Wordelman Enjoys a Slim Lead in Battle
for ASA Member Track National Championship
Only a Few Weeks Remain in Title Fight
ASA PR Report

With only a few weeks left, it is still up in the air to who will be the 2010 Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Champion. It is so close that no one is willing to take a guess at this point.

How close is the title chase?  The top-five is separated by 0.325.  The top-ten is separated by 1.1038.

This week Bryan Wordelman, the current points leader in the Modified division at Rocky Mountain Raceways in West Valley City, UT, is the overall leader with an average of 4.1852.  Last weekend he finished fourth in his feature event to vault to the top of the standings.  They will determine their track champion this Saturday night.

"This is still too early to determine whether or not that our driver will be the National Champion," Doug Binstock, Rocky Mountain Raceways General Manager said.  "It's awesome that Bryan is in the running because he has had a great season.  At the same time the other drivers competing for the National Championship have had great seasons as well.  This will be fun to see how it all works out.  My congratulations to everyone for the fantastic season so far.  They all are making the 2010 Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship exciting to watch.  This will come down to the last week."

Corey Jankowski won his second consecutive track championship this past Saturday night at Dells Raceway Park in Wisconsin Dells, WI.  Jankowski won the championship by three points over Mike Lichtfeld and is now second overall with an average of 4.1325. 

Dustin Rumley will be going for his first championship at Ace Speedway in Elon, NC this Friday night.  He currently sits third overall with an average of 4.1305.  Rumley currently holds a 58-point lead over Jason Payne in the standings.  Payne has an average of 3.9842.

Thomas Hill is fourth overall with an average of 3.9254.  He is still in a tight points battle with Shelby Stroebel and his brother Jeffrey Hill at Meridian Speedway in Meridian, ID.  Currently he has a 28-point lead over Stroebel and a 41-point lead over this brother in the track standings.  Meridian could also be a factor in the National Championship depending on who their track champion will be.  Even though Thomas Hill is the points leader, Stroebel and Jeffrey Hill have a higher average.  Stroebel has a 4.1198 and Jeffrey has a 4.0398.

Jeremy Miller still sits in fifth with an average of 3.8602.  The current points leader at Madison International Speedway in Oregon, WI will have to wait until Friday, September 24th to see if he will defend his championship.  The Late Models were rained out last Friday night and their championship will now be part of their annual Fall Classic.  Miller has a five-point lead Bobby Wilberg.  Wilberg has an average of 4.0933.

"We have a battle and it's far from over," Dennis Huth, ASA President said.  "The one thing we all have to remember is that these averages could go up or down based on what happens for each driver at each track.  Their individual performance based on the car count are just a few factors in determining the 2010 Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Champion.  Keep your eye on the standings this week and then wait until next week.  You will see some changes.  Just like you see on the track when watching a race."

You can review the standings at www.speednetdirect.com by clicking on the ASA Member Track logo at the top of the page.

The goal of the ASA Short Track National Championship is to activate a measuring system which takes into account many variables - such as field size, inversion, wins and number of races in a season - and create a level playing field to determine who is the 'best-of-the-best' of the ASA Member Track Champions nationwide.

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, sponsor of the American Speed Association National Short Track National Championship, is the same oil developed and used by Joe Gibbs Racing. The team sells the oil so racers across the country can have access to the latest technology in racing lubricants.

Joe Gibbs Racing is one of the premier organizations in NASCAR, currently fielding three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams, two NASCAR Nationwide Series teams and a driver development program. Based in Huntersville, N.C., and owned by Joe Gibbs - a three-time Super Bowl winner as head coach of the Washington Redskins and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - JGR has competed in NASCAR since 1992, winning three Cup Series championships and more than 80 NASCAR races, including three Brickyard 400s and the 1993 Daytona 500.

The ASA Member Track program is comprised of dirt and asphalt short tracks along with road courses around the United States, as well as a variety of regional and national touring series. For more information, call (386) 258-2221 or send an e-mail to info@asa-racing.com. For news and information from all the racetracks and tours involved in the ASA, visit www.ASA-Racing.com.

ASA™, ASA Racing™ and American Speed Association® are trademarks of Racing Speed Associates, LLC. Racing Speed Associates, LLC is not related to or affiliated with ASA Late Model Series.