51's Weekend Update
Who Has Been Winning This Weekend
Compiled From Various Series and Track PR Reports
Updated - Sunday, August 30th, 10:00pm ET

ACT LATE MODELS / ACT CASTROL SÉRIE - The Showdown at Chaudiere at the Autodrome Chaudière (Vallée-Jonction, QC) was postponed Saturday due to weather.

On Sunday, Milton’s Brent Dragon dominates the final half of the second annual Showdown at Chaudiere 200 at Autodrome Chaudiere and leads the U.S. team to the overall victory. The first 91 laps saw a battle between former Serie ACT Castrol champion Karl Allard and current ACT Tour point leader Scott Payea.

The two swapped the lead a total of five times before Dragon took the lead from Payea on lap 92. Dragon came from the ninth starting position to lead the final 109 laps of the 200 lap event. The U.S. team took 7 of the top 10 positions on its way to taking the team win for the second year in a row.

The race was slowed by only 5 cautions and took just over an hour to complete. Dragon has already qualified for the ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 19.

1) Brent Dragon  2) Scott Payea  3) Randy Potter  4) Donald Theetge  5) Pete Potvin, III

SUPER DIRTCAR SERIES - After a month and a half of misfortune, reigning Mr. DIRTcar points king Billy Decker was finally on the receiving end as he cashed in on the $17,500 top prize following his second career win in the ‘Mr. DIRT Track, USA’ title event presented by Budweiser and Hoosier on Thursday night at Lebanon Valley Speedway.

Integra Shocks Fast Timer Decker shadowed the leaders throughout the race before taking advantage of a blown rear-end on the car of front-runner Jimmy Phelps with just four laps to go before cruising on to half-track victory on the high-banked half-miler.

1) Billy Decker 2) Eddie Marshall  3) Matt Sheppard  4) Donnie Corellis  5) Jeff Brownell

ARCA RE/MAX SERIES - ARCA RE/MAX Series veteran Justin Lofton, in the Lofton Cattle Toyota, held off rookie Grant Enfinger in a last-lap shootout to win the Ansell Cut Protection 150 Friday night at Chicagoland Speedway.

Lofton had 17 lead-lap cars in his rearview mirror for the final restart, which came on lap 99 of the 100-lap, 150-mile race.

"At that last restart, honestly, the only thing I was thinking was ‘oh dang' because I had acquired a little bit of a lead there and I knew that there were some pretty strong cars behind me," said Lofton. "It was great during that race to be able to battle against some of those guys for the lead, especially Brian Ickler because I grew up racing with him and to race him in the ARCA RE/MAX Series and come out ahead feels pretty good to me."

1) Justin Lofton 2) Grant Enfinger 3) Hal Martin 4) Brian Ickler 5) Frank Kimmel

ASA LATE MODEL SOUTH SERIES - Colt James took the victory at Concord Speedway (NC) on Saturday, August 29th.

ASA SOUTHEAST ASPHALT TOUR  - The ASA SAT tour cancelled the Saturday race at Watermelon Capital Speedway (GA) earlier in the week due to financial / sponsorship woes.

NASCAR CANADIAN TIRE SERIES  - For the second straight NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 event, Alex Tagliani will start on the pole. The native of Lachenaie, Que., logged the fastest time in qualifying for the NAPA Autopro 100 at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

Tagliani (No. 81 H. Gregoire/Monsieur Muffler Chevrolet) navigated the 14-turn, 2.73-mile temporary street course in 106.801 seconds for an average lap speed of 91.347 mph for his second career series pole.

The session was run under dry conditions after the morning practice session saw a wet track with wet tires mounted on the cars. The times during practice were well off the pace from previous events at the track, but qualifying times were right in line with prior results.

Starting alongside Tagliani on the front row will be Kerry Micks (No. 02 Beyond Digital Imaging Ford), who posted a time of 107.147 seconds (91.052 mph).

