Fireworks On and Off the Track During Round
Four of the Kangaroo Express Summer Shootout Series
Wallace, Sossoman & Catania Are All Among the Winners
Track PR Report

Race fans experienced fireworks on and off the track with exciting racing and a stunning Fourth of July
fireworks extravaganza during round four of the Kangaroo Express Summer Shootout Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway. John Sossoman, Riley Halverson and Darrell Wallace were among the night's feature winners.

Wallace of Concord, N.C., won a thriller in the Legend Car Pro feature, the final race of the night. Jimmy Heavlow of Galena, Md., took a dominating lead early in the race after starting from the pole position, but
lost the top spot on Lap 10 to Austin Hill. On the final lap it looked as if a victory was within Hill's reach, but Wallace executed a perfect bump-and-run on Hill's car going into Turn 2 to take the race lead. Hill
tried to retaliate with a bump of his own, but instead lost control of his car, spinning in Turn 3 on the final lap, finishing the race in eighth place. Justin Lloyd from Mooresville, N.C., took second place and Heavlow
finished third.

The win was the first for Wallace in Summer Shootout competition. There were five cautions in the race, including a wreck on the frontstretch involving seven cars that brought out a red flag on the fifth lap.

In the Legend Car Masters feature, Sossoman, of New London, N.C., started fifth but quickly raced to the front of the pack to capture his first win of the season in the Kangaroo Express Summer Shootout Series.

Sossoman led for 19 of the 20 laps after taking the point position from pole-sitter Brad Green on Lap 1, going into the first turn.

Sossoman held off Tom Pistone, of Statesville, N.C., during a Lap 4 restart. Pistone, who started and finished in the second position, could not catch Sossoman who held a full-straightaway lead as he crossed the finish line.

After winning the first three races of the season in the Masters division, Clay Hair of Mt. Pleasant, N.C., started the feature in sixth place. A favorite to take home the win, Hair was caught up in a wreck on Lap 4 sending him into the frontstretch wall. After restarting in the 13th spot, Hair quickly worked his way through the field and rallied to finish third.

Halverson, of Concord, N.C., took home his second consecutive victory in the Bandolero Outlaw division during round four of the Kangaroo Express Summer Shootout Series.

Starting in the second position, Halverson followed John Holleman IV for 16 laps before taking the lead in a bump-and-run move on Lap 17, going into the first turn. Holleman then brought out a caution when he
intentionally stopped on the frontstretch during the restart, bunching the field tightly behind the leader. Halverson was able to hold off second place finisher Ryan Shattuck, of Islamorada, Fla., for the remaining three laps of the 20-lap feature.

Reid Wilson, of Huntersville, N.C., came home in the third position.

Other feature winners included Chase Catania, of El Cajon, Calif., in the Pull-A-Part Semi-Pro division; Sean Rayhall, of Winston, Ga., in the Legend Car Young Lions division; Ray Beebe, of York, S.C., in the Bandolero Bandits division; and Chase Hawkins, of Manassas, Va., in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits division.

In CRASHCar racing, Big Show, driven by Kenneth Deese, held off the Trashy machine to claim the victory. White Boy crossed the line in third place.

The 17th annual Kangaroo Express Summer Shootout Series continues Tuesday night, July 6, with a NASCAR Whelen Modified exhibition during round five of the series. The first 200 children through the gates will receive a free Vuvuzela, the popular noise maker heard during the World Cup soccer matches. Gates open at 5 p.m. with feature racing at 7:30 p.m.

In addition to the regular 10-week racing series, Charlotte Motor Speedway will host the biggest Legend Car race in history, the Legends Million, July 15 -17.

The Legends Million is a one-of-a-kind grassroots race featuring a total purse of $1 million with the A-Feature winner guaranteed to take home an unprecedented $250,000. The final spot in the feature is assured $10,000.

For additional information on competitor registration for the Legends Million, visit or call the Charlotte Motor Speedway events department at (704) 455-3205.

