Chuck Hossfeld Out-Rumbles The Field at Shangri-La II
Battles With Brittain For RoC Modified Victory
Track PR Report
Chuck Hossfeld won Sunday's 75-lap ROC'n Concrete Rumble Race of Champions Modified Tour race at Shangri-La II Motor Speedway by employing the philosophy of a legendary car owner who told his driver, "Bring me a trophy or bring me a basket of parts. Don't bring me any excuses." In other words, he went for the win and didn't worry about the consequences. His boldness brought him that win, to the delight of the largest crowd in the track's two years of operation.

Hossfeld, who started sixth in the 28-car field, used the outside groove to move into second behind pole starter Pete Brittain on the fifth lap. For 60 circuits around the concrete half-mile he dogged Brittain, often trying the high road, but nothing worked. Brittain held his ground and seemed unshakable.

Hossfeld saw his chance on a restart with 13 laps remaining. "I watched him on those restarts and I saw his first three or four laps weren't his best. I knew I had to get him then," he related in victory lane. As the leaders completed lap 64, Hossfeld drove deeper to the bottom of turn one than he or anyone else had dared to do all day, pulled alongside Brittain, and came away with the lead down the back straight. Despite a final caution with seven laps remaining, Hossfeld held on for the win with a swarm of challengers right behind.

Wilbur Hebing worked around Brittain as the white flag was shown to take second and Daren Scherer edged Brittain at the checker for third. Erick Rudolph was on the move in the closing laps to take fifth. Earl Paules, Kyle Ebersole, Steven Reed, Andy Walko, and Mike Leaty filled the balance of the top ten.

Tire wear was never a factor on the sunny, breezy afternoon as all the top ten went the distance on one set of Hoosiers. Late pit stops for other reasons dropped Jan Leaty, winner of the last RoC race at the original Shangri-La Speedway in 2005, and two-time defending RoC Series champion Matt Hirschman from contention.

In other action, Jimmy Zacharias debuted his ASA Late Model and led until he pulled to the pits just before half distance. Travis Fisher took over from there to score the win ahead of Jim Lamoreaux, Scott Nurmi, Jerry Dineen, and Chris Zacharias.

Tony Hanbury stayed undefeated at Shangri-La II in 2010 by leading every lap of the Sportsman Modified feature while Dan Kurzejewski nipped Jimmy Zacharias for second. Rookie Brian Sherwood had another strong run, passing Russ Brown for fourth in the closing laps.

Defending track champion Chad McDonald was completely unchallenged in the Street Stock main event as Lee Sharpsteen and opening day winner Cricket Clonch trailed.

The INEX Legends' first appearance of the year saw Mike Alcaro and Daren Scherer trade the lead until they tangled, setting up a one-lap shootout. Mark Tischler edged Richie Vanderpool by such a slim margin that both pulled into victory lane. Vanderpool had the last laugh, however, as Tischler's fuel was found outside INEX rulebook limits and he was disqualified. Chris Young was elevated to second and Beth Scherer to third.

Next week racing at Shangri-La II returns to Saturday afternoon with Modifieds, ASA Late Models, Sportsman Modifieds, and Street Stocks in action. For more information. visit the track website at or call 607-330-2622.

Sunday, May 16, 2010
"ROC'n Concrete Rumble"

RACE OF CHAMPIONS MODIFIED TOUR (75 laps): 1. Chuck Hossfeld, 2. Wlbur Hebing, 3. Daren Scherer, 4. Pete Brittain, 5. Erick Rudolph, 6. Earl Paules, 7. Kyle Ebersole, 8. Steve Reed, 9. Andy Walko, 10. Mike Leaty, 11. Billy Putney, 12. Rick Kluth, 13. Bryon Chew, 14. Mike Speeney, 15. TJ Potrezebowski, 16. Rusty Smith, 17. Matt Hirschman, 18. Jan Leaty, 19. Scott Conover, 20. Zack Shove, 21. Doug Reaume, 22. Brian Defebo,23. Jim Storace, 24. Bob Reis, 25. John Markovic, 26. Lenny Fischer, 27. Tommy Cloce, 28. Matt Clemens, DNS - Ken Canestrari, Chris Risdale

Lap leaders: Brittain 1-64, Hossfeld 65-75
Heat winners: Hirschman, Rudolph, Brittain, Paules