Bloomquist wins Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Reece Monument Co. $10,000 ‘Scorcher 100’ finale at Volunteer
Fifth Win of 2010 Comes After McDowell Breaks Early On
Track PR Report

Reigning Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series national champion Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN has won several races over the years at Volunteer Speedway, but hadn’t visited victory lane since May of 2008 at “The Gap.” Saturday night Bloomquist recorded his fifth series event win of 2010 on night number two of the Scorcher 100 presented by Reece Monument Co., a victory worth $10,000.

Bloomquist moved to the point when race leader Dale McDowell broke a bolt in the lift-bar on lap 32, after he had led the first 31 laps of the race. Chris Madden of Gaffney, SC finished second followed by Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA; Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC; and Eric Wells of Hazard, KY.

Bloomquist inherited the outside front row of the 50 lap feature event and started alongside pole-sitter McDowell. Originally, Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, WI, the fast qualifier for the night and also winner of the third heat, was scheduled to start outside of the front row but he had to withdraw from the race after being transported to a local hospital for a medical issue.

McDowell grabbed the point at the start of the race followed by Bloomquist, Wells, Steve Casebolt and Ray Cook. Madden started eighth and was making headway early on as he climbed to fifth around Cook on lap two. Madden was then able to corral Casebolt and pass him on lap four to take over the fourth position.

Up front, McDowell was setting a blistering pace. By the ninth lap he had already caught the tail-end of the field. Bloomquist was able to close some ground on McDowell as they had a lapped car between them, when the first caution of the race came out on lap 11 for Chris Brown.

On the restart, Wells looked like he was going to beat Bloomquist into turn one for the second spot, but Bloomquist executed a slide-job at Wells in turn two to regain the position.

McDowell was looking solid as he was seeking his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of the year in the Clint Bowyer-owned car. McDowell built a six car length lead over Bloomquist by lap 23 as more traffic was playing havoc with the front-runners.

Bloomquist was able to cut into McDowell’s lead, narrowing it to two car lengths with 28 laps scored.  Meanwhile Wells, who had held the third spot from the beginning of the race, dropped two positions back to fifth in the running order as both Madden and Davenport passed him on lap 28.

With 30 laps complete it was still McDowell holding a three car-length advantage over Bloomquist, Madden, Davenport and Wells. McDowell led lap 31, but sparks appeared from the back-end of his car as the bolt in the lift-bar broke, sending McDowell rolling slowly into the pits ending his strong run at front of the field.

Bloomquist picked up the lead, a lead he would never relinquish, with Madden moving into second followed by Davenport, Wells and Casebolt. With no caution flags on the horizon Bloomquist looked to have clear sailing to the finish line, but again traffic would enter into the equation as Bloomquist was being held up, allowing both Madden and Davenport to cut into his advantage.

Bloomquist was able to keep a four car-length advantage over the duo in the closing laps as he was able to win without receiving any late race pressure. For Bloomquist the win was the 22nd series victory of his career which ranks him first all-time; and he also extended his points lead over Jimmy Owens, who finished 14th after having to run his back-up car after he collided with the backstretch wall in his primary car during time trials

Bloomquist parked in Lucas Oil victory lane for the fifth time this year, but for the first time for his new engine builders, NASCAR’s Roush-Yates out of North Carolina.

“No doubt, the engine worked real well tonight. We went home and worked on the car from last night and everything worked great. The track was real good tonight, they worked on it following Friday night’s ‘Scorcher’ opener. I saw sparks coming from under the rear of Dale’s (McDowell) car and I knew he was in trouble. We hadn’t won one here in a while and it was a good points night to go along with the win,” said the 46-year-old Bloomquist who was joined in victory lane by his crew chief, Tommy Hicks.

”I have to thank Jay Dickens, he put this together (the Roush-Yates deal) and they have worked real hard on it. We obviously are pleased so far with the program and hope to get many more wins,” said Bloomquist, who drives his own self-designed Bloomquist Race Cars Chassis sponsored by Miller Brothers Construction, Hawkeye Trucking, Sweet Mfg, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Tires, Arizona Sport Shirts, Ohlins and Lane Automotive. The win for Bloomquist was the 491st of his career.

Madden, driving the Century Plastics/Hamrick’s of Gaffney/Bloomquist Race Cars Monte Carlo SS finished in the runner-up spot followed by Davenport in the Baird Transport/Clements Racing Engines/Barry Wright Race Cars entry. Cook came home fourth in the D&R Racing/Hicks and Ingle Company general Contracting/MasterSbilt Monte Carlo SS, with Wells finishing fifth in the Cox Wrecker Service/Custom Race Engines/Rocket Monte Carlo SS.

Completing the top ten finishers were Steve Casebolt of Richmond, IN; Vic Hill of Morristown, TN; Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN; Brad Neat of Dunnville, KY; and Chris Wall of Holden, LA.

Jensen Ford of Piney Flats launched into the lead at the drop of green flag in the 25-lap Fastrak Racing Series-sanctioned Pro Late Model feature and never looked back en route to a strong flag-to-flag run for his second victory on the season. Chasing Ford to the checkers were John King II, Jerry Broyles, Dale Ball and Stephen Rogers.


Showing Finish Position, Starting Position In Parentheses, Driver Name, Car Number, Hometown

1. (2) Scott Bloomquist #0-Mooresburg, TN
2. (8) Chris Madden #44m-Gaffney, SC
3. (10) Jonathan Davenport #49-Blairsville, GA
4. (6) Ray Cook #53-Brasstown, NC
5. (3) Eric Wells #18e-Hazard, KY
6. (4) Steve Casebolt #c9-Richmond, IN
7. (5) Vic Hill #1v-Morristown, TN
8. (7) Don O'Neal #71-Martinsville, IN
9. (9) Brad Neat #41n-Dunnville, KY
10. (12) Chris Wall #71w-Holden, LA
11. (13) Shanon Buckingham #50-Morristown, TN
12. (18) Jared Landers #777-Lexington, NC
13. (16) Eric Jacobsen #5-Watsonville, CA
14. (23) Jimmy Owens #20-Newport, TN
15. (25) John Blankenship #23-Williamson, WV
16. (17) Mark Vineyard #4v-Powell, TN
17. (24) Earl Pearson Jr. #44-Jacksonville, FL
18. (14) Jeff Maupin #0m-Greeneville, TN
19. (15) Tyler Reddick #11t-Corning, CA
20. (21) Tim Isenberg #9t-Marshfield, WI
21. (1) Dale McDowell #17m-Chickamauga, GA
22. (20) Randy Weaver #116-Crossville, TN
23. (11) Michael Smith #4s-Rogersville, TN
24. (19) Terry Wolfenbarger #14-Powell, TN
25. (22) Chris Brown #21-Cleveland, TX

Scott Bloomquist takes the low lane at Volunteer with his #0.  (Michael Moats Photos)
Scott Bloomquist in victory lane at Volunteer.