Brian Campbell Survives to Win CRA Show at Columbus
Inherits Lead After Tangle Between VanDoorn and Nuckles
Track PR Report
In a rough and tumble JVM Enterprises/Nelson Kohman 125 at Columbus Motor Speedway Saturday night, Brain Campbell took the lead on the 96th lap and got his second CRA Super Series win of 2010.  Starting on the pole of the race, hometown racer Tyler Nuckles took the early lead and held on to it despite challenges from Scott Hantz and later Johnny VanDoorn. On the 96th lap VanDoorn bumped Nuckles on the front stretch sending him into the infield as they fought their way through lapped traffic.  Both drivers were sent to the tail, Nuckles for spinning and VanDoorn for causing the spin.  Campbell inherited the lead and held off a strong Hantz to win.  Robbie Pyle finished third, Tommy St. John fourth, Jim Crabtree, Jr fifth.

"We started the year strong, and in the middle it was just chaos, we are glad to be back on the right track."  Campbell commented.  "We did well at Toledo a couple of weeks ago, taking a brand new car out and working the bugs out of it.  This car has won four races so far this year, we seem to be going in the right direction."

VanDoorn took the EDCO Welding Fast Qualifier Award and then drew a five, to put Nuckles on the pole.  Nuckles then took the lead, with Hantz giving chase.  VanDoorn was stuck in traffic for several laps before getting up to third close behind Hantz.  VanDoorn slipped under Hantz in a rough move as both drivers made contact, VanDoorn bumping and Hantz attepting to move back to the low groove, Campbell slid past Hantz also as he was stuck on the high side of the tough one third mile oval. VanDoorn then set his sights on Nuckles.

Nuckles had built up a sizable lead as Hantz and VanDoorn had battled for second. VanDoorn was setting a blistering pace and catching Nuckles a little more every lap. Then on the 71st lap the ninth of 11 cautions was caused when Jay Niewiek and Bill Browning came together.  Restarting on right on Nuckles rear, VanDoorn tried passing high and low before bumping him and causing both cars to restart on the tail.

Robbie Pyle finished third and earned a Hoosier Racing Tire Performance Award despite restarting at the tail on the 22nd lap.  Jason Dietsch took home the other Hoosier Racing Tire Performance Award and the Lane Automotive/ISKY Racing Cams Hardcharger Award finishing sixth after starting 17th and restarting at the back on the 26th lap.  Pyle earned the AR Bodies “Cool Move of the Race” Award for moving through the field to his third place finish.

The popular eighteen year old racer Sloan Henderson was the only driver not to start the race after having engine problems during the first practice, she received the Leaf Racewear Hard Luck Award.  Nick Lay and Justin Alsip shared the EMF “That’s Racing” Award. Alsip also received the Safety Solutions Tough Luck Award.  The Team Construction Clean Sweep Award was not awarded since the fast qualifier did not win the race, and will roll over to the McGunegill Engine Performance 100 at Winchester Speedway on Labor Day Weekend growing to $600 for that event.

Nick Gullatta won the Perfect Circle Racecars Rookie of the Race award.  He also takes home the K & N Filters Top Rookie Finisher Award and VDL Fuel Systems Top Rookie Award.  Tyler Nuckles got the Kingen Interstate Express Halfway Leader Bonus. Campbell receives a $500 bonus from Ford Racing for winning the event with a Ford Engine.

The next event for the CRA Super Series will be the McGunegill Engine Performance 100 at Winchester Speedway during the exciting World Stock Car Festival on Labor Day Weekend.  The weekend will also feature the Howe CRA Late Model Sportsman, CRA Street Stocks, Vore’s Welding and Steel CRA FWD Compacts, the USA Modifieds and Thunder/Enduro Cars as well as the legendary Labor Day party featuring the band Crossfire in the pavilion Sunday night.  For more information about the World Stockcar Festival or Winchester Speedway go to  To learn more about any of the CRA series or events see