Champions Are Crowned on Final Night of
Charlotte Motor Speedway Summer Shootout
Cantrell, Morris, Weatherman and Boswell Are Among Race Winners
Track PR Report

Championship Night was full of excitement and suspense as tight points battles made for exciting on-track
action during the Kangaroo Express Summer Shootout Series finale at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Steven Cantrell, Gregory Lang and Clayton Weatherman were among the night's feature winners.

In the Legend Car Pro division championship, Tyler Green entered the evening ahead of Daniel Hemric and Travis Braden, who were tied for second place in the points standings, by just 17 points. Hemric and Braden started in the top five, while Green began the race near the back of the 26-car field in 20th place. Braden and Hemric battled for the lead through most of the race, while Green slowly worked his way through the field, making his way to the seventh position by Lap 13. Hemric was involved in a spin on Lap 17, essentially eliminating himself from championship contention. Braden finished in a respectable third place, but Green was right behind him in fourth, which earned him the championship. It was Green's first championship in the Legend Car Pro division.

Cantrell, of Concord, N.C., took the victory in the race, followed by Kyle Plott, of Marietta, Ga., with Braden, of Wheeling, W.Va., finishing third.

In the chase for the Pull-A-Part Legend Car Semi-Pro division championship, Chase Catania and Lang were separated by just 24 points going into the evening. Catania, of El Cajon, Calif., only needed to finish fourth
or higher to clinch the title.

Starting in the fourth position, Catania quickly fell to mid pack before taking his car to the pits on Lap 8 due to a flat right front tire. With Catania out of contention, Gregory Lang, of Davidson, N.C., was able to
bring his car home in the second position. The finish was enough to secure his first Summer Shootout Series championship.

At the front of the field Jake Morris, of Fredericksburg, Va., captured his third Summer Shootout Series feature win of the season. Morris started on the pole and led the 20-lap, caution-free feature flag-to-flag en
route to his victory.

Crossing the stripe in the third spot was Timmy Hill, of Port Tobacco, Md.

Weatherman entered the Bandolero Bandits division feature as the points leader with a 24-point advantage over Carson Ferguson.

Weatherman, of Wentzville, Mo., started the caution-free race in the fifth position and fought his way to the front of the 21-car field, overtaking Kodie Connor on the low side coming out of Turn 4 on the fourth lap.

Weatherman held off the hard-charging Connor, of Kannapolis, N.C., who finished second and Derek Sobel, of Naples, Fla., who crossed the stripe in third. With the victory, Weatherman celebrated his second-consecutive Bandolero Bandits division championship.

After failing the post-race inspection, original second-place finisher Tyler Dayton was disqualified which allowed Connor and Sobel to move up one finishing spot.

In other feature action, Hoyt Demis, of Archdale, N.C., scored his first feature victory of the season while John Sossoman, of New London, N.C., claimed the Legend Car Masters division championship. Brady Boswell, of Watkinsville, Ga., captured his first win of the season in the Legend Car Young Lions 20-lap finale, while Sean Rayhall, of Winston, Ga., earned the division championship. In the Bandolero Outlaws division, Ryan Mackintosh, of Amherst, Canada, claimed his first victory of the season, while Ryan
Shattuck, of Clemmons, N.C., celebrated his first championship title. Stefan Parsons, of Cornelius, N.C., in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits division was the night's feature winner. Points are not awarded in the Beginner Bandit division so no champion was crowned.

Championship point standings are unofficial pending post-race inspection and point tabulation by race officials.

In the third annual Cabarrus County Principals School Bus Race, local elementary, middle and high school principals went head-to-head in an intense school bus slobberknocker, where Chuck Borders, of Pitts School Elementary, emerged victorious. Finishing closely behind in the second position was Jim Carroll, of Hickory Ridge Middle School and coming home in third was Phil Hull, of Patriots Elementary.

