Brown Takes Hard-Won Checkered at Bowman Gray
Defending Champion’s Bad Luck Streak is Finally Over
Track PR Report &  Speed 51 Video
Reigning Champion Tim Brown shook the monkey off his back on Saturday, taking the checkered in the Great Clips 100 at Bowman Gray Stadium and hopefully breaking his recent string of bad luck and mediocre performances.

Brown, a resident of Cana, VA, had his work cut out for him in one of the wildest races of the season for the Bill Plemmons RV World Modified Series as he battled his way to the front and then fought to hang on to the lead.

After qualifying on the pole, Brown drew seventh as his spot when the field randomly drew for starting positions. Ted Christopher of Plainville, CT started on the pole after qualifying 13th.

Although Saturday was Christopher’s first time racing at Bowman Gray Stadium, the veteran racer is a respected competitor with several accomplishments under his belt, including national championships. Many were looking forward to seeing how Christopher would fare at “the Madhouse.”

When the green flag fell, Christopher was able to hold his line and defend the lead from Jonathan Brown of Winston-Salem, who started on the outside front row. Christopher continued to battle with Jonathan Brown when early cautions brought about double-file restarts.

During another double-file restart on lap 25, Christopher spun his tires and allowed Jonathan Brown to power past him to claim the lead. The next 50 laps saw several more double-file restarts and a riveting cat and mouse game between Jonathan Brown, Ted Christopher, and Tim Brown.

As Ted Christopher and Jonathan Brown tangled during a restart, Tim Brown took advantage of the situation to grab the lead from the outside. The #83 of Tim Brown sailed ahead at the front of the field until the final double-file restart gave Brian Loftin of Lexington a chance to challenge from the outside. Loftin slipped by Brown to take over the lead – until a quick tap to the rear from Brown sent Loftin to the outside just seconds later. Brown reclaimed the lead and went on to take the checkered.

“With all the cautions and double-file restarts, it had to be a good show for the fans - because it sure was a lot of fun from the driver’s seat,” said Tim Brown, who was relieved to break his recent streak of bad luck.

“We’ve struggled over the last couple weeks here and we hadn’t been to Victory Lane in a few weeks,” said Brown. “It just hasn’t been the year that we expect to have. But tonight we posted our sixth pole of the year and our third win. Out of ten races, that’s pretty stout. It definitely helps when you can put a ‘W’ on the board.”

Meanwhile, Ted Christopher tangled with Stadium veteran Junior Miller of Danbury as Miller darted to the inside and made a move to pass. Miller and Christopher banged as they battled side-by-side, and a shot from Christopher sent Miller spinning into the infield and into the wall. The impact sent Christopher spinning as well and dropped him back to the rear.

The win was Tim Brown’s third of the season and 53rd of his career. Brian Loftin finished second after drawing 21st as his starting position. Burt Myers of Walnut Cove came in third after drawing a 20th place start.

In the Webb Heating & A/C Co. Sportsman Series, Robbie Brewer of Winston-Salem took the checkered in the first 20-lapper, with brothers Barry Edwards of Pinnacle and Kyle Edwards of King finishing second and third. Ronnie Clifton of Walkertown brought home the win in the second Sportsman race. Taylor Branch of Lewisville claimed second, and Kevin Neal of Walkertown finished third.

Zack Clifton of Walkertown won the 20-lap race for the 104.1 WTQR Street Stock Series on Saturday - his first ever win at the Stadium. Billy Gregg of Winston-Salem and David Sumner of Trinity claimed second and third.

In the Time Warner Cable Stadium Stock Series, Brandon Brendle of Winston-Salem won the first 15-lapper. Jordan Fleming of Mount Airy took the checkered in the second race.

Race Results
Bill Plemmons RV World Modified Series
Great Clips 100 Modified – 104 laps


1 83 Tim Brown Cana, VA
2 23 Brian Loftin Lexington, NC
3 1 Burt Myers Walnut Cove, NC
4 36 Rupert Sink Lexington, NC
5 71 Dean Ward Winston-Salem, NC
6 72 Brent Elliott Denton, NC
7 20 Jeremy Stoltz Walkertown, NC
8 99 Kevin Powell Winston-Salem, NC
9 40 Brad Robbins Winston-Salem, NC
10 5 Randy Butner Pfafftown, NC
11 70 Alfred Hill Jonesville, NC
12 81 Austin Pack Walkertown, NC
13 4 Jason Myers Walnut Cove, NC
14 33 Matt Caldwell Lexington, NC
15 79 Ted Christopher Plainville, CT
16 7 Bobby Reed Clemmons, NC
17 29 Mike Adams Winston-Salem, NC
18 53 Jonathan Brown Kernersville, NC
19 69 Junior Miller Danbury, NC
20 77 Lee Jeffreys High Point, NC

Tim Brown scored his third win of the 2010 season.  (Eric Hylton Photography Photo)
Jason Myers and Burt Myers were looking to keep the win streak going after sweeping last time out at the stadium.  (51 Sports Photo)