For tickets for the Kangaroo Express Summer Shootout Series or the Legends Million, contact the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit

The results:

Legend Car Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Darrell Wallace; 2. Justin Lloyd; 3. Jimmy Heavlow; 4. Bayley Curley; 5. Justin Swilling; 6. Duncan Molesworth; 7. Aaron Moyer; 8. Austin Hill; 9. Donald McIntosh; 10. Brian Ouimette; 11. Kyle Weatherman; 12. Tyler Green; 13. Davin Ceites; 14. Brandon McKenzie; 15. Daniel Hemric; 16. Kenzie Ruston; 17. Jason Rochelle; 18. Daniel McAulay; 19. John Hilliker; 20. Eric Gunderson; 21. Kyle Beattie; 22. Chad Finchum; 23. Scott Hensley; 24. Harrison Rhodes; 25. Kyle Plott; 26. Travis Braden; 27. Michael Kelley; 28. Steven Cantrell.

Legend Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. John Sossoman; 2. Tom Pistone; 3. Clay Hair; 4. Dennis White; 5. Jan Ingram; 6. Eddie Harwell; 7. Jimmy Gurley; 8. Phil Sharpe; 9. Chip Ferguson; 10. Gary Shannon; 11. HP Schaeppi; 12. Brad Green; 13. Jackie Ryan; 14. George Schultze; 15. Carlos Moore; 16. Jamie Smith; 17. Bruce Smith.

Pull-A-Part Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Chase Catania; 2. Jake Knight; 3. Gregory Lang; 4. Jake Morris; 5. Alex Bowman; 6. Austin Leitner; 7. Timmy Hill; 8. Chris Cocker; 9. Andrew Harrah; 10. Ryan Flores; 11. Alex Pacheko; 12. Chris Young; 13. R.S. Senter; 14. Erik Nash; 15. Jason Austin; 16. Chris Byerly; 17. Cory Krasel. 18. Robert Kuczmarski; 19. Kyle Hall; 20. Andrew Sciranko; 21. William Cunningham; 22. DeWayne Mash; 23. Matthew Lundstrom.

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (20 laps):1. Sean Rayhall; 2. Sean Shalvoy; 3. Josh Morris; 4. Mason Massey; 5. Corey Gordon; 6. Nicholas Drake; 7. Gray Gaulding; 8. Kason Plott; 9. Justin Carroll; 10. Brady
Boswell; 11. Jake Perkins; 12. Tyler Hill; 13. Dusty Summers; 14. CJ Hulsey; 15. Matt Wallace; 16. T.J. Michael; 17. Luke Demis; 18. Chandler Levan; 19. Jesse Little; 20. Justin Thomas; 21. Adam Burton; 22. Jacob Heavlow; 23. Spencer Boyd; 24. Brian Kolb.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. Riley Halverson; 2. Ryan Shattuck; 3. Reid Wilson; 4. Coty Hartson; 5. Ben Klatt; 6. Joshua Plummer; 7. Casey Hillenburg; 8. Jeffrey Stanton; 9. Walker Yates; 10. Austin Allen; 11. Kayla Marshall; 12. Jacob Brumagin; 13. Myatt Snider; 14. Craig Biryla; 15. Taylor Martin; 16. John Holleman; 17. Dakota Ratcliff; 18. Scotty Hooker; 19. Tyler Janocha; 20. Chase Heath; Ryan Mackintosh.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Ray Beebe; 2. Clayton Weatherman; 3. Jeffrey Abbey; 4. Carson Ferguson; 5. Cole Timm; 6. Garrett Biggers; 7. Derek Sobel; 8. Layton Sullivan; 9. John "Matt" Murphy; 10. Kaz Grala; 11. Teigan Deluca; 12. Tyler Dayton; 13. Austin Green; 14. Kodie Connor; 15. Jordan Locklear; 16. Austin Cindric; 17. Jordan Plummer; 18. Jordan Mander; 19. Seth Werner; 20. Daniel Bedford; 21. Payton Ryan.

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Chase Hawkins; 2. Trevor Hawkins; 3. Hunter Richards; 4. Dawson Cram; 5. Sprout Royal; 6. Slade Parsons; 7. John Kuczmarski; 8. Elijah Bacon; 9. Jacob Hefner; 10. Banks Johnson. Did Not Start: Maxwell Evans

CRASHCar Feature (12 laps): 1.Kenneth Deese; 2. Jerry White; 3. Rusty Drye; Matt Drye.