NASCAR Champions Honored In Year-End Touring Awards Gala
Six Champions in NASCAR’s Developmental Series Honored

In a place where NASCAR history is on display, its future was celebrated as six champions in NASCAR’s developmental series were honored during the Night of Champions Touring Awards Gala in the Crown Ballroom at the NASCAR Hall of Fame on Saturday night.

The festivities featured the champions and top drivers from all of NASCAR’s North American regional touring series, who gathered for the special year-end celebration in the heartland of stock-car racing.

"It's really rewarding, from our perspective to come to an event like tonight, at a facility like the NASCAR Hall of Fame, in a great city like Charlotte, to recognize so many NASCAR champions," said Steve O'Donnell, NASCAR senior vice president for racing operations. "This year's championship lineup is impressive to say the least."

The 2010 champions included Ryan Truex (NASCAR K&N Pro Series East), Eric Holmes (NASCAR K&N Pro Series West), DJ Kennington (NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1), Germán Quiroga (NASCAR Mexico Series), Bobby Santos (NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour) and Burt Myers (NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour).

"We are proud we can call you six drivers NASCAR champions," O'Donnell said. "You've earned it."

•  Truex, of Mayetta, N.J., collected his second straight NASCAR K&N Pro Series East crown giving him two championships in his only two full seasons of competition in the division.
•  Holmes of Escalon, Calif., captured his third NASCAR K&N Pro Series West title having also won championships in 2006 and 2008 and becoming the seventh driver in West
Series history to win three or more titles.
•  Kennington of St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada, earned his first NASCAR Canadian Tire Series championship after finishing second in 2007 and 2009 and third in 2008.
•  Quiroga of Mexico City, Mexico, picked up his second consecutive NASCAR Mexico Series championship and became the first driver in series history with multiple titles.
•  Santos of Franklin, Mass., won the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour title and is the youngest champion in the 26-year history of the Tour at 25 years of age.
•  Myers of Walnut Cove, N.C., won his first NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour with a thrilling win in the season’s final race at Charlotte (N.C.) Motor Speedway.

In addition to the championship awards, the Most Popular Driver Awards for each series were also presented during the ceremony. The five drivers honored with the prestigious award were Ted Christopher in the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, Burt Myers of the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour, Andrew Ranger in the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series, Moses Smith of the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West and Ryan Truex from the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East. It was the third consecutive year in which Christopher and Smith earned Most Popular Driver honors.

The top 10 drivers and car owners from each of NASCAR’s developmental series also were recognized during the gala event – which featured Mike Joy and Dr. Dick Berggren of NASCAR on FOX as master of ceremonies. The awards banquet was streamed live online at – the official online home of NASCAR’s developmental series.

The awards celebration capped a week of festivities in the Charlotte area aimed at providing the top drivers and track operators in NASCAR’s weekly and touring series an up close and personal look at the hub of stock-car racing. The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Awards Banquet on Friday honored champions from across North America in the series that is NASCAR’s grassroots foundation.

The six NASCAR Touring Series champions -- Germán Quiroga, DJ Kennington, Burt Myers, Bobby Santos, Eric Holmes and Ryan Truex.  (Getty Images for NASCAR)