A Plethora of Crashes Highlight Round Five of
Charlotte Motor Speedway Summer Shootout
Plott, Rayhall, Sossoman and Ferguson Are Among Winners
Track PR Report

Wild crashes on the track and vuvuzelas in the stands made for an exciting show on a steamy summer night during round five of the Kangaroo Express Summer Shootout Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Kyle Plott, Sean Rayhall and Carson Ferguson were among the night's feature winners.

Plott, of Marietta, Ga., chose the outside lane on a Lap 7 restart in the Legend Car Pro feature to capture his first win of the season and his seventh career victory in the Summer Shootout Series.

Starting the race in second, Plott dropped to fifth before taking the lead on the seventh lap. After assuming the point position, he never looked back, leading the remainder of the 20-lap feature.

Kannapolis, N.C., native, Daniel Hemric spent most of the race in the second position, only yielding it to Darrell Wallace with three laps to go.  Wallace, of Concord, N.C., crossed the line in second and Hemric came home in third.

In the Legend Car Young Lions feature, Rayhall, of Winston, Ga., took home his third consecutive Summer Shootout victory in a race littered with cautions.

Starting in the ninth spot, Rayhall was steadily making his way through the field when a late race caution enabled him to take the lead on Lap 13 from Mason Massey.

Another yellow flag on Lap 14 for a pileup in Turn 4 set up a one-lap shootout to the checkers. As the field took the green and white flag together on the restart, Rayhall was able to hold off Luke Demis, of Archdale, N.C., for the remaining lap to take home the win.

Dusty Summers, of Boonsboro, Mass., crossed the stripe in the third position in a race that saw four cautions in the last four laps. 

In the Bandolero Bandits feature, Ferguson, of Charlotte, N.C., battled from a sixth place starting position to capture his second win of the season.

A caution flag on Lap 6 tightened the pack and enabled Ferguson to overtake pole-sitter Payton Ryan in a classic high-low crossover move going into the fourth turn.

Ryan, of Concord, N.C., held on to finish second, as Ray Beebe, of York, S.C., rallied to finish third in the 13-lap feature.

Other feature winners included John Sossoman, of New London, N.C., in the Legend Car Masters division; Chase Catania, of El Cajon, Calif., in the Pull-A-Part Semi-Pro division; John Holleman, of Winston-Salem, N.C., in the Bandolero Outlaws division; and Banks Johnson, of Lake Wylie, S.C., in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits division.

In a 15-lap exhibition event, NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour drivers Gary Putnam and Johnny Sutton put on a show for the fans by racing side-by-side in a rendition of what's to come on Oct. 14. The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will end the 2010 season on the frontstretch quarter-mile oval in conjunction with Bojangles' Pole Night qualifying for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

The 17th annual Kangaroo Express Summer Shootout Series continues Tuesday night, July 13, with Fan Appreciation Night during round six of the series. The first 500 fans through the gates will receive a free gift bag and the first 1,000 fans will receive a free T-shirt. Gates open at 5 p.m. with feature racing at 7:30 p.m.

In addition to the regular 10-week racing series, Charlotte Motor Speedway will host the biggest Legend Car race in history, the Legends Million, July 15 -17.

The Legends Million is a one-of-a-kind grassroots race featuring a total purse of $1 million with the A-Main winner guaranteed to take home an unprecedented $250,000. The final spot in the feature is assured $10,000.

For additional information on competitor registration for the Legends Million, visit www.charlottemotorspeedway.com or call the Charlotte Motor Speedway events department at (704) 455-3205.

For tickets for the Kangaroo Express Summer Shootout Series or the Legends Million, contact the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit www.charlottemotorspeedway.com.

