Second Annual DT 100 Kart Race is Set For February
Tickets Are On Now Sale For Indoor Race To Be Held in Portland, ME - Drivers Entered Include Rowe, Clark, Santoses, Seuss & More
Event PR Report

On February 20th, the long cold winter in Portland, Maine will heat up once again as the 2nd Annual "DT 100" prepares to invade the Victory Lane Indoor Karting asphalt oval once again! The "DT 100" for Make-A-Wish is charity go kart event created and promoted by New Hampshire motorsports graphic artist Dave Thomas, Jr. as a way to put a group of lucky racefans not only in the driver's seat, but against some of the top racing talent from New England, New York, and the midwest!

The group's first event was an overwhelming success! Close to 60 of motorsports top drivers and racefans competed in a complex series of qualifying events to narrow down the large roster to a mere dozen spots in the 100 lap A-Main Feature event. When the checkered flag dropped, it was actually a NON-racer that won the monumental battle! Sanford, Maine's Mike Recine brought his #41 kart into the winner's circle! Recine was flanked by two racers on the podium though. Oswego Speedway Supermodified ace Keith Gilliam drove his kart to a fine 3rd Place finish, and Franklin, Mass. speedster Erica Santos led a spirited drive from the back of the pack to bring her #44 home in 2nd. After an enjoyable day at the races in the middle of the winter, followed by a fun pig roast and nightcap at racing legend Bentley Warren's Saloon in Arundel. The "DT 100" group raised an extraordinary $5690.00 for the very deserving kids of the Make-A-Wish Foundation!

The 2nd Annual "DT 100" proves to be an even bigger and better event for drivers and racefans alike! Once again, Victory Lane Indoor Karting will be the host track for the big race. This event will feature a whopping 70 of the area's biggest racers and racefans in competition! Some of the drivers already looking for the big "DT 100" victory:

-Ben Rowe (ME): Multi-time PASS Super Late Model Champion and Oxford 250 winner!

-Chris Perley (MA): Multi-time ISMA Supermodified Champion!

-Trent Stephens (OH): Rookie Supermodified pilot making quite a splash in the midwest!

-Howie Lane (MA): Current ISMA Supermodified President climbing behind the wheel once again!

-Ricky Wolf (NH): NASCAR Regional Champion and current ACT Late Model driver!

-Mike Recine (ME): Returning to defend his 1st Annual "DT 100" victory!

-Erica Santos (MA): One of the top female openwheel drivers in the country!

-Mike Ordway Jr. (NH): ISMA, NEMA, and ACT young gun!

-Woody Pitkat (CT): NASCAR Regional Champion and current NASCAR Whelen Modified driver!

-Johnny Clark (ME): Multi-time PASS Super Late Model Champion!

-Dave Shullick Jr. (OH): Multi-time MSA Supermodified Champion making the trek all the way from Ohio!

-Andy Seuss (NH): NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour and True Value Modified star!

-Eddie MacDonald (MA): NHMS Camping World East Champion and 2009 Oxford 250 Winner!

-Robbie Summers (CT): ISMA Supermodified feature winner and Connecticut Modified Champion!

-Bobby Santos III (MA): USAC's rising star and 2009 Phoenix Copper World Classic Winner!

-Oswego Speedway invaders Michael Barnes, Dave Danzer, Barry Kingsley, and 2009 "DT 100" 3rd Place finisher Keith Gilliam travelling all the way from Cazenovia, New York!

-Local speedsters Wayne Helliwell Jr., Dan Lane, Jeff Locke, Scott Martel, Rick Wentworth, Bryan Kruczek, Katrina Canney, Eddie Witkum Jr., Dan Bowes, Steve Dickey, Mike Netishen, Grant Aither, Mike Murphy, "Pistol" Pete Fraser, Matt Anderson, Alby Ovitt, Bill Fiske, Jimmy Russell, Patrick Tanguay, Speed51's Mike Twist, and more!

There are plenty of General Admission tickets to attend our event, and at only $5.00 each has proven to be one of the best deals in racing today! For additional information, event sponsorship, and to purchase tickets. Please contact Dave Thomas Jr. at: (603) 396-2700 or Email at:

Event: 2nd Annual "DT 100" for Make-A-Wish
Place: Victory Lane Indoor Karting (Portland, ME)
Date: February 20, 2010
Time: First qualifier starts at 10:00am.
Afterparty: Bentley's Saloon (Arundel, ME)
Discount Lodging: Comfort Suites (Biddeford, Maine)
Transportation: Provided to-and-from the race afterparty by Bentley's Saloon

Scenes from the 2009 DT 100.