Champs Headline Early National
Short Track Championship Entries
Rockford Race is Set For October
PR Report

Super Late Model entries have begun arriving for the 44th annual National Short Track Championship (NSTC) at Rockford Speedway which begin Friday October 2 and conclude with a 200 lap feature event Sunday afternoon October 4.  Those filing their entries early for the prestigious event include 2007 NSTC victor Josh Vadnais, Lowell Bennett, Rich Bickle, Jr. and Jeff Kendall.

“It was probably the biggest win of my career so far.” Stated Vadnais from his Minnesota race shop. “That race has a lot of history and a lot of great drivers have won there and my memory goes back to the first time I raced there. I really wanted to be one of those guys that stood in victory lane for that race and when I finally won last year, it was really just a great day for me and my team. It means a lot to have been able to say I’ve won the National Short Track Championships.”  Vadnais acknowledges that a repeat will be no easy task.  “It’s gonna be tough, we’re up for the challenge but it’s gonna be tough. You got really good drivers, a lot of competitive cars. You need lady luck to be on your side. Having experience on my side definitely helps and I like to think you make your own luck by being prepared and having experience on your side.”

Perhaps the surprise early entry is that of five time defending Slinger Super Speedway Champion Lowell Bennett.  Bennett has yet to add his name to the NSTC record books, he returns to the Rockford high banks after a seven year absence.  The 2009 season has been as strong as any for the five time Slinger Nationals titlist who currently leads points at the Wisconsin short track and finds himself second in the Fox River Racing Club point tally at Wisconsin International Raceway.  Two Fox River Championships and an impressive three Red, White and Blue crowns adorn Bennett’s trophy case.

Four time defending and current Dells Raceway Park Championship point leader Jeff Kendall has added his name to the list of contenders at this year’s NSTC.  After an impressive sixth place effort last season, the former NASCAR Tour winner has many thinking the flower wreath may be wrapped around Kendall’s neck in victory lane following Sunday’s 200 lap Super Late Model feature.

Rich Bickle, Jr. returns to Rockford Speedway after an overheating problem spoiled his adventure to the front of the field in 2006 and an early race incident ruined his chances of becoming a multiple time NSTC Champion one year ago.  Prior to heading to NASCAR’s big leagues, Bickle recorded the 1990 NSTC victory.

All told eleven divisions will make up the three day NSTC weekend at Rockford Speedway.  Competitor Entry Guides will arrive in mailboxes next week, with additional early entries arriving daily for ‘One Great Racing Weekend’.  Ticket packages are now on sale, to order tickets as well as to find a complete order of events, camping information, rules and more visit or call the Speedway Box Office at 815-633-1500.

Early Super Late Model Entries to Date
44th National Short Track Championships
Rockford Speedway October 2, 3, 4

2 Eddie May
2 Lowell Bennett
2 Michael Bilderback
4 Trevor Tichy
11 Josh Vadnais
22 Jeremy Spoonmore
25 Jeff Storm
27 Collin Bamke
34 Brandon Hill
37 Mike Meyerhofer
45 Rich Bickle
54 Erik Pierce
71 Josh Bauer
OO Jeff Kendall