Toledo Speedway Next up for the CRA Super Series
Friday Night Race Will Take Place This Week
Series PR Report
The CRA Super Series will make its first of two straight visits to the Buckeye state this Friday in the Klotz Synthetic Lubricants 100 Presented by Spray Power at Toledo Speedway. Friday’s event will be the 12th CRA Super Series event that has been contested on the fast half-mile ARCA sanctioned track. NASCAR Star and part-time CRA Super Series competitor Kyle Busch will be on hand for Friday’s event, but he will not be able to race because of his commitments to his NASCAR Sprint Cup race team, but will be signing autographs and giving some lucky fans a ride around the track on a school bus.

Scott Hantz and Canadian Motorsports Hall of Fame member Junior Hanley are tied with the most series wins at Toledo Speedway with two a piece. Other CRA Super Series winners at Toledo include John Belott, Jeff Lane, Joel Kauffman, Chris Gabehart, Fred Campbell, Harold Fair Jr. and John VanDoorn.

Three time CRA Super Series Champion Scott Hantz has become a master of Toledo lately in both an Outlaw Late Model and the CRA Super Series template late model with five Outlaw Late Model victories the past two seasons at Toledo along with winning last season’s CRA Super Series event over JR Roahrig, Boris Jurkovic, Rick Turner and Nick Diano. Hantz was the series most recent winner in the Welch & Wilson Motorsports Redbud 300 at Anderson Speedway on July 26th, one week after his car owner Dick Poe passed away.

2009 series Champion John Van Doorn comes into Friday’s event as the series points leader by 42 points over second place Terry Fisher Jr., who moved in to second place with three straight top five finishes. Tommy St. John is currently third, ten points behind Fisher Jr. Hantz is fourth in points, five points behind St. John, even with missing the series first event of the season. Jason Dietsch is fifth, he is 15 points behind Hantz. All of the top five in series points are entered for Friday’s race.

Other top CRA drivers entered for the Toledo event include former event winner Jeff Lane, also Rick Turner, Brian Campbell, Tyler Roahrig, Nick Lay, Adam Purdy, Eddie Van Meter, Joey Miller, Scott Whitehouse, Chad Poorman and Justin Alsip. Several top series rookies are entered including Perfect Circle Racecars Rookie Point’s leader John Long, along with fellow rookies Jay Niewiek, Colin Nickolai, Nick Gullatta and Tony Dager.

Berlin Raceway Outlaw Late Model points leader Terry VanHaitsma will make his first Toledo CRA start on Friday night as will Kelsey Steele, the sixteen year old daughter of three time ARCA Series Champion Tim Steele. Illiana Motor Speedway competitor Jack Kalwasinski will make his first start of the season with CRA on Friday. Canada will be represented by Ontario young guns Brandon Watson and Cole Powell, who will venture across the boarder to compete with the CRA Super Series.

Pit gates open on Friday at 1:30pm for the CRA Super Series teams. Practice will begin at 4pm with qualifying at 6pm. The race program will begin at 7:30 and will include the Klotz Synthetic Lubricants 100 Presented by Spray Power for the CRA Super Series along with racing action from the Toledo Factory Stocks and 4 Cylinder divisions. More event information is available at More information on the CRA Super Series is available at