Quarter Master's Clutch Performance of the Week
Who Came Through in The Clutch This Time?
As Decided by the Staff of Speed51.com
Performing in the clutch is what seperates a winning driver from the rest of the pack.  Flexing muscle at the right time is something that true talents posess.  Often luck plays a big role in winning versus losing, but being able to squeeze just enough strength out at the perfect opportunity is what separates winners from losers.  Performing in the clutch doesn't necessarily mean winning, however; it's all about making the most from what you've got.

That's why Quarter Master, providers of winning clutches & driveline components to racers from Super Speedway to the Bullring, from IRL to Rally, from NASCAR to the "Weekend Warrior," is proud to honor a weekly "Clutch Performance of the Week" from the short track ranks of America.  Each week, an esteemed panel of short track industry insiders will vote on which drivers came through in the clutch.  The driver or team with the most votes will then be the "Clutch Performance of the Week."  At the end of the 2009 season, the driver or team that received the most votes throughout the season will then be the "Clutch Performer of the Year" and will be awarded a clutch kit from Quarter Master, valued at $3,500 - just like the 2008 Quarter Master Clutch Performer of the Year winner Eddie MacDonald.

This week's "Quarter Master Clutch Performance of the Week" goes to ...
Brian Campbell - Boyne Machine LMs

We're very sure of this week's winner of the Speed51.com Quarter Master Clutch Performance of the Week award - it's Brian Campbell.

What we aren't exactly sure about is for which performance, Campbell's award is for.  On Wednesday night, he beat a field that included Kyle Busch to win the CRA Super Series Rowdy Busch 125 at Berlin Raceway (MI).  Three nights later, he beat a field that included Drew Brannon to win the ASA Late Model Challenge feature at O'Reilly Raceway Park.  Busch and Brannon were heavily favored to win those respectively races, but Campbell wasn't listening to that jive talk.  He just came through in the clutch and won instead.

Campbell was the overwhelming winner of this week's award.  In fact, his four to one margin over second place was the biggest blowout that we've seen in our balloting yet this season.

Also receiving votes this time around were -

Ben Rowe - Rowe started deep in the field when the PASS North series visited Speedway 660 and beat the usual suspects from PASS, as well as a number of talented Canadians on their home turf.

Rowe might have been feeling the pressure after a slow start to his 2009 PAASS North season, but he leaves Speedway 660 as the unofficial point leader.

Jon McKennedy - In the Seekonk Speedway (MA) True Value Modified Racing Series event, McKennedy scored his second straight season victory.  It didn't come easy though.  McKennedy came from the rear, had to pass Seekonk legend Vinnie ’Who’ Annarummo, and also the rain drops to score the victory.

Chris Smith - This former PASS Modified race winner came into the 2009 with no ride lined up for the season.  On Saturday, George Libby asked him to shake down his Sports Series car at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (ME).  After all, Libby is new to the division this season and Smith is a proven winner there.  In true storybook fashion, Smith practiced the car and got the nod to run the feature as well.  He won.  Did we mention that Saturday night's race was a 100-lap special event with a stout entry list?  Now that's coming through in the clutch.  

Sean Kennedy - Kennedy captured the TOROMONT CAT 100 at Capital City Speedway near Ottawa, Ontario (Canada), the fourth race of the ACT CASTROL Series race...actually he dominated the race.  Kennedy of Dunrobin, Ontario races weekly at CSS and his currently tied for first in track championship points.  No
one expected him to run away from the field... especially with Series stars such as Laperle, Theetge and Gingras. 

On the last restart, with 57 laps to go, Kennedy first and Laperle on his outside.  Kennedy who had started ninth in the field had a great run thus far.  Meanwhile, Laperle who had started 17th had an even better run going. Everyone had their sights on Laperle and expected him to take the lead away. As they dove into turn 1, Kennedy just drove off... leaving Laperle and the rest of the field behind.

Quarter Master salutes Brian Campbell on this week’s Quarter Master Clutch Performance of the Week.

2009 Quarter Master
"Clutch Performance of the Week"
June 4th-7th

1.  Brian Campbell (CRA & ASA LM)
2.  Ben Rowe (PASS North)
3.  Jon McKennedy  (TVMRS)
4.  Chris Smith  (Sportsman)
    Sean Kennedy  (ACT Quebec)

2009 Cumulative Winners

Brian Campbell (CRA, ASA LM)
Earl Paules (Mods)
Bubba Pollard (Blizzard SLM)
Jamey Caudill  (UARA)
Chris Wimmer (ASA MW)
Jay Fogelman  (PASS South)
Ross Kenseth  (Big 8)
Ted Chriistopher  (Mods)
Eric Beers (Mods)
Aric Almirola (PASS South)
Andy Seuss  (Mods)
Earl Pearson, Jr.  (WoO LM)
George Brunnhoelzl, III (Mods)
Matt Hirschman (Mods)
David Rogers  (SLM)
Matt Kobyluck  (CW East)
CLICK HERE to find out all the products that Quarter Master offers so you too can be a Quarter Master Clutch Performer of the Week