ARCA Rookie Dakoda Armstrong
Earns Menards Pole at Talladega
Mikey Kile Will Also Start on Front Row
Series PR Report
Dakoda Armstrong, driver of the No. 22 Cunningham Motorsports Dodge, completed a qualifying lap at the 2.66-mile Talladega Superspeedway in 51.346 seconds (186.499 mph) Thursday to earn the Menards Pole Award Presented by Ansell and the first starting spot for Friday's Talladega ARCA 250.

The pole is the first for the 18-year-old Armstrong, who was seventh in line for the qualifying session. His previous best start in ARCA Racing Series competition came earlier this year at Daytona, where he started fourth. Armstrong will receive 15 bonus points in the ARCA Racing Series championship standings for qualifying first.

Armstrong had already proved his superspeedway might earlier in the day by finishing second in the opening practice behind Steve Arpin and the No. 55 Mike's Hard Lemonade Toyota.

Though he acknowledged that a top starting position may not be as important in a long event on a pass-heavy, competitive track like Talladega, Armstrong did not discount the significance of winning the pole.

"It means we have the fastest car," said the Penske Racing developmental driver. "Now it'd just be great if I could lead 94 laps like that."

Mikey Kile rebounded swiftly after changing a motor late in Thursday's practice. Driving the No. 25 Tag Heuer Eyewear Toyota as the 26th car in the session, Kile turned a lap in 51.419 seconds (186.235 mph) to take the second starting spot.

"I'm not worried about the motors," Kile said. "Toyota has built us good engines and we'll have the chance to run up front, so I'm not too worried."

Kile's position on the front row gives him 10 bonus points, meaning third qualifier and current series runner-up Justin Marks (51.513 seconds/185.895 mph) scored just five points for his third position. This leaves Steve Arpin, who led by 10 points after his win at Texas Motor Speedway, as the series points leader.

The Talladega ARCA 250 will take the green flag Friday at 4 p.m. Central, with live broadcast coverage provided by SPEED. More information is available on the Web at

ARCA Racing Series presented by RE/MAX and Menards
Talladega Superspeedway
Starting Grid, Talladega ARCA 250 (4-23-10)

122Dakoda Armstrong/New Castle IN51.346186.499
225Mikey Kile/Westlake LA51.419186.235
332Justin Marks/Rocklin CA51.513185.895
431Tim George Jr./New York NY51.514185.891
555Steve Arpin/Fort Frances Ontario51.537185.808
677Tom Hessert/Cherry Hill NJ51.625185.492
751James Buescher/Plano TX51.668185.337
809Grant Enfinger/Fairhope AL51.696185.237
930Terry Jones/McGregor Ontario51.721185.147
1035Hal Martin/Galliano LA51.732185.108
1115Alli Owens/Daytona Beach FL51.764184.993
1266Mark Thompson/Cartersville GA51.807184.840
135Bobby Gerhart/Lebanon PA51.840184.722
144Ricky Carmichael/Tallahassee FL51.877184.590
1560Patrick Sheltra/Indiantown FL51.918184.445
1616Joey Coulter/Miami Springs FL51.920184.438
171Chad McCumbee/Supply NC51.962184.289
186Brandon McReynolds/Mooresville NC51.986184.203
1975Benny Chastain/Tallahassee FL51.992184.182
2011Bryan Silas/Stuart FL52.023184.072
2136Robb Brent/Shelby Township MI52.094183.822
2281Craig Goess/Greenville NC52.340182.958
2344Frank Kimmel/Clarksville IN52.384182.804
2452Bill Baird/Sturgis KY52.412182.706
2582Sean Corr/Goshen NY52.497182.410
2643Kyle Martel/Lebanon PA52.554182.213
2738Alex Kennedy/Aztec NM52.715181.656
2842Scott Stenzel/Orlando FL52.848181.199
2914Chase Mattioli/Long Pond PA52.928180.925
3076Jerick Johnson/Faribault MN53.090180.373
3159Nick Igdalsky/Long Pond PA53.600178.657
3248James Hylton/Inman SC53.712178.284
3323Mark Gibson/Winder GAProvisional
3434Darrell Basham/Henryville INProvisional
3528Brent Cross/Cortland NYProvisional
3626Brad Smith/Shelby Township MIProvisional
3706Wayne Peterson/Pulaski TNProvisional
3810Marc Easton/Lake Saranac NYProvisional
3968Larry Meadors/Louisville KYProvisional
400Rob Jones/Bowie MDProvisional
4158Chad Hackenbracht/New Philadelphia OHProvisional
4294Jason Basham/Henryville INProvisional