While the Kangaroo Express Summer Shootout Series has come to a close, racing continues with the O' Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Nationals Sept. 16-19 at zMAX Dragway and the Bank of America 500 Oct. 16 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Tickets for all fall events are available by calling 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visiting

Unofficial Results:

Legend Car Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Steven Cantrell; 2. Kyle Plott; 3. Travis Braden; 4. Tyler Green; 5. Sam McAulay; 6. Harrison Rhodes; 7. Chad Finchum; 8. Evan Swilling; 9. Justin Lloyd; 10. Kyle Weatherman; 11. Jimmy Heavlow; 12. Brian Ouimette; 13. Steven Abbey; 14. Daniel Hemric; 15. Cole Miktuk; 16. Steven Ross; 17. Eric Gunderson; 18. Tyler Lester; 19. Duncan Molesworth; 20. Chris Dilbeck; 21. John Freeman; 22. Tommy Pistone III.

Legend Car Masters Feature (20 laps): 1. Hoyt Demis, 2. Clay Hair; 3. John Sossoman; 4. Tom Pistone; 5. Eddie Harwell; 6. Jan Ingram; 7. Jackie Ryan; 8. Rick Wetmore; 9. John Davis; 10. Gary Shannon; 11. Bruce Silver; 12. Brad Green; 13. Jimmy Gurley; 14. Carlos Moore; 15. Jamie Smith; 16.
Phil Sharpe.

Pull-A-Part Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (20 laps): 1. Jake Morris; 2. Gregory Lang; 3. Timmy Hill; 4. Ryan Flores; 5. Austin Leitner; 6. Ronnie Milroy; 7. R.S. Senter; 8. Jake Knight; 9. Austin Langenstein; 10. Kodi Sunley; 11. Andrew Harrah; 12. Robert Kuczmarski; 13. Erik Nash; 14. Anna Lisa Smith; 15. Chase Catania; 16. Alex Pacheko; 17. William Cunningham; 18. Chris Coker.

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (20 laps): 1. Brady Boswell; 2. Sean Rayhall; 3. Corey Gordon; 4. Josh Morris; 5. Gray Gaulding; 6. Sean Shalvoy; 7. Matt Wallace; 8. Nicholas Drake; 9. Dusty Summers; 10. Justin Carroll; 11. Jacob Heavlow; 12. Tyler Hill; 13. Matt Pappa; 14. Cole Custer; 15. Spencer Boyd; 16. Chandler Levan; 17. David Schilling; 18. Brian Kolb; 19. CJ Hulsey; 20. Adam Burton.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. Ryan Mackintosh; 2. Ryan Shattuck; 3. Matthew Linker; 4. Coty Hartson; 5. Paul Fusko; 6. Walker Yates; 7. Reid Wilson; 8. Craig Biryla; 9. Tristan Bantson; 10. Myatt Snider; 11. Trey Jarrell; 12. Case Hillenburg; 13. Joshua Plummer; 14. Dakota Ratcliff; 15. Tyler Janocha; 16. Scotty Hooker; 17. Austin Allen; 18. Riley Halverson; 19. Chase Heath; 20. Ben Klatt; 21. Jacob Brumagin. 

Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Clayton Weatherman; 2. Kodie Conner; 3. Derek Sobel; 4. Garrett Biggers; 5. Carson Ferguson; 6. Kaz Grala; 7. Ray Beebe; 8. Jeffrey Abbey; 9. Austin Cindric; 10. Tate Fogleman; 11. Payton Ryan; 12. Teigan Deluca; 13. John "Matt" Murphy; 14. Reed Hatchett; 15. Chase Hawkins; 16. Austin Green; 17. Layton Sullivan; 18. Jordan Plummer; 19. Cole Timm; 20. Joeseph Graf. Disqualified: Tyler Dayton

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (15 laps): 1. Stefan Parsons; 2. Trevor Hawkins; 3. Banks Johnson; 4. Scott Joy; 5. Dawson Cram; 6. Ed Bacon; 7. John Kuczmarski; 8. Graham Smith; 9. Elijah Bacon; 10. Hunter Richards; 11. Jacob Hefner.