The second row consists of the only two champions in series history. Current point standings leader and 2007 series title winner Andrew Ranger (No. 27 Walmart/Tide Ford) timed in at 107.358 seconds (90.874 mph). Defending series champion Scott Steckly (No. 22 Canadian Tire/Tow Truck in a Box Dodge) logged the fourth-fastest time at 107.389 seconds (90.847 mph).

Rounding out the top-five qualifiers was JR Fitzpatrick (No. 84 Schick Chevrolet) with a time of 107.667 seconds (90.613 mph).

The NAPA Autopro 100 is scheduled to take the green flag at 11:45 a.m. ET. RDS will provide live coverage of the race beginning at 11:30 a.m.

NASCAR WHELEN MODIFIED TOUR SCHEDULE  - Due to a forecast for heavy rain Friday and Saturday, NASCAR and Chemung Speedrome officials have decided to postpone Saturday night’s NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Chemung 120.

A makeup date for the event will be announced at a later date.

With this postponement, up next for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will be the Budweiser 150 at Thompson International Speedway on Thursday, Sept. 3. The second of three trips for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to Thompson was originally scheduled for Aug. 13 but was moved because of weather.

NASCAR WHELEN SOUTHERN MODIFIED TOUR  - It has been long overdue for 2008 NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour champion Brian Loftin.

Loftin made a strong pass by L.W. Miller to take the lead on Lap 72 and held off current championship points leader George Brunnhoelzl III on a green-white-checkered finish to win the Caraway 150 Saturday night.

Loftin’s previous series win was at Caraway Speedway just over a year ago.

Following Brunnhoelzl was Andy Suess in third and L.W. Miller in fourth. John Smith completed the top five.

PASS Late Model Truck Tour - Jody Measamer drove to victory lane in the PASS Truck Series feature at Hickory Motor Speedway (NC) on Saturday night.

PASS SOUTH SUPER LATE MODELS - Chase Elliott and Jeff Choquette were both supposed to be somewhere else.   Both drivers were planning on racing in the ASA Southeast Asphalt Tour event at Watermelon Capital Speedway (GA), but due to yet another cancellation of a race by ASA SAT due to sponsor woes, both drivers decided to race in the PASS South Super Late Model Series at Hickory Motor Speedway (NC), and as they battled hard over the last few laps, Elliott came out on top as the victor and the invader of a series that might eventually become home for the 14-year-old racer.

1) Elliott 2) Choquette 3) Cassius Clark 4) Bradley McCaskill 5) Andy Loden


PRO CHALLENGE - NORTH  - The Pro Challenge North Region was scheduled to race at Newport Speedway (TN) on Saturday, August 30th.

PRO CHALLENGE - SOUTH  - The Pro Challenge South Region was scheduled to race at Lanier National Speedway (GA) on Saturday, August 30th.

PRO CHALLENGE - CANADA REGION  - The Pro Challenge Canada Region was scheduled to race at Sunset Speedway on Saturday, August 30th.

ROCKY MOUNTAIN CHALLENGE SERIES  - Craig Bell won the 100-lap event at Meridian Speedway on Saturday, August 29th.

1) Bell 2) Jeff Jefferson 3) John Dillon4) John Nesmith 5) Dylan Caldwell

TEXAS SUPER RACING SERIES (TSRS) LATE MODELS  - The TSRS Late Models “Rusty Bush Memorial 75″ will be the featured event of the evening at Thunderhill Raceway on Saturday, August 29th.

TRUE VALUE MODIFIED RACING SERIES  - On his father Steve's 50th birthday, Andy Seuss drove the family's #70 Modified to victory in the True Value Modified Racing Series 75-lap event on Thursday night, August 27th, at Thompson International Speedway (CT). 

1) Seuss 2) Richard Savary 3) Todd Owen 4) Ted Christopher 5) Chris Pasteryak

UARA-STARS  - Jamey Caudill went to victory lane in the UARA-STARS Late Model Stock Car race at Newport Speedway (TN) on Saturday, August 29th.

1) Caudill 2) Kevin Leicht 3) Matt McCall 4) Kyle Grissom 5) Brennan Poole