Getting Up to Speed on The Holiday Happenings by Mike Twist
Showdown, Schedules, CRA, Pro Late Models, Bobsleds and a Few Races All Make News

The entry list for the  NASCAR Camping World Series Toyota All-Star Showdown to be held on January 23rd and 24th at Toyota Speedway in Irwindale, California is growing by the day.
NASCAR Truck Series drivers Ron Hornaday, Jr. and Matt Crafton have both entered the event which will showcase the best drivers and teams from the NASCAR Camping World East and Camping World West Series.

Hornaday also plans to compete in the companion Super Late Model race as part of the Showdown Weekend.

Both nights of racing will be televised live from Irwindale on SPEED TV.


There was actually some racing that took place over the holidays and the conditions couldn't have been more varied.

Right after Christmas, the Pre-Hangover 150 took place at the snow-covered Riverside Speedway in Groveton, New Hampshire.   The race was won by Troy Randall.

On New Year's Day, the action was further south and there was no snow on the track as Rockingham Speedway hosted their first ever Polar Bear 150.  Over 60 Street Stocks entered the race and Chuck Barnes, Sr. won the affair with his son, Super Late Model standout Chuck Barnes, Jr. serving as his crew chief.  The winning ride was a 1984 Monte Carlo.

Anthony White, Clint Watkins, Timothy Jenson and Tony Conway rounded out the top five finishers. will have more on that race this coming week.
Loftin, Bagwell and Morris placed eighth, ninth and tenth respectively in the 12-racer field of oval track and NHRA drag racers.


NASCAR released their 2009 schedules for the East and West versions of the Campign World Series over the holidays.

NASCAR Camping World East Series, 2009 Schedule -

Sat., April 11 - Greenville-Pickens Speedway (SC)
Sat., April 25  - Tri-County Motor Speedway (NC)
Sun., May 17 - Iowa Speedway
Sat., May 30 - South Boston Speedway (VA)
Sat., June 6 - Watkins Glen International (NY)
Fri., June 26 - New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Sat., July 11- Thompson International Speedway (CT)
Sat., July 18 - Music City Motorplex (TN)
Sat., Aug. 1 - Adirondack International Speedway (NY)
Sat., Aug. 15 - Lime Rock Park (CT)
Fri., Sept. 18 - New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Fri., Sept. 25  - Dover International Speedway (DE)

Brian Loftin takes a ride on a bobsled at Lake Placid.  (NASCAR Photo)
Over this past weekend, the Super Late Models hit the track at New Smyrna Speedway for the Red Eye 125.  It was no surprise that Tim Russell mastered the event.  He crossed the finish line first and was followed by Wayne Anderson, Mike Skinner, David Rogers and Matt Bowers


Short trackers  Brian Loftin, Danny Bagwell abd Philip Morris all took part in the Whelen Geoff Bodine Bobsled Challenge championship Sunday at the Olympic Sports Complex in Lake Placid, New York.  But it was Truck Series regular Todd Bodine who came out on top by winning the event over Joey Logano. 

NASCAR Camping World West Series, 2009 Schedule -

Sat., March 14 - Thunder Hill Raceway (TX)
Sat., April 4 - All American Speedway (CA)
Thur., April 16 - Phoenix International Raceway (AZ)
Sat., April 25 - Madera Speedway (CA)
Sun., May 17 - Iowa Speedway
Sat., June 6 - Douglas County Speedway (OR)
Sat., June 20 - Infineon Raceway (CA)
Sat., July 4 - Toyota Speedway at Irwindale (CA)
Sun., July 19 - Portland International Raceway (OR)
Sat., Aug. 1 - Miller Motorsports Park (UT)
Sat., Aug. 15 - Colorado National Speedway
Fri., Sept. 4 - Iowa Speedway
Sat., Sept. 19 - All American Speedway (CA)


The CRA Super Series made a trio of announcements over the holidays....

- The CRA Super Series will continue to be a part of the big July 4th Holiday Weekend of racing at Angola Motor Speedway located in Angola, Indiana in 2009. The CRA Super Series has been a part of that big racing event at Angola Motor Speedway for several seasons. That weekend is traditionally the biggest weekend of racing each season at the beautiful 3/8-mile facility owned by Angola businessman Dick Poe. Fellow local businessman Craig Everage has leased the facility to promote races for the 2009 season, running a schedule of special events called the Wide Open Tour.

- CRA Super Series officials have announced that ButlerBuilt Professional Seat
Systems has agreed to continue their sponsorship of the CRA Super Series for the
2009 race season. ButlerBuilt will award the 14th and 15th place finishers at each
CRA Super Series event with $50 Product Certificates. In addition ButlerBuilt will
award a Racing Seat by random draw of the top 15 drivers in final 2009 CRA Super
Series points at the 2009 Champion Racing Association Awards Banquet.

J.R Roahrig's name was randomly drawn to win the seat at the 2007 Awards Banquet
last January, that seat is now in his son Tyler's CRA Super Series car. The 2008
season winner will be drawn at the January 10th 2008 CRA Awards Banquet at the
Hoosier Park Casino & Racing in Anderson, Indiana.

-  Champion Racing Association officials have announced that Racing Electronics will
continue their support of the CRA Super Series and the Howe CRA Late Model
Sportsman Series for the 2009 racing season. Racing Electronics has been involved
with the CRA Super Series since it's beginning in 1997. Racing Electronics will continue to be the Official Radio Supplier of Champion Racing Association and the CRA Super Series in 2009 including its newest venture CRA South that was announced this week. Racing Electronics will also continue its sponsorship of two awards with the CRA Super Series and with CRA South in 2009.

Racing Electronics will award a $50 Product Certificate at each CRA Super Series and CRA South event to the second place finisher for the Racing Electronics Second To None Award and to the driver advancing the most positions for the Racing Electronics Hardcharger Award. In addition Racing Electronics will award a $100 Product Certificate to the driver finishing second in the final 2009 series points for the Racing Electronics Second To None Season Award and a $100 Product Certificate to the driver advancing the most positions during the 2009 race season for the Racing Electronics Season Hardcharger Award.


GAS, ASA SAT and SPLMS....there will be plenty of choices for Pro Late Model competitors in 2009.  One of the three competing tours, the Southern Pro Late Model Series, issued a press release ont heir latest developments over the holidays.

"Officials at the new Southern Pro Late Model Series are pleased to announce the launching of their website. will be the place to go for news and  information about the new asphalt late model series. "

"We are fine tuning the rules and a schedule will be out in the next couple weeks," said Vince Whitmire, Director of the series. Registration information is also available. Racers and fans are encouraged to check the website frequently for updates."

Ron Hornaday hopes to bag a victory in the All-Star Showdown at Irwindale.   (NASCAR Photo)
There have been a few announcements from CRA over the holidays.  (51 Photo)