Stroebel has Early Lead in Joe Gibbs Driven
Racing Oil ASA Member Track Championship
National Champion To Get a Test With JGR Team
ASA PR Report

Like the past two seasons, the challenge for the competitors in the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship is they need to first secure their 2010 track championship.  Once they do that, the next challenge is to compete with other ASA Member Track champions for the 2010 national title.

Who is on top of the leaderboard for the National Championship could change on a week to week basis as drivers who may have the point lead at their track one week may not have the lead next week.

Shelby Stroebel, who competes at Meridian Speedway's ASA Modified division currently holds the points lead at the ASA Member Track located in Meridian, ID.  He also is the current point leader with the highest point average in the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship with an average of 1.0630.  He currently has an 11-point lead over Tom Hill in the track standings with two wins so far this season.

Logan Mainella currently has a six-point lead over Brian Malone and Ron Daniel at Orange Show Speedway, an ASA Member Track in San Bernardino, CA. With his slim point lead along with a consistent run at Orange Show, he currently sits in second place in the National Championship standings with an average of 1.0037.

Corey Jankowski leads the points at Dells Raceway Park, an ASA Member Track in Wisconsin Dells, WI holds a 12-point lead over Michael Ehde in the track standings.  The Tomah, WI driver started out his 2010 season with a win and currently has an average of 0.9926 in the National Championship standings.  He is third overall and leads the East Region.

Clint LaFont of Thunderhill Raceway in Kyle, TX and who finished second in last year's National Championship, is fourth overall with an average of 0.9408.  Nick Parker of Rocky Mountain Raceway in West Valley City, UT rounds out the top-five with an average of 0.9354.

One interesting note, as noted above, in order to be in the running for the National Championship, you must also be the track champion.  This could mean that the driver with the highest average may not become the National Champion.  For example, currently Roger Wilson of Rocky Mountain Raceways has the highest overall average of  1.1077 but he is 26 points behind Parker in the track standings.  If Wilson can get the points lead at RMR, he could be right in the hunt for the National Championship.

"I have a feeling we are going an action packed chase to the 2010 Joe Gibbs ASA Member Track National Championship," Dennis Huth, ASA President said.  "That action is going to be at each Member Track as many of the promoters have made changes to help their competitors achieve the goal of becoming a National Champion.  Some have increased the invert of their feature field, with some going to a full invert.  This will create some exciting racing for the fans.  Why are they doing this?  Because one of the factors in the National Championship is how many cars a driver passes in their feature events.  Yes, a win is also important but passing the cars will show how competitive they are and it is something that Joe Gibbs Racing is looking for when the champion comes for their tryout later this year."

Drivers eligible for the National Championship must race weekly at an ASA Member Track along with being the 2010 track champion.  The unique formula used to determine the champion not only includes where they finished but how many positions they moved up in each feature event.  Which will provide the best weekly short track racing action this season. The 2010 National Championship season will end at midnight on Sunday, September 26, 2010.

You can review the standings at by clicking on the ASA Member Track logo at the top of the page.

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, sponsor of the American Speed Association National Short Track National Championship, is the same oil developed and used by Joe Gibbs Racing. The team sells the oil so racers across the country can have access to the latest technology in racing lubricants.

Joe Gibbs Racing is one of the premier organizations in NASCAR, currently fielding three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams, two NASCAR Nationwide Series teams and a driver development program. Based in Huntersville, N.C., and owned by Joe Gibbs - a three-time Super Bowl winner as head coach of the Washington Redskins and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - JGR has competed in NASCAR since 1992, winning three Cup Series championships and more than 80 NASCAR races, including three Brickyard 400s and the 1993 Daytona 500.

The ASA Member Track program is comprised of dirt and asphalt short tracks along with road courses around the United States, as well as a variety of regional and national touring series. For more information, call (386) 258-2221 or send an e-mail to For news and information from all the racetracks and tours involved in the ASA, visit

ASA™, ASA Racing™ and American Speed Association® are trademarks of Racing Speed Associates, LLC. Racing Speed Associates, LLC is not related to or affiliated with ASA Late Model Series, LLC.