Race is Heating Up for Joe Gibbs Driven Racing
Oil ASA Member Track National Championship
Texan LaFont Leads in West Region,
Broughton Leads in East Region
ASA PR Report

The margin is only 0.0941 between first and fourth in the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship.  The top-four includes the top-two in the East Region and the top-two in the West Region.

"I realize that this is early, but wow this is going to be interesting to see how this develops for the rest of the season," Dennis Huth, ASA President said.  "All I can say the race is on and this will be edge on the seat competition at its best."

Clint LaFont of Thunderhill Raceway in Kyle, TX still holds the overall lead in the West Region with a point average of 1.4989.  Thomas Hill, the current points leader at Meridian Speedway in Meridian, ID is not that far behind with an average of 1.4578.  Scott Broughton from Madison International Speedway in Oregon, WI leads the West Region with an average of 1.4078.  Corey Jankowski of Dells Raceway Park in Wisconsin Dells, WI is not that far behind with an average of 1.4048. 

Broughton and Jankowski are the top-two when you look at all of the driver's averages in the East Region.  Both are also the current points leaders at their respective tracks.

Over on the West Region, the battle for the points lead at Rocky Mountain Raceway and Meridian Speedway is making a huge difference in how the overall standings is looking so far. 

Remembering that only the 2010 track champions will be eligible for the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship, both Rocky Mountain and Meridian have a tight points battle at each track where the one who ends up on top of their standings may not be the one with the highest average.

For example, at Meridian Speedway, Thomas Hill has a 43-point lead over Shelby Stroebel in their standings.  But Stroebel has an average of 1.4777 where Hill has an average of 1.4578.

Rocky Mountain Raceways had a rainout this past weekend, and as we noted last week, Roger Wilson, who is sixth in points at RMR, has the highest average in the West Region.  Nick Parker, who is 12th in the West Region, is the points leader and if the championship ended today, his average would be factored in to who represents RMR for the National Championship.  If Wilson was in the points lead, he would have the overall lead in the National Championship with an average of 1.5628.

We still have the rest of the Summer for this to shake up until the September 26, 2010 deadline.

You can view the standings at www.speednetdirect.com.

Drivers eligible for the National Championship must race weekly at an ASA Member Track along with being the 2010 track champion.  The unique formula used to determine the champion not only includes where they finished but how many positions they moved up in each feature event.  Which will provide the best weekly short track racing action this season. The 2010 National Championship season will end at midnight on Sunday, September 26, 2010.

You can review the standings at www.speednetdirect.com by clicking on the ASA Member Track logo at the top of the page.

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, sponsor of the American Speed Association National Short Track National Championship, is the same oil developed and used by Joe Gibbs Racing. The team sells the oil so racers across the country can have access to the latest technology in racing lubricants.

Joe Gibbs Racing is one of the premier organizations in NASCAR, currently fielding three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams, two NASCAR Nationwide Series teams and a driver development program. Based in Huntersville, N.C., and owned by Joe Gibbs - a three-time Super Bowl winner as head coach of the Washington Redskins and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - JGR has competed in NASCAR since 1992, winning three Cup Series championships and more than 80 NASCAR races, including three Brickyard 400s and the 1993 Daytona 500.

The ASA Member Track program is comprised of dirt and asphalt short tracks along with road courses around the United States, as well as a variety of regional and national touring series. For more information, call (386) 258-2221 or send an e-mail to info@asa-racing.com. For news and information from all the racetracks and tours involved in the ASA, visit www.ASA-Racing.com.

ASA™, ASA Racing™ and American Speed Association® are trademarks of Racing Speed Associates, LLC. Racing Speed Associates, LLC is not related to or affiliated with ASA Late Model Series.