Schendel Takes First Victory of 2010 on ASA Midwest Tour
First Win Since 2008 Comes at Dells Raceway Park
Series PR Report
The American Speed Association® Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment and made their eighth stop of the season at Dells Raceway Park. A track known for its nose-to-tail racing was home to a new winner for the 2010 season. Tim Schendel took home his first victory in 2010. His last victory was in 2008 at Marshfield Speedway, which the ASAMT heads to next weekend.

"We've had a lot of bad luck this year. But we worked really hard for this race and no one has given up. It feels really good," said a happy Schendel from victory lane. Dan Fredrickson took the early lead over pole sitter, Griffin McGrath. As the top four drivers were nose to tail, Chris Weinkauf tried the sometimes unforgiving high-line in an attempt to take over the third spot from Tim Schendel. He settled back into the fourth spot after several failed attempts.

ASA Midwest Tour Swiss Colony Touring Star, Blake Brown was hoping for a good run in honor of his last year's crew chief, Howie Lettow who announced earlier this week that he has been battling cancer. After taking a provisional starting position, Brown's night ended early only 15 laps into the event.

Griffin McGrath was not giving up and was all over the bumper of Fredrickson. He finally took the lead on lap 23 on the inside. Fredrickson had to settle for the top-grove and continued to drop back all the way to 10th before settling back in line. McGrath and Schendel continued to battle it out at the front of the field. McGrath held on for a few laps before Schendel made an inside move going in to turn one to take over the stop spot.

As they headed into lapped traffic Weinkauf was trying to use it to his advantage to take over the second spot. Meanwhile, Steve Carlson was quietly and patiently following in fourth. As Fredrickson was trying to make up some time, he and the 12 of Nick Murgic touched sending Murgic hard into the turn two wall, ending his night. At the restart, Schendel led McGrath, Weinkauf and Carlson. It was not long before Carlson was making a move on Weinkauf for third position. Andrew Morrisey was also having a great run, running in the top five most of the night.

As the top nine pulled away from the rest of the field by a straight-away, Goede and Paine were side-by-side fighting hard for the tenth spot, with Goede taking the position. Second-generation driver, Skylar Holzhausen was also having a great top-ten run ending his night in eighth. After making a pit stop during the caution, the #25 of Ross Kenseth was on the move. The #5 of Travis Sauter and Kenseth seemed to stuck together like glue most of the night finishing 12th and 13th respectively.

Last year's victor and current point leader, Steve Carlson was trying to use lapped traffic to take the third spot away from Weinkauf. Weinkauf was doing the same on McGrath. As the leaders were putting the lapped cars down, the field tightened up. A competition yellow was thrown on lap 75 with Schendel still leading, followed by McGrath, Weinkauf, Carlson, and Andrew Morrisey.

With 25 to go, Schendel led them to the green. On lap 76, the #72 of Jacob Goede and #2 of Michael Bilderback made contact causing both to spin and were sent to the rear. At the restart, Schendel got a good restart while McGrath was getting pressure from Weinkauf. Carlson looked to the inside of Weinkauf while Morrisey was all over Carlson. The #52 of Chris Wimmer was patiently waiting for the veteran and the youngster to make a mistake.

Schendel was able to stretch out his lead to five car lengths. Carlson was all alone in fourth as the #21 of Weinkauf took the second spot over McGrath with three laps to go. Andrew Morrisey rounded out the top five.

The next event for the ASAMT is next Saturday, August 21st at Marshfield Speedway.

To learn more about the American Speed Association® Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment and GrandStay Residential Suites Hotels and Crossings by GrandStay Inn & Suites, log on to or call the ASA Midwest Tour office at (262) 514-3880 or e-mail Tim Olson at or Steve Einhaus at

If you would like to learn more about the ASAMT series sponsors, please visit their websites: Kwik Trip, Inc. (, ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment (, and GrandStay Residential Suites Hotels and Crossings by GrandStay Inn & Suites (

To learn more about the Midwest Sportsman Tour log on to

To learn more about the ASA Midwest Truck Tour log on to

To learn more about the Daytona Beach, Florida-based Racing Speed Associates or the American Speed Association® Racing Member Track program, call (386) 258-2221 or send an e-mail to For news and information from racetracks and regional tours involved in the American Speed Association®, visit

ASA®, ASA Racing®, and American Speed Association® are registered trademarks of Racing Speed Associates, LLC. ASA International, LLC or Racing Speed Associates, LLC are not related to or affiliated with the ASA Late Model Series.


Feature Results

#     Driver Name     Hometown

1     - 21S     - Tim Schendel (TS)     - Sparta, WI
2     - 121     - Chris Weinkauf     - Dalton, WI
3     - 64     - Griffin McGrath (R)     - Cedar Rapids, IA
4     - 66     - Steve Carlson (TS)     - West Salem, WI
5     - 39     - Andrew Morrissey (TS)     - De Forest, WI
6     - 52     - Chris Wimmer (TS)     - Wausau, WI
7     - 87     - Nathan Haseleu (TS)     - Pardeeville, WI
8     - 78     - Skylar Holzhausen     - Nekoosa, WI
9     - 43P     - Paul Paine     - Mound, MN
10     - 4     - Thor Anderson     - Bondurant, IA
11     - 22     - Nick Panitzke (TS)     - Sauk Centre, MN
12     - 25K     - Ross Kenseth (R) - Spring Valley, IL
13     - 5     - Travis Sauter     - Necedah, WI
14     - 25S     - Jeff Storm (TS)     - East Troy, WI
15     - 2R     - Kenny Reiser     - Waukon, IA
16     - 97I     - Jamie Iverson (TS)     - Escanaba, MI
17     - 93     - Dave Feiler     - Cottage Grove, WI
18     - 72     - Jacob Goede (TS)     - Shakopee, MN
19     - 2     - Michael Bilderback (R)     - Rockton, IL
20     - 9K     - Mark Kraus (TS)     - Stratford, WI
21     - 63     - Gary LaMonte (R)     - West Allis, WI
22     - 43     - Matt Kocourek     - Franklin, WI
23     - 14     - Eugene Gregorich Jr.     - Kewaunee, WI
24     - 12     - Nick Murgic (TS)     - Rosemount, MN
25     - 36     - Dan Fredrickson (TS)     - Lakeville, MN
26     - 71B     - Blake Brown (TS)     - Franskville, WI