Maine Drivers Lead True Value Mods to Oxford
Series Will Race on Saturday Night of NE Dodge Dealers 250 Week
With close to 70 drivers rostered for the 2009 True Value Modified Racing Series season, only three competitors hail from the State of Maine. Veteran and 3-time series winner David Pinkham,Buxton, two time series winner Tony Ricci,Westbrook, and Koszela Speed Rookie of the Year contender Jacob Dore, Sanford.

All three Maine based race teams are expected entries, Saturday night, July 18, for the “Maine-Ly Action Sports Night 100” for the open-wheel ground-pounding modifieds. The race will be the third appearance by the sixth year series as part of the annual TD Banknorth Oxford 250 weekend.

Pinkham is the defending champion of the event. He passed race leader Jean Paul Cyr with 15 laps remaining last year to go on and score the popular victory in front of his home state crowd. He will again drive for long time car owner Tom Greeley, of Auburn, ME.

Also expected are defending series champion, Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon. CT., 2006 champion Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT., present point leader, Jon McKennedy, Chelmsford, MA., Rob Goodenough, W.Swanzey, NH, Steven Masse, Bellingham, MA., Mike Holdridge, Madison, CT., Mike Douglas, Auburn, NH., Les Hinckley, Windsor, Locks, CT., Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, PA., and long time veteran Jack Bateman, Canaan, NH., among others.

Goodenough and Masse are tied for second in the point standings, ten points behind McKennedy The chase for the championship has see-sawed back and forth. McKennedy has 256 points to date. Consistent runs by Goodenough, opening night winner at Monadnock Speedway in April, have put the veteran racer in contention.

Practice sessions for the modifieds are at 3:00 PM with qualifying races scheduled for 6:30 PM. Oxford Plains Speedway is located on Rte 26, Oxford, ME. For additional information log on to

Home stater David Pinkham won last year's True Value Modified Racing Series event at Oxford.  (Leif Tillotson Photo)