51's Weekend Update
Who Has Been Winning This Weekend
Compiled From various Series and Track PR Reports
Updated - Monday, July 6th, 9:15am ET

ACT Quebec Series -  The Series ACT Castrol Montmagny 250 scheduled for Saturday, July 4th at Autodrome Montmagny has been postponed until Satuday, August 1st due to expected heavy rains. The Montmagny 250 was scheduled to be the sixth event on the Series ACT Castrol 250 and the second trip to the 1/3 mile speedplant.

The Series ACT competitors now have the entire month of July off until the August 1st make-up. However, many of them are expected to defend their Canadian turf when the ACT Tour visits Frazerville, Ontario’s Kawartha Speedway on Sunday, July 12th. Point leader Donald Theetge along with other Series ACT Castrol front runners Patrick Laperle, Karl Allard, Jean-François Déry and Trampas Demers among others are expected to take on ACT Tour’s top dogs including point leader Scott Payea, Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Randy Potter, John Donahue and Brian Hoar to name a few.

Also expected to make a strong showing are Ontario drivers Justin Holtom, Spencer MacPherson, Dan McHattie, Brandon Watson, Tom Walters and Sean Kennedy. Kennedy has already qualified for the ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on September 19th by winning the Series ACT Castrol Toromont CAT 100 at Capital City Speedway earlier this season.

More than 40 competitors total are expected from Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, Quebec and Ontario for the Summer Sizzler 200 at Kawartha Speedway in Fraserville, ON. Post time is 1:30pm.

ASA Late Models - Brandon Johnson won his first ASA Late Model Challenge Series event at Rockingham Speedway (NC).  Johnson took the lead just after the 50 lap mark and went on to score the win.  Brian Campbell overcame a 14th starting spot to finish second, Dillon Olliver, Jack Smith and Brent Downley rounded out the top five. 

ASA Midwest Tour - Steve Carlson captured his sixth, third in a row, Keith Fleck Miller 100 at Hawkeye Downs Speedway in Cedar Rapids, IA. It is also his third American Speed Association Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment series win of the season holding off a star studed field of Midwest drivers including the current NASCAR Camping World Truck Series points leader.

1) Carlson  2)  Mark Kraus  3) Nathan Haseleu  4) Blake Brown  5) Chris Wimmer

Carquest Maritimes Pro Stock Tour - Shawn Tucker of Fredericton, NB in his Rockico Truck & Trailer Chevrolet Impala SS won the Forbes Chevrolet 100 at Scotia Speedworld, located near Halifax, NS on Sunday afternoon. Tucker won with a 0.018 second margin of victory over John Flemming of Halifax, NS. Wayne Smith from Timberlea, NS finished third. Shawn Turple of Enfield, NS and Dave O’Blenis of Boundary Creek, NB rounded out the top five.

CRA Super Series - Mike Kugler started back in the pack and moved up through the field before nearly spinning saving it and then coming back to win the CRA Super Series, EMF 125.  Scott Hantz took the lead from early race leader Aaron Pierce on the 47th lap but fell back at the end as his tires wore.  Kugler moved past Hantz on the 101st lap on his way to his first CRA Super Series victory. 

1) Kugler  2) Jack Landis  3) Derek Bischak  4) Scott Hantz  5) Jason Shively

Georgia Asphalt Series - Paul Kelley held off Russell Fleeman for the second straight week at Lanier National Speedway (GA).  Last week, Kelley won the ASA SAT race, this week it was the GAS race.

Ken-Ten Series - Sammy Sanders swept both ends of a Ken-Ten doubleheader at Beech Bend Speedway (KY) on Saturday.

Late Model Stock - Nick Smith of Hampton, Va. cashed in on his third win of the season and his biggest-ever South Boston Speedway prize here Friday night in the Bailey’s Late Model 200 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division race at South Boston Speedway.

Smith, in a dominating performance, led all 200 laps of the 200-lap race and drove away from the field in a 53-lap green-flag sprint to the finish. He finished 3.018 seconds ahead of runner-up David Quackenbush of Lorton, Va. to take the $5,000 first prize.

NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour - George Brunnhoelzl III avoided a spinning race leader L.W. Miller on lap 113 and took the lead for good on lap 119 en route to winning the Firecracker 150 Friday night at Caraway Speedway.

It was the second career NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour win for the third-generation driver and first since last season at Lanier National Speedway.

Frank Fleming (No. 40 Jerry Hunt Automotive/Pro Health Systems Pontiac) followed in second and Seuss (No. 47 Advance Auto Parts/Q Racing Oil/Stuart Automotive Dodge) was third. Ron Silk and Brian Loftin rounded out the top five.

Outlaw Figure 8 Series - Eddie VanMeter used patience and experience to his advantage to claim the International Outlaw Figure 8 Series (IOFS) event at Anderson Speedway Friday night. It was VanMeter's first career IOFS victory and he becomes the third different winner in as many events thus far in 2009.

PASS South Super Late Model Series - Jay Fogleman has won the Firecracker 125 PASS South Super Late Model event on Friday night at Greenville-Pickens Speedway (SC).  Speed51.com was on hand to give the event our Trackside Now treatment:


PASS South Super Late Model Series - Justin Wakefield has won the Independence 150 PASS South Super Late Model event on Sunday at Hickory Motor Speedway.  Speed51.com was on hand to give the event our Trackside Now treatment:


Pro Challenge - Mother Nature finally allowed the Pro Challenge North Region to get on track at Concord Speedway's quarter-mile track on Wednesday July 1st and Stephen Bergh, Jr. took down the checkers.

Super Late Models - Tim Russell won Thursday night's Clyde Hart Memorial at New Smyrna Speedway (FL). 

1) Russell  2) Jeff Choquette  3) Jeremy Colangelo  4) Wayne Anderson  5) Rich Clouser

True Value Modified Racing Series - Kirk Alexander won Saturday night's show at Monadnock Speedway (NH).

World of Outlaw Sprint Cars - Danny Lasoski and his Parsons Motorsports team have one single goal when they pull into a race track and that is to win races. After a slow start to the 2009 World of Outlaws season they are not worried about points, but rather adding more victories to the win column. The 2001 series champion was successful at this on Saturday night, as he dominated the A-Feature in the Eagle Nationals at Eagle Raceway in Nebraska, scoring the victory.

For Lasoski, it was his third of the season with the World of Outlaws and his second in the last three races. It was the 84th A-Feature triumph of his career the series, and he has now visited the winner's circle at Eagle Raceway three times.

For Weekly Racing winners at short tracks across the land, check out Speed51.com's new feature, Grassroots Racing Recap, by clicking right here.