Dore Gets First TVMRS Victory After Hirschman is DQ'ed
Rookie Becomes The Winner of Record After Twin State Race
Series PR Report
When Sanford, Maine., driver Jacob Dore, a mechanical engineering student at the University of New Hampshire left Twin State Speedway, Claremont, NH., Sunday evening, he was pleased with his solid performance, finishing second in the 112 lap “Ricky Miller Memorial Race” to winner Matt Hirschman, Northampton, PA. 

The 20 year old Dore had just driven his best race to date competing against some of the top names the True Value Modified Racing Series offers. When Dore left his classes at UNH on Monday, he learned he was awarded the top spot and his first ever TVMRS win.

Following a post race inspection Sunday night it was determined by series officials on Monday afternoon, a violation of rules had taken place by the winning team of long-time owner/driver, Gary Casella. The technical violation resulted in a disqualification and the victory awarded to Dore, the second place finisher. 

Hirschman, the 2009 ROC modified champion, drove a great race filling in for regular Casella team driver Rowan Pennink who was committed to another series. Hirschman won the Miller Memorial in 2008. 

Dore, a strong candidate for Koszela Speed rookie of the year honors, showed his strength when he took the lead on lap 31 and held it until lap 62. The former All-Star Speedway regular stayed in the hunt throughout the race competing strong with Jon McKennedy, Sean Bodreau, Dwight Jarvis, Hirschman, and Kenny Barry.

“We had fun, we knew we could compete,” said Dore while doing homework Monday night. “We might have had a shot at Matt if we did not have that last yellow. It would take me a bit to get the rhythm again after the restart but then again he might have been saving it. When you can compete with a guy like Dwight Jarvis, at his home track, finish ahead of him, its feels good,” 

Dore agrees that his Twin State run was his best but the race at Beech Ridge Speedway this summer was a turning point in the teams first year. “We had to learn as a team how to run 100 lap races; we raced 40 lap races at All-Star. Once we learned that we got better.”

Dore becomes the second rookie to win a TVMRS race. Bobby Grigas won his first race in 2006 at Waterford, CT. Grigas was later named rookie of the year.

As a result of the changes in the finish, Barry will be credited with a second, his best finish with the TVMRS, McKennedy third, Jarvis fourth, and Todd Patnode, fifth.
Mike Douglas, Rob Goodenough, Steve Masse, Victor Johnson, and Kurt Vigeant, finished sixth through tenth.

12 cautions slowed the race. It took 1 hour 11 minutes to complete the 112 lap event.
31 race teams entered the 13th race of the season, 12 of the original 24 starters finished on the lead lap

McKennedy's third place finish widened his point lead over Rob Goodenough to 25 points. Masse moved past Pennink to third place in the standings, 34 points behind McKennedy.

The TVMRS returns to action Saturday and Sunday Oct 10, 11 at the Seekonk Speedway, Seekonk, MA. 

Matt Hirschman posed for victory lane photos, but it was Jacob Dore who ended up winning at Twin State.  (Twin State Speedway Photo)