This Is It - The Final Week of the ASA
Member Track National Championship Race
Wisconsin, Texas and Virginia Drivers Battle for the Crown
Series PR Report

The eyes will be on three ASA Member Tracks this weekend as Madison International Speedway, Thunderhill Raceway and Lonesome Pine Raceway will have their final eligible events for the 2010 Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship.  The outcome of their races could have an impact on who will be crowned the 2010 National Champion.

This is shaping up to be one of the closest battles in the three year history of the National Championship.  Even though Bryan Wordelman of Rocky Mountain Raceways in West Valley City, UT has the overall lead with a 4.4692.  He and RMR officials are very much aware that they cannot pop the champagne bottle yet as three ASA Member Tracks will be competing this weekend and their results could have an impact on who will be the 2010 champion.

Madison International Speedway in Oregon, WI will complete their two features originally scheduled for September 10th this Friday night.  Jeremy Miller holds a three-point lead over Bobby Wilberg in the Late Model standings at Wisconsin's Fastest Half-Mile oval.  Miller is hoping to defend his 2009 championship while Wilberg will be looking for his 18th championship in his career (11th at Madison alone).

At Thunderhill Raceway in Kyle, TX, Mason Teague and Clint LaFont will battle for their championship all the way to the checkered flag on Saturday night.  The two are currently tied in the ASA A-Line Super Stocks standings.  They will battle it out this Saturday night in a 40-lap feature event.

In the ASA Charger division at Lonesome Pine Raceway in Coeburn, VA, Brad Housewright currently has a 52-point lead over Royce Peters in their standings.  Housewright already has ten wins this season at the 4/10-mile oval.  They will be at it again this Saturday night.

All three tracks must submit their results by 11:59 p.m. Sunday, September 26, 2010 for this weekends results to counted towards the National Championship.  Any results submitted after that time will not be part of the final tally.

ASA officials are already in the process of having each ASA Member Track certify that their results they submitted this season are correct.  Each track must fax their certification back by Wednesday, September 29, 2010.  Once the verification is completed and official, any time after that the ASA office will contact the 2010 champion with an announcement.  Watch the ASA website ( to find out who it will be this year.

It all comes down to what will happen on each track this weekend.  With the unique formula set up to determine the National Champion, it will take more than just winning to have the opportunity of a lifetime, a tryout with Joe Gibbs Racing.

"Everyone is on the edge of their seats, waiting to see what will happen," Dennis Huth, ASA President said.  "When we created the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championshp, this is what we dreamed of, a tight battle where it is going to come down to the final weekend.  We looked at the scenarios and we can't even guess as to who will win.  It's refreshing to a see a pure points system at work.  Everything is based upon all the important factors and leaves the entire championship in the hands of the drivers.  We have to wait and see what will happen this weekend.  If you live near any of these tracks or any ASA Member Track, get out and see what will happen yourself."

You can review the standings at by clicking on the ASA Member Track logo at the top of the page.

The goal of the ASA Short Track National Championship is to activate a measuring system which takes into account many variables - such as field size, inversion, wins and number of races in a season - and create a level playing field to determine who is the 'best-of-the-best' of the ASA Member Track Champions nationwide.

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, sponsor of the American Speed Association National Short Track National Championship, is the same oil developed and used by Joe Gibbs Racing. The team sells the oil so racers across the country can have access to the latest technology in racing lubricants.

Joe Gibbs Racing is one of the premier organizations in NASCAR, currently fielding three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams, two NASCAR Nationwide Series teams and a driver development program. Based in Huntersville, N.C., and owned by Joe Gibbs - a three-time Super Bowl winner as head coach of the Washington Redskins and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - JGR has competed in NASCAR since 1992, winning three Cup Series championships and more than 80 NASCAR races, including three Brickyard 400s and the 1993 Daytona 500.

The ASA Member Track program is comprised of dirt and asphalt short tracks along with road courses around the United States, as well as a variety of regional and national touring series. For more information, call (386) 258-2221 or send an e-mail to For news and information from all the racetracks and tours involved in the ASA, visit

ASA™, ASA Racing™ and American Speed Association® are trademarks of Racing Speed Associates, LLC. Racing Speed Associates, LLC is not related to or affiliated with ASA Late Model Series.