Robbie Pyle Leads Every Lap to Win the 12th Annual George Appleton Memorial 125 at Grundy County Speedway
Veteran Driver Wins in ASA Late Models
Series PR Report

The Lexington, Michigan based ASA Late Model Northern Series made their third stop of the 2010 racing season at the fast 1/3 (0.333) mile semi-banked paved oval of the Grundy County Speedway, located West of Chicago in Morris, Illinois for the running of the 12th annual George Appleton Memorial 125.

When all was said and done, Columbus, Ohio veteran, Robbie Pyle would lead a furious last ditch effort charge from 19-year-old Canadian, Jordan Sims and four-time Appleton Memorial Winner, Eddie Hoffman to win the prestigious event.

Pyle and 2009 Rookie of the Year Josh Nelms led the 17-car field to chief starter Tom Powell�s green flag to begin the extended distance feature. Pyle would beat Nelms to the first corner to take the early lead while the rest of the field jockeyed for position behind him.

The field continued to battle amongst themselves as the first 32 laps before the first of five cautions flew when rookie Tom Woodin looped his mount in turn two. On the restart, Pyle continued to show the way and despite two more cautions on lap 63 and 95, Pyle would continue to pace the field.

As the laps clicked off, Pyle had to deal with Jordan Sims and AR Bodies Fast Qualifier, Anthony Danta when a caution on lap 122 bunched the field up. On the ensuing restart, Sims and Danta collided in turn three sending Sims around. Danta was sent to the rear and Sims got his spot back behind Pyle, but now he had to deal with current ASA Late Model Northern Series points leader and 2008 Series Champion, Eddie Hoffman.

Pyle would fight off the last minute advances of both Sims and Hoffman and would take the checkered flag in his Image F/X Graphics Ford to win the 12th annual George Appleton Memorial 125.

Sims finished a career high second while Hoffman finished third to maintain his points lead in the chase for the 2010 ASA Late Model Northern Series Championship. Jesse Saunders was fourth as Griffin McGrath completed the top five.

14-year-old Erik Jones took over the 2010 Rookie of the Year points lead with his career high sixth place finish while 17-year-old Trevor Dassow, 19-year-old Brad Plunket, Ross Zumbach, and Nelms finished off the top 10.

Earlier in the afternoon, Danta won the AR Bodies Fast Qualifier Award with a lap measured at a 15.463. Earlier in the morning during the drivers meeting, it was announced that a second race has been added at the Morris, Illinois speed plant on Sunday, July 4th as the Firecracker 150 will highlight the Fourth of July Holiday Weekend.

The next event for the ASA Late Model Northern Series is on Saturday, June 26th as the series makes its first ever appearance at the 3/8s (0.375) semi-banked paved oval of the Plymouth Speedway in Plymouth, Indiana for the Plymouth 100.

For more information about the ASA Late Model Northern Series and the Sunoco National Tour, please visit each website. For the ASA Late Model Series, the website is located at: For the Sunoco National Tour, go to the newly revamped and still in progress site at: and for more information about Sunoco Race Fuels, visit them at:

The ASA Late Model Northern Series and the Sunoco National Tour are their own entity and not endorsed, sponsored or affiliated in any way with ASA Racing, American Speed Association or the ASA Member Track Program. The ASA Late Model Northern Series and the Sunoco National Tour are both owned and operated by Ron Varney.