Marek Takes Home the ASA MW Sportsman Victory at Dells
Rain-Delayed Race Features Two Lanes of Racing Action
Series PR Report
After rain washed out the first attempt, the ASA Midwest Sportsman Tour finally got the chance to take to the 1/3 mile of Dells Raceway Park. On a track once criticized for its one lane racing, the ASAMST drivers proved that the weekly second groove coating is going to continue to create exciting side-by-side racing throughout the 2010 season.

Shawn Utphall led the 17-car field to the drop of the green flag. As Utphall continued to stretch out his lead, Elko regulars, Chris Marek and Jerry Thomsen were in a hard-fought battle as Marek was charging to the front. Only nine laps into the 40-lap main event, the #75 of Coppernol went up in smoke bringing out the first caution of the night.

Utphall continued to lead the field but local driver, Daron Fish, was not going to make it easy as he pressured Utphall for the lead. Meanwhile, Marek continued his hard charge to the front after a daring move on the outside of Kalbus to take over the position.

The excitement continued to heat up as the top five of Utphall, Fish, Aaron Cain, Marek, and Jay Kalbus were all fighting for position. Fifteen laps into the race, Marek continued to trust the outside groove and the grip the Hoosier 790 tires provided throughout the night, as he challenged Fish in a side-by-side battle for second. Marek was able to take the position and set his sights on race leader, Shawn Utphall.

With 18 laps remaining, Marek moved to the outside of Utphall to take over the top spot as the leaders were approaching lapped traffic. One of the most exciting battles of the night was between Aaron Cain and Jason Thoma. Unfortunately they made contact as they both continued to fight for position with a heated side-by-side battle.

On the restart, Fish and Utphall got together in turn two resulting in both drivers being sent to the rear of the field. However, they did not give up charging back to a seventh and eighth place finish.

With 14 laps remaining, Marek and local driver, Tuffy Myer, led the field to the restart with Jay Kalbus diving to the inside of Thomsen behind Marek. Kalbus continued working over Thomsen using both the inside and outside grooves lap by lap. Kalbus finally made the pass on the low side with ten laps to go.

As Chris Marek continued to stretch out his lead, Utphall was charging back to the front of the field after the altercation with Fish sent him to the rear. With four laps to go, Marek had the field covered. The Lakeville, MN driver took home the victory of the second event for the ASA Midwest Sportsman Tour. Jay Kalbus and Jerry Thomsen rounded out the top three.

Local Sportsman drivers, Tuffy Myer, Ron Grabarski, Bob Coppernol, and Daron Fish all had strong runs in the feature event.

The next event for the ASA Midwest Sportsman Tour is scheduled for June 11th when they join the American Speed Association® Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment and at Hawkeye Downs in Cedar Rapids, Iowa for a 35-lap feature event for the Keith Fleck Miller race.

To learn more about the American Speed Association® Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment and GrandStay Residential Suites Hotels and Crossings by GrandStay Inn & Suites, log on to or call the ASA Midwest Tour office at (262) 514-3880 or e-mail Tim Olson at or Steve Einhaus at

If you would like to learn more about the ASAMT series sponsors, please visit their websites: Kwik Trip, Inc. (, ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment (, and GrandStay Residential Suites Hotels and Crossings by GrandStay Inn & Suites (

To learn more about the Midwest Sportsman Tour log on to

To learn more about the ASA Midwest Truck Tour log on to

To learn more about the Daytona Beach, Florida-based Racing Speed Associates or the American Speed Association® Racing Member Track program, call (386) 258-2221 or send an e-mail to For news and information from racetracks and regional tours involved in the American Speed Association®, visit

ASA®, ASA Racing®, and American Speed Association® are registered trademarks of Racing Speed Associates, LLC. ASA International, LLC or Racing Speed Associates, LLC are not related to or affiliated with the ASA Late Model Series.


Wisconsin Dells 40 Feature Finish

#     Driver Name
1     - 3     - Chris Marek
2     - 27     - Jay Kalbus
3     - 22     - Jerry Thomsen
4     - 39     - Tuffy Myer
5     - 4G     - Ron Grabarski
6     - 14     - Bob Coppernoli
7     - 36D     - Daron Dish
8     - 2     - Shawn Utphall
9     - 5     - Aaron Cain
10     - 13     - Becky Grabarski
11     - 88     - Logan Love
12     - 61     - Jeff Nehrkorn
13     - 6     - Jason Thoma
14     - 27L     - Stephanie Losinecki
15     - 75     - Rick Coppernoli
16     - 62N     - Scott Null
17     - 3J     - David Einhaus

Chris Marek in victory lane.  (Dells Raceway Park Photo)