CRA to Crown Four Champions
During Winchester 400 Weekend
Johnny VanDoorn and Others Seek Two Titles in a Row
PR Report

Champion Racing Association will Crown four division Champions this weekend at the 39th Annual Winchester 400 Presented by EDCO Welding & Hydraulics and WMDH 102.5 Hit Country on the famous High Banks of Winchester Speedway. No CRA Series has ever had back-to-back Champions, three of the CRA series have a very good chance of that happening after this weekend.

2009 CRA Super Series Champion John VanDoorn only needs to show up for this weekend’s Winchester 400 to claim his second CRA Super Series Championship for Kaos Motorsports Team. VanDoorn will join Brian Ross as the only drivers to claim two series Championships and will only trail three time series Champion Scott Hantz for the most series Championships. VanDoorn and the Kaos Motorsports Team will make history this weekend, as the only driver and team to ever claim back-to-back CRA Super Series Championships.

VanDoorn comes into this weekend with a 108 point lead over second place Brian Campbell, who is competing in his first full time season with the series and is tied with Ross Kenseth with two series victories this season, behind VanDoorn who has three victories. Hantz is in third place in series points, he is 28 points behind Campbell, which is very impressive considering he missed two series points events this season. Several point positions are still being battled for, Tommy St. John is in fourth place, he is 16 points behind Hantz. Jason Dietsch is in fifth place, he is 16 points behind St. John, and only seven points ahead of six place Terry Fisher Jr.

Rick Turner is in seventh place, he is 69 points behind Fisher Jr. Two series rookies are battling for the eighth place position, which is currently held by Colin Nickolai by only three points over Perfect Circle Racecars Rookie point’s leader Nick Gullatta in ninth. Currently Nick Lay is in 10th place, but Lay is not entered for this weekends event. Rookie Jay Niewiek only needs 38 points to pass Lay for the 10th position.

2009 Howe CRA Late Model Sportsman Series Champion Charlie Hanna comes into this weekends Sullivan RV Sales & Service 50 Season Championship event for the Howe CRA Late Model Sportsman Series Saturday night at Winchester with a 59 point lead over second place Keith Sterkowitz, the 2006 inaugural series Champion. Hanna or Sterkowitz could become the first two time series Champions.

Third and fourth place is still up for grabs with Jason Atkinson in third by only 11 points over fourth place Al Cook Jr. Mark Lambert is in fifth place. David Campbell is the 2010 Rookies of the Year in the Howe CRA Late Model Sportsman Series, he is currently in sixth place, 48 points behind Lambert. Joe Beaver is in seventh place, John Heck is eighth, Rick Sullivan is ninth and Bob Sibila is in tenth place
The CRA Street Stocks could once again have a split Championship as it did in 2007, when Joe Beaver claimed back-to-back Driver Championships. The Rich Boyer owned #33 team is currently in first place in owner points. Boyer has driven in every race but one this season, Joe Beaver substituted for Boyer in the June Mt. Lawn Speedway event. Boyer claimed his third Anderson Speedway Street Stock Championship last weekend, this would be his first CRA Championship.

The #73 Danny Acrey owned team is second in owner points, they are 27 points behind Boyer. CRA Super Series veteran Jeff Lane has raced the #73 in the majority of the series events this season, Jason Atkinson and Danny Acrey II have also been behind the wheel. Steve Christman is in third place in owner points for owner Steve Davis, they are 22 points behind Acrey’s team. Rick Erwin is in fourth place, 20 points behind Christman, Brian Hopkins in fifth place, only five points behind Erwin.

Christman leads in driver points with Erwin in second and Hopkins in third place. Rich Boyer is in fourth place in driver points, he is 54 points out of first place in his quest to win the combined Championship. 2010 CRA Street Stocks Rookie of the Year Nick Moore is in fifth place in driver points, he is 23 points behind Boyer and is sixth in owner points. The Scott Neal owned #17 is seventh in owner points, Larry Lathan is in eighth place, rookie Jeff Albright is in ninth with fellow rookie Josh Poore in 10th place. A lot is left to be decided in this division in Saturday night’s 50 lap Season Championship event.

2009 Vore’s Welding & Steel CRA FWD Compact Champion Tim Dilg comes into Friday’s 25 lap Season Championship event with a commanding 82 point lead over Justin Brown and Jess Drook who are tied for second. Dilg will just need to start the feature to be the first CRA FWD Compact driver to win two division Championships and do it in back to back years. Cary Abrell is still in the hunt for a second place finish, he is only 20 points behind Brown and Drook. 2010 Vore’s Welding & Steel CRA FWD Compact Rookie of the Year Stephanie Beane is in fifth place. The #07 car owned by series sponsor Steve Vore is currently in sixth place, 28 points behind Beane. Phil Iliff is seventh in points, J.R. Vester is eighth, Steve Derouin is ninth and Brian Redmond is in tenth place.

The top 15 in the CRA Super Series points and the top ten in the Howe CRA Late Model Sportsman Series, CRA Street Stocks and Vore’s Welding & Steel CRA FWD Compacts points will be honored at the 2010 Champion Racing Association Awards Banquet. More information on all the CRA Series is available at