ACT Makes Switch to Electronic Timing and Scoring
Thunder Road Events Also Get Technology Upgrade
Series PR Report
The American Canadian Tour (ACT) announced today that all racing in the 2010 season will be done with electronic scoring. This will include weekly events at Thunder Road, both the ACT US and Castrol Tours, and the Bond Auto/WIX Tiger Sportsman Series.

“This is a real change from 50 years of how it has been done,” said Tom Curley, President of ACT and Managing Partner at Thunder Road. “I guess after 50 years it was inevitable that we needed to step up to the modern technology. I am sure Doc (Gordon Nielsen, Chief Scorer for Thunder Road, the former Catamount Stadium, and all the ACT Tours for over 35 years) would approve of this move at this time.”

With the high demands of three Tours and Thunder Road weekly, it has been increasingly difficult to find scorers. For some of the ACT senior scorers, as young as they are, having babies also necessitated this change.

After having many concerns identified and discussed, ACT is satisfied that the same race and scoring procedures will be in place regarding yellows, going back laps or keeping laps, finish procedures, etc. All teams in all divisions will be required to rent transponders per event for 2010. This system will be on a lease basis for the initial season. The cost will be $10 per team per event and will be automatically deducted from purses.

Teams will also have available recorded practice lap times and end of race results.

The first event under the new electronic scoring system will be at the Lee USA Speedway on opening day of the 2010 US ACT schedule, Sunday, April 18th. Over 50 teams are expected to attempt qualifying for the 30 available feature spots in the annual Governor’s Cup 150 lap run. The winner will also be the first official entrant for the second ACT Invitational September 18th, at NHMS, the first weekend of NASCAR’s Chase for the Sprint Cup. Past winners of the ACT Lee opening event include defending event champion Brad Leighton, Joey Pole, and Cris Michaud.