Rubeck Rolls To Big 8 Win At Oktoberfest At La Crosse
Scores His Fist Oktoberfest Victory
By Gregg Paul
Steve Rubeck cruised to an easy victory in the Big 8 Series feature at Oktoberfest at the La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway.  Rubeck worked his way past both Kyle Shear and Brad Powell, before pulling away to an easy win.

Rubeck, who has visited Oktoberfest on numerous occasions before, had never quite made it to the Victory Stage before Saturday night. 

“I’ve never been up here,” Rubeck explained about being on stage.  “I’ve had a blast every time I have been here except for the first year.  I had never seen the place and got wrecked in turn one and got knocked out for thirty five seconds.  This is redemption.  This is awesome.”

Brad Powell and Kyle Shear shared the front row and remained side by side over the first few laps.  Powell finally cleared Shear for the lead by lap 2.  Rubeck would also get by Shear a few laps later.

Rubeck chased down Powell and finally got around him on lap 8. 

From there only a brief yellow on lap 9 would slow Rubeck’s quest for victory.

Rubeck was able to get the jump on the restart and pull away for an easy victory.  Kyle Shear worked his way past Powell and into second place.

Rubeck downplayed his seemingly easy win.

“It was work in the beginning,” said Rubeck.  “I didn’t know what these tires were going to do.  We were worried about the ASA rubber and our rubber not matching up right, but once we got rolling out there Powell and I did a real good job racing out there.  We talked it over before hand and if I could get it inside he was just going to let me go.  I did and it was a hell of a race.”

Kyle Shear was happy with his second place finish.

“The car was pretty good, but towards the end of the run it started going away quite a bit,” said Shear.  “You got a lot of tough guys here.  Guys like Steve Rubeck, he’s tough to beat anywhere he goes.  The car started going away there at the end but we held on and finished on the podium tonight.”

Big-8 Late Models
CC 106.3 48 Feature (28 Cars) — 1, Steve Rubeck, Monroe Center, Ill; 2, Kyle Shear, Roscoe, Ill.; 3, Brad Powell, La Crosse; 4, Tony Bagstad, Westby; 5, Jon Reynolds, Rockford, Ill.; 6, Zach Riddle, Brooklyn; 7, Jeremy Miller, Rockton, Ill.; 8, Tim Sargent, South Beloit; 9, Dale Nottestad, Cambridge; 10, Davey Pennel, Sparta; 11, Matthew Henderson, La Crosse; 12, Shawn Pfaff, Sparta; 13, Jimmy Ganski, Roscholt; 14, James Swan, Park Ridge, Ill.; 15, Rich Schumann Jr., Portage; 16, Bobby Willberg, Beloit; 17, Bill Niles, Holmen; 18, Troy Rave, Black River Falls; 19, John Lemke, Shakope, Minn.; 20, Rod Brewe, Appleton; 21, Cardell Potter, Camp Douglas; 22, Skylar Holzhausen, Bangor; 23, Nick Barstad, Prior Lake, Minn.; 24, Dan Lensing, Poplar Grove, Ill.; 25, Ty Majeski, Seymour; 26, Brent Kirchner, La Crosse; 27, Corey Jankowski, Tomah; 28, Todd Korish, Holmen.