Les Hinckley Becomes First Repeat Modified
Racing Series Winner of 2010 Season
Thursday Night Victory Comes at Thompson
Series PR Report

Windsor Locks, CT., driver Les Hinckley became the first repeat winner this season when he captured the “Town Fair Tire 75” feature race for the Modified Racing Series, Thursday night, June 17. at Thompson, CT., Speedway. It was Hinckley's 13th career series win .

Veteran drivers, Mike Stefanik, Coventry, RI., and Charlie Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT., winners of their qualifying races, brought the field to green to start the 75 lap sprint with Stefanik, the nine-time NASCAR champion, jumping into the lead .

Stefanik held the front position until a lap 12 restart when Pasteryak took over the top spot leading laps 13 through 18. A hard charging Ted Christopher, Plainville, CT., took command on lap 19 with Stefanik right behind. Following a lap 24 restart for a minor spin, Christopher and Stefanik raced side-by-side with Stefanik grabbing the lead back on the next lap. The two veterans, on race restarts, raced several laps often inches apart, making for exciting competition.

Stefanik quickly became the class of the field opening a large lead. Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon, Valley, PA., moved to second place on lap 43 with Hinckley right behind.
The race now became a battle between Stefanik and Pennink. They also raced side-by-side on restarts with Hinckley and Christopher in pursuit.

On lap 55, Stefanik and Pennink touched with Stefanik spinning from the lead and Pennink being sent to the rear of the field by series officials. Hinckley took over the top position to go on and win his first race at the famed Connecticut oval. 

Christopher finished second followed by 2009 series champion Jon McKennedy, E.Chelmsford, MA., Steve Masse, Bellingham, MA., and Eric Goodale, Wading River, NY.

Pasteryak, Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT., Richard Savary, Canton, MA., Stefanik, and Geoff Gernhard, Salem. CT., rounded out the top ten.

11 caution periods slowed the race mostly for minor spins. 17 drivers finished on the lead lap. 34 race teams entered the event. The MRS will return to the Thompson Speedway, Thursday night, August 26.

The next race scheduled is at Monadnock Speedway, Winchester, NH., on July 3.


Date: June 17, 2010, 2010
Event: Town Fair Tire 75
Venue: Thompson International Speedway, Thompson, CT
Distance: 75 Laps
Margin of Victory: 1.706
Best Lap Time: 18.291 Steve Masse
Lap Leaders: Mike Stefanik (1-12, 25-55), Charlie Pasteryak (13-18), Ted Christopher (19-24), Les Hinckley (56-75)

Order of Finish:

Finish Start Driver Hometown Laps
1 6 Les Hinckley Windsor Locks, CT 75
2 9 Ted Christopher Plainville, CT 75
3 10 Jon McKennedy Chelmsford, MA 75
4 16 Steve Masse Bellingham, MA 75
5 5 Eric Goodale Wading River, NY 75
6 2 Charlie Pasteryak Lisbon, CT 75
7 25 Dwight Jarvis Ascutney, VT 75
8 30 Richard Savary Canton, MA 75
9 1 Mike Stefaink Coventry, RI 75
10 19 Geoff Gernhard Salem, CT 75
11 4 Ken Barry Preston, CT 75
12 3 Rob Goodenough West Swanzey, NH 75
13 22 Jack Bateman Canaan, NH 75
14 8 Norm Wrenn Nashua, NH 75
15 28 Rob Janovic Jr. Waterford, CT 75
16 27 Joe Doucette Framingham, MA 75
17 7 Rowan Pennink Huntingdon Valley, PA 75
18 26 Todd Annarummo Swansea, MA 11
19 31 Eddy Spiers Beacon Falls, CT 15
20 24 Dave Ethridge Portland, CT 16
21 13 Jim Dolan Bethel, CT 23
22 18 Butch Perry Ashway, RI 25
23 15 Jeff Malave Manchester, CT 36
24 21 Joey Jarvis Ascutney, VT 39
25 14 Todd Owen Somers, CT 43
26 11 Shelly Perry Westerly, RI 48
27 20 Jacob Dore Sanford, ME 63
28 29 John Cleary Madison, CT 63
29 12 David Cranmer North Hanover, NJ 63
30 23 Max Zachem Preston, CT 63
31 17 Bryon Chew Inlet, NY 64

Les Hinckley in victory lane at Thompson.  (Jim Dupont Photo)