Jamey Caudill Wins Newport UARA-Stars Race
Late Model Series Spends Time in Volunteer State
UARA-Stars PR Report
Jamey Caudill brought home the checkered flag in the UARA-Stars race at Newport Speedway (TN) on Saturday night.

Caudill began the race on the pole but he had to hustle for the win.  Caudill started from the Sunoco Pole position with series point leader Matt McCall on the KLB Race Cars & Parts outside pole.  The stage is set and the show is on.  With nasty weather all around the fans still filled the stands for a show they new would be well worth toughing it out for. 

McCall takes the lead for the first seven laps then Caudill takes the point from there followed by McCall, Paddy Rodenbeck, Kevin Leicht, Kyle Grissom, Brennan Poole, Stephen Gahagan, Brandon McReynolds, Matt Leicht and Lee Tissot rounding out the top ten.  The action is fierce and these young men do not want to give up anything.  Paddy Rodenbeck, Kevin Leicht, Kyle Grissom and Brennan Poole have all passed McCall by lap 25.  Coleman Pressley is twelfth at this time but will be in tenth by lap 30.  Coleman Pressley is driving hard and is determined to get to the front from his 15th place starting position.

Kevin Leicht is aggressive as he puts the bumper to Paddy Rodenbeck on lap 36 and passes him for second followed by Kyle Grissom dropping Rodenbeck back to fourth. 

Lap 39 things change for Coleman Pressley as he spins in turn three bringing out the first caution of the night. Rodenbeck will head to the pits for attention at this time. Coleman Pressley's cousin Kaleb Pressley will receive the lucky dog at this time.

Back to green it is still Caudill leading the way.  Lee Tissot is slowing and appears to be having problems with the Mitch West/Austin Green machine.  Tissot will hit the pits on lap 48. Scottie Hicks came to his crew's attention on lap 47 thru lap 54. 

One third way thru the race it is Caudill, Kevin Leicht, Grissom, Poole, McCall, Gahagan, Grissom, Garrett Campbell, Jake Crum and Matt Leicht as the top ten.  Matt Leicht will pass Campbell for eighth by lap 64 and McReynolds for seventh by lap 76.

Kevin Leicht takes over first on lap 86 and will remain there until lap 148.  Caution two comes out on lap 110 as Scott Turlington and Ryan Gray spin in turn one.  The field will have a short green then is red flagged for rain.  The green flies for the final time on lap 144 and the battle pursues.  Kevin Leicht is still out front but Caudill makes his pass on lap 148 and brings home his second win of 2009 and his 13th career UARA victory.

Young Brennan Poole will come home with his fourth Rookie of the Race award.

Paddy Rodenbeck will be the Aluminum Racing Products Hard Luck Winner.

Jamey Caudill will claim the B Square Janitorial Clean Sweep Award and Long Brothers Racing will claim the Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race award.  Caudill will also receive the G-Force shift of the Race Award for his slick move on Kevin Leicht to claim the victory.

Jamey Caudill in victory lane.  (UARA Photo)