Bloomquist Takes Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Win at La Salle Speedway before Huge Crowd
Dirtrax Dominator Scores 390th Career Victory
Series PR Report

Before one of the largest crowds in the history of La Salle Speedway, reigning Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Champion, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN raced to the win. This victory marks his 21st career series win and the 390th of his Hall of Fame career. The Annual Spring Shootout on Saturday Night earned Bloomquist $10,000 for his triumph.  Bloomquist crossed the line ahead of 11th starting Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL. Pearson passed Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN on the final lap for second.  Owens saw his three-race win streak end by finishing third.  Eighteenth starting Matt Miller of Waterville, Oh finished fourth followed by Doug Drown of Wooster, OH; who recorded his best ever LOLMDS finish in fifth.

Red Buck Cigars Fast Qualifier Mark Burgtorf and Bloomquist made up the front row for the eighth appearance for the LOLMDS at La Salle Speedway.  Bloomquist grabbed the early lead, setting the pace, followed by Burgtorf, Mike Marlar, Drown and Ray Cook.  Marlar challenged Drown for third as the two went back-and-forth for three laps with Drown finally regaining the spot.

Up front, Bloomquist held a narrow lead over Burgtorf, who was making his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series start of 2010. At the same time, a tremendous battle for third was taking place between Drown, Marlar, and Cook.  Drown, who had broken away from Marlar, began to put the pressure on Burgtorf for second by lap ten.

Drown cleared Burgtorf for second on lap eleven as he started to make a run on the leader, Bloomquist.  Bloomquist had started to pick-up the tail end of the field by lap 15, allowing Drown to close even closer.  Bloomquist put, Quarter Master Rookie of the Year contender, Eric Wells, a lap down. Wells then stayed between Bloomquist and Drown until the first caution of the race came out on lap 25 for a spinning Dale McDowell.

On the restart, Bloomquist was out in front for the Delaware double-file restart with Drown and Owens. With 30 laps in the books Bloomquist was starting to receive some heavy heat from Owens and Pearson, who was now up to third, as he had come from the inside of row number six. Matt Miller was now in the hunt as the 18th starting spot driver had moved within striking distance of the leaders.

A caution for debris on lap 36 slowed the field once more. Bloomquist had to fight off challenges from both Owens and Pearson. On the restart Owens and Pearson crowded Bloomquist on his deck lid as the duo made the Team Zero captain work hard for the lead.

Owens tried lap after lap to sneak to the inside of Bloomquist coming off of turn four. He pulled even with Bloomquist coming down the main straightaway multiple times, but Owens could not clear Bloomquist to take over the lead.  With six laps to go, the final yellow came out for Steve Casebolt.

Bloomquist re-fired for the final restart of the race and pulled away from Owens. Bloomquist went on unchallenged the remainder of the race to pick up his fourth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season. The duo of Bloomquist and Owens are now tied for the Lucas Oil Championship Points Standings with 1565 points, and Pearson closely behind in third.

In the Sunoco Race Fuels Road to Wheatland Victory Lane, Bloomquist mentioned that the last restart was to his benefit and felt that it killed Owens' chance for the win.  "The car fired real well out of the corner, we had a push across the corner on the other side, I saw his nose a couple of times before the caution, but under the caution we slowed down enough to keep the tires warm, because I knew he (Owens) went with a little harder on the left rear, I have to thank Tommy Hicks, my crew chief and the entire crew, they did a great job getting this car ready, we've run the Jay Dickens and the Vic Hill, both are great engines."

The 46-year-old Bloomquist drives his own Bloomquist Race Cars Monte Carlo SS powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Miller Brothers Construction/Hawkeye Trucking/Sweet Mfg/VP Racing Fuels/Hoosier Tires/Arizona Sport Shirts/Ohlins and Lane Automotive.

Pearson finished second, passing Owens on the last lap, in the Bobby Labonte Racing/Lucas Oil Products/MasterSbilt Dodge Charger to maintain third in the points standings.  Owens, who fell into a tie with Bloomquist for the points lead after entering the event leading by 30, was third in the Mike Reece/Reece Monument/Bloomquist Race Cars Ford Fusion.

Completing the top five were Miller, who charged from 18th to earn the PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race was fourth in the McCullough Industries/Gressman Racing Engine/MasterSbilt; with Drown scoring his best ever Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series finish in the Wooster Glass Company/Malcuit Racing Engines/Lazer Chassis.

Completing the top ten were Dennis Erb, Jr. of Carpentersville, IL; Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN; Ray Cook of Brasstown,NC; Tim Isenberg of Marshfield, WI; and John Blankenship of Williamson, WV.