51's Weekend Update
Who Has Been Winning This Weekend
Compiled From various Series and Track PR Reports
Updated - Sunday, 4-12-09, 2:45pm

ASA Southeast Asphalt Tour - Shane Sawyer won Saturday night’s ASA Matt Hawkins Memorial 100 at Lanier National Speedway.

1) Sawyer  2) Paul Kelley  3) Jason Hogan  4) Michael Lance  5) Lee Langford

Blizzard Super Late Model Series - Johanna Long won her first career Blizzard Series race on Friday night at Five Flags Speedway (FL).

1) Long  2) Bubba Pollard  3) Ryan Sieg  4) Ryan Lawler  5) Ryan Crane


Brighthouse Super Late Model Series - Wayne Anderson won Saturday night's Brighthouse Challenge Series Super Late Model race over Tim Russell, Daniel Johnson, David Rogers and Rich Clouser.

Modifieds - Despite the desire to hold out as long as possible, Wall Stadium (NJ) promoter Jim Morton says that he has no choice but to rain out the practice session that was scheduled for Saturday April 11. Morton hopes to be able to offer some additional practice time for racers before this Saturday night’s (April 18) “Thunder at the Shore” season opener. More information on that practice time will be available soon.

NASCAR Camping World East Series - Brian Ickler is hoping to use the NASCAR Camping World Series East as a launching pad. Performances like Saturday night at historic Greenville Pickens Speedway certainly don’t hurt his cause, as Ickler led nearly every lap from start to finish in winning the season opening NASCAR Home Tracks 150 presented by Kevin Whitaker Chevrolet.

Ickler recorded his fourth career NASCAR Camping World Series East victory and seventh NASCAR Camping World Series victory overall.

Veteran Jody Lavender scored a career-best second-place finish, while Eddie MacDonald finished third. Josh Richards and Brett Moffitt, both making their first career NASCAR starts, rounded out the top five.

Ickler qualified second behind Coors Light Pole Award winner Moffitt. A multi-car accident in Turn 1 on the start of the race caused a lengthy red flag, and on the race’s restart, Ickler got the jump on Moffitt and quickly began to pull away from the field

MacDonald, restarting on the outside of the front row, briefly took the lead by a nose on three restarts. Each time however, Ickler erased the lead and pulled out to a commanding lead.

Patrick Long, Steve Park, Matt Kobyluck, Alan Tardiff, and Matt DiBenedetto completed the top 10.

NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour - Ted Christopher didn’t think he had enough car left at the end but he was able to hold off a hard-charging Andy Seuss Saturday in the Caraway Speedway (NC) 150 to get his second win of the year on the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour.

1) Christopher  2) Seuss  3) Brian Loftin  4) Ronnie Silk  5) Frank Fleming

PASS South Super Late Models - Ben Rowe has now won the first two PASS South Super Late Model events of the 2009 season.  His latest victory came on Saturday night in the Easter Bunny 150 at Hickory Motor Speedway. 

Jeff Fultz, Aric Almirola, Ryan Blaney and Trey Mitchell rounded out the top five finishers.


Pro Challenge - Friday's Pro Challenge Series event at Tri County Motor Speedway was rained out.  The event will be rescheduled on May 22nd.

Super Late Models - Bubba Pollard won Saturday night's opening race of the Miller Lite Super Late Model Series at Mobile International Speedway.

1) Pollard  2) Ryan Lawler  3) Johanna Long  4) Augie Grill  5) Jeremy Colangelo

UARA-Stars - Friday's UARA-Stars event at Tri County Motor Speedway was rained out.  The event will be rescheduled on May 22nd.