The results:

Legend Car Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Kyle Plott; 2. Darrell Wallace; 3. Daniel Hemric; 4. Travis Braden; 5. Jimmy Heavlow; 6. Tyler Green; 7. Chris Dilbeck; 8. Evan Swilling; 9. Kenzie Ruston; 10. Bayley Currey; 11. Eric Gunderson; 12. Casey Smith; 13. Scott Hensley; 14. Kyle Weatherman; 15. John Hilliker; 16. Aaron Moyer; 17. Chad Hackenbracht; 18. Duncan Molesworth; 19. Ronny Freeland; 20. Justin Lloyd; 21. Steven Cantrell; 22. Christian Pahud; 23. John Freeman; 24. Austin Hill; 25. Samuel McAulay; 26.
David Ragan; 27. Brian Ouimette; 28. Michael Kelley.

Legend Car Masters Feature (15 laps): 1. John Sossoman; 2. Clay Hair; 3. Dennis White; 4. Hoyt Dennis; 5. Tim Brockhouse; 6. Tom Pistone; 7. Chris Freeland; 8. David Denham; 9. Jackie Ryan; 10. Bruce Silver; 11. Jimmy Gurley; 12. Carlos Moore; 13. Geoffrey Bodine; 14. Brad Green; 15. Bob Bass;
16. George Schultze; 17. Jamie Smith; 18. Gary Shannon; 19. John Davis; 20.
Eddie Harwell; 21. Phil Sharpe; 22. Jan Ingram; 23. Ronald Mander.

Pull-A-Part Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Chase Catania; 2. Jake Morris; 3. R.S. Senter; 4. Timmy Hill; 5. Jake Knight; 6. Gregory Lang; 7. Andrew Harrah; 8. Chris Young; 9. Alex Pacheko; 10. Robert Kuczmarski; 11. Ryan Flores; 12. Kodi Sunley; 13. Chris Coker; 14. Austin Langenstein; 15. Kyle Hall; 16. Austin Leitner; 17. Andrew Sciranko; 18. Andrea Hans; 19. Zack Knowles; 20. Cory Kasel.

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (15 laps):1. Sean Rayhall; 2. Luke Demis; 3. Dusty Summers; 4. Justin Carroll; 5. Tyler Hill; 6. Tyler Castle; 7. Spencer Boyd; 8. Corey Gordon; 9. Brady Boswell; 10. Raven Schrantz; 11. Austin Osborne; 12. Matt Wallace; 13. Jake Cole; 14. Sean Shalvoy; 15. Chandler Levan; 16. Jacob Heavlow; 17. Jesse Little; 18. Gray Gaulding; 19. Josh Morris; 20. CJ Hulsey; 21. Mason Massey; 22. Kason Plott.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. John Holleman; 2. Riley Halverson; 3. Ryan Shattuck; 4. Myatt Snider; 5. Taylor Martin; 6. Walker Yates; 7. Ben Klatt; 8. Trey Jarrell; 9. Craig Biryla; 10. Jacob Brumagin;
11. Kayla Marshall; 12. Casey Hillenburg; 13. Joshua Plummer; 14. Chase Heath; 15. Dakota Ratcliff; 16. Ryan Mackintosh; 17. Jeffrey Stanton; 18. Tyler Janocha; 19. John Gregg; 20. Reid Wilson; 21. Scotty Hooker; 22. Coty Hartson.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (13 laps): 1. Carson Ferguson; 2. Payton Ryan; 3. Ray Beebe; 4. Kaz Grala; 5. Garrett Biggers; 6. Clayton Weatherman; 7. Layton Sullivan; 8. Cole Timm; 9. Jeffrey Abbey; 10. Teigan Deluca; 11. Trevor Collins; 12. John "Matt" Murphy; 13. Seth Werner; 14. Kodie Conner; 15. Daniel Bedford; 16. Chase Hawkins; 17. Austin Green; 18. Austin Cindric; 19. Jordan Plummer; 20. Derek Sobel; 21. Jordan Mander; 22. Tyler Dayton; 23. A.J. Davis; 24. Paxton Parker; 25. Jordan Locklear.

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (17 laps): 1. Banks Johnson; 2. Trevor Hawkins; 3. Tate Fogleman; 4. Hunter Richards; 5. John Kuczmarski; 6. Scott Joy; 7. Stefan Parsons; 8. Noah Corrman; 9. Elijah Bacon; 10. Dawson Cram; 11. Jacob Hefner.