Shawn Tucker Rolls On at Riverside Carquest Tour Race
Dominates at Ron MacGillivray Chevrolet 100
Maritime Pro Stock Tour PR Report
Only six cars finished on the lead lap as Shawn Tucker of Fredericton, NB dominated all 100 laps of the Ron MacGillivray Chevrolet 100 at Riverside International Speedway, located near Antigonish, NS on Sunday afternoon for the second year in a row. Shawn Turple of Enfield, NS finished second, ahead of Lonnie Sommerville from Saint John, NB. Donald Chisholm and George Koszkulics, both of Antigonish, NS rounded out the top five.

Shawn Tucker won the Coast Tire Most Laps Led Award after leading 100 laps of the race. Only two cautions interrupted the race which included a 79 lap green flag run and took just 45 minutes to complete.

Mike McKenzie from Halifax, NS, Lonnie Sommerville from Saint John, NB, and Kent Vincent from Crapaud, PE each won a LiteCo heat race, while Daryl Mahar of Hubley, NS won the B Feature which was his last chance to take one of the 26 positions in the race. Twenty nine of the Maritime’s top drivers attempted to qualify for the 100 lap event.

John Flemming won the Dartmouth Dodge Dash for Cash, featuring the top ten finishers in the Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials which put him on the pole for the start of the 100 lap Main Feature. Greg Proude had the fastest time for the second race in a row, with a time of 14.410 seconds (99.931 mph)

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour returns to action in two weeks, when it makes its first stop on Prince Edward Island at Raceway Park at Oyster Bed Bridge for the Lucas Oil 100 on June 20. Racing starts at 6pm.
Shawn Tucker in victory lane.  (Ken MacIsaac Photo)