Tim DeVos Wins The "Chet" at Berlin Raceway
10th Annual Event Honors a Former Track Owner
Track PR Report
The 10th annual Chet honoring the once great owner of Berlin Raceway, Chester Mysliwiec, had a night full of racing action for the fans. A 125 lap Coors Light Late Model feature kicked things off for the ARCA Weekend at Berlin Raceway. The Burnips 4-Cylinders were also in action; as the ARCA Series practiced under the lights. Winners for the evening included (#77 Jared Lyzenga,  4-Cylinder B), (#17 Kyle Hamm, 4-Cylinder A), (#12 Tim DeVos, Late Model ).

The first feature of the night was the Burnips 4-Cylinders B, #26 Cal Phillips and #32 Jim Woltanski started on front row. Phillips jumped out to the early lead. Making his way through traffic #20Tyler Nawrocki, as he was making a move on Phillips the yellow was thrown on lap 9 for the #66 Brooke Wolschleger as she spun onto the front stretch. Nawrocki would take full advantage of the caution and rocketed to the lead. Jim Rhodes in the #T11 began to close the gap, as he gained ground on Nawrocki, the yellow once again came out. Woltanski spun going out of turn three. Rhodes would take the lead from Nawrocki out of the restart. Nawrocki would not continue to fight, with 5 to go Rhodes and Nawrocki would be neck and neck. The two brought out the yellow flag with 2 to go as Nawrocki clipped Rhodes. Nawrocki went off the back stretch as a result; both drivers would pit and not return. After yet another yellow on the restart, #77 Jared Lyzenga and #110 Dan Dells would emerge as leaders. Lyzenga would take the checker, Dells, #63 Paul Ritchie, #65a Andy Church, and #84 Steve Thompson rounded out the top 5.

The B 4-Cylinderders took the track next. On the start line for the feature were #10 Dave Duyst and #14 Jason DeVos. Jason Scheid in the #100 took the quick lead followed by #354 Chris McKinley and #7 Ryan Hamm; the trio separated themselves from the pack, but #17 Kyle Hamm was also moving through traffic. On lap 10 #17 Hamm had moved into third past McKinley after starting at the tail. As Kyle Hamm was moving into second, the yellow came out for the #4 Ron Myers who went off the back stretch. The three wide restart with #17 Hamm, #7 Hamm, and Scheid saw #7 Ryan Hamm take the lead from Scheid as he dropped back to third. On lap 17, the #17 of Kyle Hamm moved into first. The threesome would continue to lead at the halfway mark. Another caution would come out on lap 29 for debris on the track. Rob Shoemaker in the #01 moved into third past Scheid on lap 31. With 10 to go the Hamm's had a wide gap between them and the field. #17 Kyle started to pull away and would take the checker. Ryan Hamm, Shoemaker, Scheid, and #47 Don McNabb finished in the top 5.

The main event of the night, were the Coors Light Late Models who had a 125 lap feature race. The two drivers on front row were, #222 Caleb Bisacky and #1 Barry Hartwell, Hartwell shot to the front of the field at the drop of the green flag. The #28 of Scott Thomas moved into second past #21 Terry VanHaitsma on lap 7, that's when Hartwell started to see a threat. By lap 17 Thomas was on his tail; the leaders were 6.5 seconds ahead of the field. The only thing that slowed the two down was the yellow flag on lap 29. Andy Ponstein in the #00 and #19 Nick Szotko spun out on the back stretch; Thomas took the lead out of the restart. Lap 58 would see Thomas, Hartwell, and #55 Chris Anthony all on top of each other as lap traffic slowed them down. A new leader would emerge as the Hartwell and Thomas brought out the caution. Anthony and #10 Johnny Benson were the lead cars, by lap 73 Benson had moved into first. The battle for third place was also heating up. Tim DeVos in the #12, #21 Terry VanHaitsma and #32 Ross Meeuwsen were all fighting for position. VanHaitsma couldn't hold on and spun out on lap 68 bringing out the caution once again. Benson would continue to lead until lap 84 when DeVos passed him on the outside lane going into turn 3. With 10 laps to go, DeVos, Benson, Meeuwsen were over 8 seconds ahead of the nearest competitor, Anthony. DeVos would hold off Benson and take the checker flag.  Meeuwsen, Anthony, and #33 Monte Tolan rounded out the top 5.