Dustin Rumley Climbs Atop the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Standings
Cook's DQ at Ace Hands National Lead to Fellow Ace Regular
ASA PR Report
Rodney Cook's disqualification for an illegal part last week at Ace Speedway in Elon, NC has completely changed the look of the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship standings.  Cook's disqualification caused him to lose the points lead as well as the overall lead in the National Championship.

Ironically, the new National leader is the driver that took over the points lead at Ace.  Dustin Rumley, a 20-year-old driver from McLeansville, NC, took over the top spot after the disqualification and will have the points lead when Ace has their championship night on Friday, September 10th. 

It has been and an interesting year for Rumley so far.  Back on April 9th, he lost his car in a fiery crash at Ace Speedway.  He and his team built a new car came back to having a great season so far.  He so far has three wins, 10 top-five's (six are second place finishes) and 13 top-tens so far.  He has an average of 4.1305.

Rumley has the highest average among the ASA Member Track point leaders this week, but there are some that have a higher average than he does.  The same can be said with other track point leaders.  While they may have their point lead, they may not have the highest average.  With many of the tracks having a very tight points battle, it is possible over the next few weeks to see the standings have many changes among positions and drivers.  Each event at each ASA Member Track is going to be very important through the month of September leading up to the September 26th deadline.

Thomas Hill, the current leader in the Modified division at Meridian Speedway in Meridian, ID is second overall with an average of 3.9060.  He is in a tight battle with Shelby Stroebel and his brother Jeff Hill.  Their championship will be decided later this month.

Rich Schumann Jr. is the current leader at Dells Raceway Park in Wisconsin Dells, WI with an average of 3.8809.  Their championship will be decided this Saturday night.  Schumann is in a very tight points battle where the top-five are separated by 34 points.  Schumann has a three point lead over Corey Jankowski and Davey Pennel, a ten point lead over Mike Lichtfeld and a 34 point lead over Michael Ehde.

Jeremy Miller is fourth overall with an average of 3.8602.  He has a five-point lead over Bobby Wilberg at Madison International Speedway in Oregon, WI.  They will determine their 2010 track champion with twin 40-lap features tonight (Friday, September 3, 2010). 

Bryan Wordelman is fifth overall with an average of 3.8434 at Rocky Mountain Raceways in West Valley City, UT.  He has a 115-point lead over Jason Aposhian in the Modifieds standings with their championship night scheduled for September 18th.

Troy Nelson recently captured his third championship in a row at Norway Speedway in Norway, MI.  He is sixth overall with a 3.7636.

Ron Daniel recently finished fifth at Orange Show Speedway in San Bernardino, CA to extend his lead over Jeff Peterson in their track standings.  Daniel has a 3.7516.

At Thunderhill Raceway in Kyle, TX, Mason Teague picked up another feature win and moved to the points lead in their track standings.  He is seventh overall with a 3.6952.  They will determine their champion on September 25. 

Chris Weinkauf, the leader at State Park Speedway in Wausau, WI has an average of 3.0814 and Mike Slone at Lebanon I-44 Speedway in Lebanon, MO has an average of 3.0579 to round out the top-ten.  State Park will determine their track champion on Thursday, September 9th and Lebanon will this Saturday night.

"There are two things to look at, one is we have a very tight points battle for the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship.  The second is that most of our ASA Member Tracks have a very tight points battle of their own," Dennis Huth, ASA President said.  "The names you see in the top-ten now could either move up or down in the standings, or even replaced.  Remember, in order to go for the National Championship you must be the track champion first.  The excitement starts this weekend."

The full standings are available at www.speednetdirect.com

The goal of the ASA Short Track National Championship is to activate a measuring system which takes into account many variables - such as field size, inversion, wins and number of races in a season - and create a level playing field to determine who is the 'best-of-the-best' of the ASA Member Track Champions nationwide.

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, sponsor of the American Speed Association National Short Track National Championship, is the same oil developed and used by Joe Gibbs Racing. The team sells the oil so racers across the country can have access to the latest technology in racing lubricants.

Joe Gibbs Racing is one of the premier organizations in NASCAR, currently fielding three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams, two NASCAR Nationwide Series teams and a driver development program. Based in Huntersville, N.C., and owned by Joe Gibbs - a three-time Super Bowl winner as head coach of the Washington Redskins and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - JGR has competed in NASCAR since 1992, winning three Cup Series championships and more than 80 NASCAR races, including three Brickyard 400s and the 1993 Daytona 500.

The ASA Member Track program is comprised of dirt and asphalt short tracks along with road courses around the United States, as well as a variety of regional and national touring series. For more information, call (386) 258-2221 or send an e-mail to info@asa-racing.com. For news and information from all the racetracks and tours involved in the ASA, visit www.ASA-Racing.com.

ASA™, ASA Racing™ and American Speed Association® are trademarks of Racing Speed Associates, LLC. Racing Speed Associates, LLC is not related to or affiliated with ASA Late Model Series.