Page Jones Named as Grand Marshall For
Irwindale's Thanksgiving Night Grand Prix
Jones Has Shown Courage in Recovery From Crash Injuries
Track PR Report

His father won the Indy 500 in 1963 and the annual “Turkey Night” Race twice (in 1964 and again in 1966), and Page Jones, son of the legendary Parnelli Jones, younger brother of driver “PJ” Jones, was himself on the trail toward motorsports fame when a violent crash in September of 1994 ended his promising career and almost took his life. 

This year he’ll preside over the 70th annual Thanksgiving Night Midget Grand Prix as the event’s Grand Marshall, a well-deserved honor for a very brave young man.

Jones’ story since that awful night in Rossberg, Ohio when his life as a racing driver ended and the challenge of bringing himself virtually back to life is a truly inspiring one.  Doctors who had warned his family that Page might not even survive his injuries at first, and then cautioned that he might not ever regain the use of his limbs, or be able to speak, have been amazed at Page’s progress as he has fought back against all odds.

“Everyone here is very pleased that Page has accepted out invitation to act as Grand Marshall for this 70th running of the Thanksgiving Night classic,”  said Toyota Speedway VP/GM Bob DeFazio.  “Page is one of the most inspirational young people I’ve ever met; he was on the road to becoming one of the best ever to drive a racecar.  In reality, though, he’s doing more for understanding head injury rehabilitation than all of the glory that he’s missed on the race track.”

A big part of Page’s personal outreach is his association with a documentary motion picture company that’s putting together a film about his life and his remarkable road back. It is hoped that this story “Godspeed: The Story of Page Jones” will inspire and provide hope for the 1.4 Million people who are affected by Traumatic Brain Injury (T.B.I.) per year in the U.S.  Information and an early look at the film can be found at:

This will be the twelfth year that the Speedway has hosted this decades-old traditional night of open wheel racing and each race has been an epic battle for the honor of having one’s name inscribed as that year’s winner on the J.C. Agajanian Trophy.  That perpetual trophy carries the name of every winner back to the first: Bob Swanson at LA’s Gilmore Stadium in 1934.