, Brookfield, MA
3) Tyler Anderson, Nashua, NH
4) Brian Vincent, W. Warwick, RI
5) George Sherman, Framingham, MA
6) Rob Richardi, Jr., N. Easton, MA
7) Dan Meservey, W. Chatham, MA
8) Randy Clark, East Harwich, MA
9) Frank Perry, Holbrook, MA
10) Phil Lausier, Hudson, NH
11) Brian Sousa,
12) Mark Giordano, West Haven
13) Mark Charette, Wolcott
14) Bill Joerres, Somerset, MA
15) Dan Meservey, Jr., Chatham, MA
16) Dave Richardi, N. Easton, MA
17) Stan Mertz, Whitinsville, MA